25 Reviews

Oh my. What have I done. I shouldn't have looked this up! I made the recipe and added the 1/2 cup water as others called to do. I also added white chocolate chips and English toffee bits. Baked for 12 minutes, sit for two before moving to cooling rack. They are so good!! Will make again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannoncooks17 February 02, 2013

I am often looking for (a) a quick recipe in the evening to satisfy my hubby's sweet tooth and (b) a recipe that uses ingredients I have on hand. This recipe hits both! I had a box of Betty Crockery Supermoist German Chocolate cake mix, Ghirardelli milk chocolate morsels, and chopped walnuts. I added the suggested extra water (1/3 cup, although in hindsight, more might have been better) along with the recommended ingredients and cooking times. The cookies were a little drier than I would have liked, with a cakelike consistency, but nothing that a little side of milk couldn't fix. Not the most delicious recipe I've ever tried but when you are seeking a quick sweet fix, this fits the bill!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
limabeann526 January 03, 2013

These cookies really are amazing!!! They are very quick to throw together - great for last minute parties or pop-over guests. They are very chocolate-y and delicious. I added a tiny bit of water as the mix was not totally incorporated. It didn't change the cookies a bit (or if it did - then it added yumminess to them!) Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beginningbaker June 02, 2012

Wonderful easy cookie recipe. I think next time I might add a little water or milk, they just seemed a tiny bit dry, but I did use a Supermoist Fudge Cake recipe instead of the German Chocolate, so that might be my fault. Definitely satisfied the chocolate craving I got at 8:30 at night...Mmm-Mmm-Gone! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy's Kitchen September 14, 2011

I rate 5 stars for ease and deliciousness! I needed to make a quick batch of cookies for the high school swim team, and wanted to use what I had on hand. I used White Ghirardelli chips and sprayed the cookie sheets with Pam (just in case, after reading other reviews). I tried using the drop cookie method for the first cookie sheet, but decided that using my hands to roll into 1" balls was quicker and resulted in better cookies. Loved the not-too-heavy-taste of the oatmeal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAFrogley February 21, 2011

Wow! These are delicious and so easy! I did have to spray the cookie sheets to keep them from sticking but it could just be that my cookie sheets are old. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frifiporchavio July 24, 2009

These cookies are delicious! I used dark chocolate chips, which made them extra chocolatey! The batter was a little too dry so I added a little bit of water...helped it mix well and the cookies came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee September 08, 2008

Just got done making these and I must say these are FINE, FINE cookies.:) I was a little concerned that I missed something because the dough was so stiff. They came out TERRFIC!!! Lots of chocolaty flavor. Will definitely go in my favorites. Thanks Myrna 2 for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick March 16, 2008

Tasty! Very easy to make. Everyone was impressed with it, and it hardly took time. Thank you for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinyLiz September 16, 2007

If you are looking for a "wow-your-friends", quick and EASY recipe, look no further!! YUM YUM! I did find that a little extra oil didn't hurt in keeping the batter together...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac September 03, 2007
German Chocolate Cake Mix Cookies