Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Cake Frosting

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2003

      This is my second recipe for this frosting and both times they never got quite thick enough, so I tend to think there is something wrong with the chef. Taste was still great, but I would like it a little thicker.... will probably try again and watch for the bubble up on the stove and take it off right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      EXCELLENT! I would give this a 6 star rating if I could. I had my family over for dinner and made a German Chocolate Cake with this frosting. Everyone told me how great it was, atleast 2 times. I am really happy with the outcome I had with it. From my own experience dont expect for this to be at spreading consistency. It is kinda more like a glaze with nuts and coconut in it. I didnt put in any nuts, because of allergies and also because some of the people disliked nuts. I added in another cup of coconut. I also didnt add in the egg yolk, which will definitely thicken it more too! :) Thanks for a great frosting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      I like this recipe so far. I am waiting on it to cool. I made a few changes. I increased the evaporated milk. I used 400g of 1 tin. I used 1.5 cups of brown sugar. I also used 2.5 cups of coconut. I used fresh coconut and flaked it myself. It is always available here in Jamaica and it is cheaper than the one in the bag. To Sheri-BDB, try boiling it a bit longer before you add the nuts and the coconut. That might help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2001

      I have made german chocolate cake twice, and there is no better way to eat it than with the original frosting. It tastes really good. I prefer it without pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      The flavor was good, but the frosting never got thick enough to frost the sides of my cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Great recipe. I cut back on the sugar and butter and it still tasted great. After cooking for about 10 minutes it didn't seem to be getting thick, so I added the egg white from the egg. I gradually added the hot mixture a little bit at a time to the egg white and then mixed it back together with the rest of the hot sauce. I cooked it about 5 minutes longer and it got nice and thick. I will definitely use this reciipe again. Everyone loved the cake and icing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2014

      Fantastic! This recipe was sooo yummy! I did use the egg yolk that some people omitted. Will definitely use again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      What a wonderful taste! I couldn't get it to thicken very well at all. I ended up adding lots of powdered sugar, but still some of the icing ran to the bottom of the cake pan. Regardless, it was so delicious that it really didn't matter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      Great recipe, which we have made many times. We have given the recipe to many who have requested it from us, Being Germans, they believe they are getting something really authentic from us. Little do they know Bavarians know nothing of the cake we call German Chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      this is a great frosting perfect texture,sweetness and flavor.hubby loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      This is a delicious frosting, and lower in fat than others that call for multiple egg yolks. I did some additional fat and calorie reduction, but didn't sacrifice flavor: for the evaporated milk, I used a mix of fat free half & half and skim milk with some extra nonfat dry milk powder. I also used light rather than full-fat butter, and subbed 1/4 c splenda for part of the sugar. Without a lot of yolks, I found it needed a little help (xanthan gum and oatrim) to get it adequately thick. I was not at all disappointed with the end result in the least-- yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Cake Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (822 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1432.8
     
    Calories from Fat 993
    69%
    Total Fat 110.3 g
    169%
    Saturated Fat 60.4 g
    302%
    Cholesterol 202.3 mg
    67%
    Sodium 390.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 108.6 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 12.5 g
    50%
    Sugars 85.6 g
    342%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites