Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2002

      Awesome cake! Couldn't eat enough of it. My family loved it also! So much better than mixes. Great with vanilla icecream served with it. Of couese, I can only splurge like this every once in a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2001

      FYI, The correct name of the cake is not "German Chocolate Cake", but rather "German's Sweet Chocolate Cake," named for the BRAND of chocolate used in it (German's Sweet Chocolate, made by Baker's), not from its country of origin. You will not find this cake in Germany.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Excellent! The only thing I may do different next time would be to toast the pecans. That's it! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      BEST.CAKE.EVER!!! <br/>Soooo MOIST and delicious!<br/>I will make this my signature cake for LIFE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      One of my new favorites! I made it as a bday cake :) so glad I discovered this fantastic and special cake. Coconut pecan frosting is really exceptional ! thanks a lot Marg(CaymanDesignes) for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2012

      Thank you for an awesome recipe! It was easy and delicious and looked beautiful! I use a springform pan that has a glass bottom, so it's even easier to serve and remain perfect. I also love that I have yet another recipe that I can make gluten free by omitting the bottom crust layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      This is the birthday cake that my mother made me every year. Now that we live in different states I have to make it myself - and I do. I can't say enough good things about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      My MILs favorite cake is German chocolate cake. So for her birthday I decided to make her a cake. Her son (my brother in law) and I debated whether or not we should include the cocunut and pecans (we're not fans) and decided, hey if the recipe calls for it then lets go all in! This was my first cake from scratch and it was a huge success! I kept it in the oven for 43 minutes in 2 square pans. I prepped it just as suggested and it was happily devoured by 8 people, sometimes picky father in law had seconds! I think its important to use the cake flour and make sure you really whip those egg whites to guaruntee a delicate, fluffy cake. Great Recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Made this cake for my very good friend for his birthday. He said it was the best German Chocolate cake he had ever had. Everyone raved about it. Even my husband, who doesn't usually eat cake thought it was incredible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I apologize for rating this so long after trying the recipe. All I can remember is that my cake was as ugly as sin, but tasted awesome! I believe that the cake caved in after baking, (probably something I did) so it was swayback and even after frosting, it looked pretty sad. Of course it was for my dad's birthday and so I was embarrassed--but it tasted so good no one cared. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Thank you for posting this -- it is on the back of the German's Baking chocolate wrapper and I lost my copy! I mean I know I was gonna get another copy when I bought the chocolate but I didn't know any of the other ingredients! Yikes! This cake is awesome! I personally don't like it as I don't like chocolate cake or coconut! EVERYONE else LOVES IT! It is my mom's favorite cake and she requests it each year on her b-day! This year when I my MIL tasted my mom's cake she immediately requested one for her birthday too! Making that one tonight! :) Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I've made this twice now and everyone has LOVED it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This cake is extremely moist and delicate! Fabulous! I'm so glad I decided to nix the cake mix - this cake is definitely worth the extra minutes you spend making it from scratch! No comparison! One reviewer commented that it takes a long time, but I didn't think it took any longer than any other from-scratch recipe I have. I didn't make any changes to the recipe itself, but I did double the frosting recipe because I opted for the 3 round layers and torted & filled them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I made this cake this weekend for a birthday brunch and oscar party. It received rave reviews! It was so moist! I did a little altering though, I didn't use the boiling water, I melted my chocolate in the microwave, and added 1/2 cup sour cream. Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be keeping this recipe on file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This is definitely a lot of work, but the taste makes it worth it -- delicious! I forgot to line the pans with parchment paper, so they were a big, stuck-on mess... I'll definitely remember next time! LOL Still tasted great! I second the recommendation to make a double batch of frosting; there definitely wasn't enough for all three layers. Thanks, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      This was my favorite cake as a child; so I was excited to try this recipe since it closely matches my mother's. Everyone loved this cake and I've been asked to bake it again. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I already had a german chocolate cake mix so I just used the icing recipe. It was a wonderful addition to the cake! I also used brown sugar insted of regular white sugar. The color was a dark brown but the color was great. I also poked holes in the cake to pour the rest of the evaporated milk in the cake itself. I will try the whole recipie nest time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Amazingly delicious cake. Moist and rich with the most incredible frosting I have ever tasted! I could just eat that by the spoonful. I made for my DD's birthday and she wants it every year now! Thank you . Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Marg, I'm glad that you posted this because my grandmother's copy is disintegrating. I make the frosting to put on another cake and it is definitely perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      OMG this was amazing, made this for sunday nite dinner with my BF's parents and it was a hit!!, I put the pecan coconut mix between the layers and on top then put a light chocolate icing on the outside. Then I decorated the top with whole pecans and the sides with crushed pecans and coconut. I will definately make this one again! PS its important to let the icing mixture cool, as it will thicken up more as it does for those that are having problems with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 678.8
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    48%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 19.5 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 164.7 mg
    54%
    Sodium 595.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.0 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 55.0 g
    220%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sweet cooking German chocolate

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites