30 Reviews

Made this cake for my very good friend for his birthday. He said it was the best German Chocolate cake he had ever had. Everyone raved about it. Even my husband, who doesn't usually eat cake thought it was incredible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamieeburkey December 15, 2010

I apologize for rating this so long after trying the recipe. All I can remember is that my cake was as ugly as sin, but tasted awesome! I believe that the cake caved in after baking, (probably something I did) so it was swayback and even after frosting, it looked pretty sad. Of course it was for my dad's birthday and so I was embarrassed--but it tasted so good no one cared. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy December 02, 2009

Thank you for posting this -- it is on the back of the German's Baking chocolate wrapper and I lost my copy! I mean I know I was gonna get another copy when I bought the chocolate but I didn't know any of the other ingredients! Yikes! This cake is awesome! I personally don't like it as I don't like chocolate cake or coconut! EVERYONE else LOVES IT! It is my mom's favorite cake and she requests it each year on her b-day! This year when I my MIL tasted my mom's cake she immediately requested one for her birthday too! Making that one tonight! :) Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ August 20, 2009

I've made this twice now and everyone has LOVED it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punky247 July 29, 2009

This cake is extremely moist and delicate! Fabulous! I'm so glad I decided to nix the cake mix - this cake is definitely worth the extra minutes you spend making it from scratch! No comparison! One reviewer commented that it takes a long time, but I didn't think it took any longer than any other from-scratch recipe I have. I didn't make any changes to the recipe itself, but I did double the frosting recipe because I opted for the 3 round layers and torted & filled them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktelschow March 18, 2009

I made this cake this weekend for a birthday brunch and oscar party. It received rave reviews! It was so moist! I did a little altering though, I didn't use the boiling water, I melted my chocolate in the microwave, and added 1/2 cup sour cream. Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be keeping this recipe on file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John's in the Kitchen! February 23, 2009

This is definitely a lot of work, but the taste makes it worth it -- delicious! I forgot to line the pans with parchment paper, so they were a big, stuck-on mess... I'll definitely remember next time! LOL Still tasted great! I second the recommendation to make a double batch of frosting; there definitely wasn't enough for all three layers. Thanks, Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 October 14, 2008

This was my favorite cake as a child; so I was excited to try this recipe since it closely matches my mother's. Everyone loved this cake and I've been asked to bake it again. This one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marc'sMom September 14, 2008

I already had a german chocolate cake mix so I just used the icing recipe. It was a wonderful addition to the cake! I also used brown sugar insted of regular white sugar. The color was a dark brown but the color was great. I also poked holes in the cake to pour the rest of the evaporated milk in the cake itself. I will try the whole recipie nest time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefParker May 01, 2008

Amazingly delicious cake. Moist and rich with the most incredible frosting I have ever tasted! I could just eat that by the spoonful. I made for my DD's birthday and she wants it every year now! Thank you . Ann

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay February 22, 2008
German Chocolate Cake