Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-28 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2007

      I remember this from my childhood. It is one of the few cakes my mother made, usually to take to church or give to someone. Eating a piece of this is an OMG...to die for moment. The icing is in a class all by itself. This was my Number 1 favorite cake until I ate what is known as an Earthquake Cake Tornado Cake...and all that gooey decadence pulled ahead to make it Number 1 and this Number 2. I only make either one maybe once or twice a year because either one is a "special treat" and a real treasure when you take that first bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I just used the frosting, but it was DELICIOUS! Yummm! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2006

      If you're looking for the right German Chocolate Cake recipe, this is it. I make this without pecans. The frosting is a little tricky. All I can say when making this is take your time. This recipe has been a favorite of ours for the last ten years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      My husband and I have been making this cake for each other on our birthdays for 25 years! It's a favorite really, for any special occasion, and 5 stars all the way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      This cake tasted great! The 4 rating would have been a 5, but the frosting didn't work out for me. It didn't thicken on the stove even though I cooked it for 15 minutes on medium heat. I ended up added a bunch of extra powdered sugar to thicken it, and it was still a little runny. So the cake didn't look that great, but the taste was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2005

      This recipe is the best German chocolate cake ever! My grandmother used to use this recipe and everyone in the family requested this cake for their birthdays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      Excellent cake! Nice texture, not too firm and not too soft. I had to bake it 5 minutes less than the recipe says because my stove runs a little hotter than most and I've been baking all day. I had a little bit of trouble getting it out of my supposedly non-stick bakeware, but that was my problem, not with the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2001

    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 678.8
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    48%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 19.5 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 164.7 mg
    54%
    Sodium 595.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.0 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.0 g
    220%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet cooking German chocolate

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites