Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Cabbage Casserole - Kohl Und Hackfleisch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Cabbage Casserole - Kohl Und Hackfleisch

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2012

      I was cleaning out the fridge and had a LOT of cabbage and some sour cream, so I found this recipe. Based on all the comments that it was a bit bland, I doubled the onions, tripled the garlic, added some red pepper flakes with the garlic, added sliced fresh mushrooms and some smoked paprika with the cabbage. Also used manchego and Romano cheese, instead of cheddar, because that was what I had. Turned out great! Even better the second day. In fact, it didn't last 24 hours in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      We really enjoyed this! We used ground pork, which we browned just a little with garlic and then threw in a crockpot with the other ingredients. I added more garlic, and also added some onion powder and garlic salt. It cooked on low for about 7 hours (I stirred intermittently) and then I topped it with the breadcrumbs, fried onions, and a little more cheese and broiled the whole crockpot in the oven for about 5 minutes. I felt it was a lacking some kind of seasoning or herb but didn't know what; nonetheless I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      very easy and inexpensive. I may try adding bacon in the mix next time. Maybe some french fried onions on top too. Otherwise if you like cabbage this one has great flavor without any additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I substituted precooked vegetarian ground "meat" for the ground meat and used the crockpot to cook the casserole. I simply put all the ingredients except the onion and breadcrumbs, along with extra garlic, in a 4 qt crockpot and cooked it on low for about 6.5 hours. The casserole was delicious and gave me faith that cabbage CAN be tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Very delicious! I made it using hints from several reviewers..the hot Italian sausage, the extra garlic, some mushrooms, the buttered, garlic-ed breadcrumbs, some extra cheese over the top, and served over noodles. Served with some rye bread & butter. A nice satisfying meal...and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      Thank you for sharing another wonderful recipe Hope. This recipe was delicious, my dh & I both really enjoyed all the flavors in this incredible dish. Rich, creamy and oh so comforting. I used hot italian sausage and soft bread crumbs in this dish, they worked really well and blended perfectly with the other ingredients. Into my keeperbox this goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Love it! Even better a few days later as leftovers! Wonderful! Hubby thought the breadcrumbs were too much, but that's probably because I used too much (didn't measure those, so don't know how much I used). I thought it was great the way I made it--him not eating the leftovers leaves more for me! Very hearty and a great use of cabbage and beef!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      ZWT6: Delicious!! We used ground beef to make our casserole - YUM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      This was good, but a bit bland for out taste with the ground meat combinations. We liked the idea a lot though so the second time I made it we used leftover grilled mild Italian Sausage links cut into bite sized pieces and substituted french fried onion rings for the bread crumbs. Next time, if I don't have any of that I'll use ground Italian sausage. Absolutely delicious that way. Hubby took some to work and I had several requests for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Oh yeah… that was a great meal and good for you too! I used ground turkey, mixed 1 1/2 cups of cheese in the mixture, then topped the casserole it with the remaining 1/2 cup of cheese and topped that with panko mixed with a small amount of melted butter. Oh Yeah!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      ok, i just made this and i can't stop eating it! It is absoutely wonderful. the only thing i changed was the meat. i didn't have ground beef but i had some homemade pork sausage that i got from a lady at work, otherwise i followed as directed. wow.....this is really really good! if you like cabbage you will love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I was a little bit skeptical because my cabbage was so tough but this recipe was amazing and the casserole turned out great. My sister ate it all before I could get to it! Now I'll have to make it again!! It's a good thing I bought a big cabbage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      this was sooooo good. my wife was a bit nervous but it wound up being her favorite of the 3 dishes that i made today (oawc) -- we made it with the vegetarian crumble and did add some fat as was suggested and it came out wonderful -- the only thing we changed was the topping. added some cheese to the breadcrumbs -- my wife does not like breadcrumb toppings. but it was awesome. -- ok, i have to add this -- not sure it is possible to become addicted to this dish, but it is all my wife has eaten for the last two days -- breakfast, lunch and dinner until we ran out and then went to the store to get another head of cabbage

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This and Spaetzel is excellent! Easy, quick even

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Great dish. I might add more garlic next time. Even my daughter (who hates cabbage) ate it up. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Oh, mama! This is the second time we have made this wonderful dish! We just love it, and it is very filling!! It is just DH and I, so we usually have this for 2 or 3 days, but it always gets eaten. It is excellent reheated, too! This is what I call comfort food! I always make it just how the recipe is with no changes or substitutes. Thanks, mama!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I love this! I'm so happy to see a cabbage casserole that doesn't have a tomato sauce base. This is simple and delicious. I used 1 1/2 cups cheddar and 1/2 cup swiss cheese and it was fantastic. I think any mild cheese would be good in this casserole. This is a keeper. Thanx for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Wonderful comfort food and one-dish-meal. I had some cabbage to use up and 1/2lb beef and 1/2lb pork, so this dish was perfect. The onion and garlic season this dish perfectly without overpowering. Love the sour cream! It adds just the right creaminess without drowning the other ingredients. A few twists of my nutmeg grinder added a wonderful hint to the dish. I would make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Looking at the recipe I thought the 2 cups of cheese was going to be too much, but I was wrong. The flavor was wonderful, my husband and I both had seconds and I'm looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. The dish was not very attractive though and I thought the topping needed something besides plain breadcrumbs...maybe some more cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      This was delicious! I made this for supper on Saturday night and my husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed it. I followed the recipe pretty much, except for cutting it in half as there are only two of us. I also added a clove of minced garlic when I was sauteeing the meat because we like garlic and I thought it would go well, and it did! Thanks so much for posting! Will make this again. Orignal review was Oct 23/2005. Edited to add: I froze half of this when I originally made it. This freezes excellently and if anything tastes even better after! I reheated it by melting a little butter in a skillet and then crumbling the partially thawed casserole into it, cooking and stirring until it was heated through. We thoroughly enjoyed it, once again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Cabbage Casserole - Kohl Und Hackfleisch

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 382.1
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    53%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 101.6 mg
    33%
    Sodium 387.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes