Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Cake Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Cake Squares

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2002

      This isn't a cake for the calorie conscious but it is decadent. The cake is moist and flavorful, and of course, the traditional german chocolate frosting is wonderful. I liked the addition of chocolate chips to the top of the cake (some dropped and floated in the cake when baked) and on top of the frosting. This cake looks very pretty with all the texture to the frosting and the chocolate chips sprinkled across the top. The directions were easy to follow though I may have cooked my frosting longer than directed as I was afraid the frosting would be too thin. I can't wait until I have an opportunity to bring a cake to something as I'd imagine this cake would go over very well (and quickly too). Definetly a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      This recipe is a definate keeper.... very rich and dense. I even forgot to put the vanilla in, and was so flavorful. Will make this one again and again... I didn't add the chocolate chips to the frosting, instead melted them and drizzled over. Also dipped some whole pecans halfway into chocolate for decoration........ANOTHER great recipe Bev...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Very good cake! It was so moist and delicious. It takes a little time to prepare, but well worth the effort. It is definitely a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      I liked this, but I had some disappointments. The cake was moist and perhaps too dense -- I suspect Troy overmixed the batter, but I was trying not backseat cook ;-) -- but not chocolatey enough for my tastes. The frosting tasted good, but I suspect 18 minutes was way to long to cook it. I swear I *saw* the doneness test of thickening at like 5 minutes, but I kept going and saw the mixture deflate and then start to separate into tiny tiny curds and get a bit watery. Further cooking did not cook off the water or quite bring it back together. After cooling and applying ot the cake, it still tasted wonderful, but I really think I might have missed the perfect sugar moment. This has happened to me before with another recipe and this type of frosting, so next time I will trust the doneness test instead of the time and see if I can get it right. I also did not care for the chocolate chips either on top of the frosting or the cake. They did not seem to melt at all, and I didn't care for the big chocolatey chunks in the bites. Still, overall taste is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I'm a German Chocolate Cake purist, so the chocolate chips seemed like heresy to me, but I did it anyway. They added a nice chunkiness to the cake which was nice. But putting them on the icing was a little much for me. But then again, I'm a purist here. The cake was very moist and I'm still enjoying it over 2 days later.The instructions are very well-written making it easy to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2003

      This is the best ever! I am in a german class at school and i made it and everybody LOVED it! Thanks for the good grade and recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      My daughter wanted me to make this for her B-Day cake. It was everything the comments above said that it would be. So rich though that you just need about the size of a piece of fudge,because it is so sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      I have several family members who LOVE German Chocolate Cake and this was a HUGE hit. I don't really care for it and I loved it! Thanks! Excellent taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      I gave this delicious cake stars even though I didn't add the chocolate chips because it was mouthwatering, made alot, and the instructions were easy to follow. I made this early this morning to celebrate my baby's 1st bday, she enjoyed watching me make it and eat it. Everyone at the party thought it was great too. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      First off, it is very good. I made it for my father-in-laws birthday. If I make it again I would cut way back on the sugar. It was to sweet to eat really. It also took quiet a while to make. It was good though :) Just needs some tweeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Purely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I took this cake to dinner with friends. What a big hit! I pulled it out after 45 min, because it was looking like it was overbaking, only to find out it could have done with the additinoal 4 min. That's okay though, as it still was very moist and tasty, with just a bit of a browny texture. Very tasty. I will definately be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      I followed the directions to a "T" and it was fabulous. Made it for my son's 27th birthday (German choc. cake is his favorite) and he deemed it wonderful. Certainly something for special occasions and in moderation, but oh so heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I only used the cake-part of the recipe & was dissapointed because it didn't rise as much as I would have liked. Overall the flavor was good though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This cake is amazing. I don't consider myself a cake person but this one has me converted. I left out the chocolate chips in the frosting cause and I don't really think it needs it because its so good without them. Just a warning, not a cake for beginner bakers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was so good it is insane. My family couldn't stop saying "OMG!" as they took one bite after another. We have had many German Chocolate Cakes, from scratch and mix, and this is by far the best we have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Maded these for an Easter birthday party...they turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Absolutely delicious! I made this for a friend's birthday, and it was an overwhelming hit! Everyone said it was the best German Chocolate Cake they'd ever had. It's very moist and rich, with a medium texture -- a little more dense than a typical cake, but not as chewy or heavy as a brownie. Instead of adding the chocolate chips before baking and then again before frosting, I put them on top of the cake as soon as it came out of the oven, then spread them into a thin layer of chocolate on top of the cake when they started to melt. Like some other reviewers, I had a hard time telling when the frosting was done, as it passed the "finger on the back of the spoon" test long before I thought it was thick enough to be done. Also, I expected it to brown a a bit, but the color stayed a kind of dark yellow. I ended up cooking it for about 25 minutes, but it came out just perfect in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Cake Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 904.7
     
    Calories from Fat 484
    53%
    Total Fat 53.7 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 28.8 g
    144%
    Cholesterol 219.0 mg
    73%
    Sodium 222.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.6 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 76.7 g
    306%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites