Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Pancake Zells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Pancake Zells

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2010

    • on October 04, 2009

      My pancake puffed up beautifully, but of course, it also falls after being removed from the oven. I followed the recipe except I used 2 apples (love apples). My family loved it. They thought it was a great dessert but my 10 yr daughter said "The Germans are lucky they get to eat this for breakfast." Perfect for 4 desserts. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Hi! So my making of this didn't turn out too well: it didn't rise and as a result it was too eggy. I don't know why because none of the other recipes say this, but looking at the recipe, there's no 'raising agent' so I don't see how it would be puffy. I don't have the best oven, so my result might be its fault, which is why I'm not reating. But if you could get back to me about this, as it really does seem a good recipe, I'd be grateful. Thanks! <3, the NOOBchef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Made for I Recommend Tag. Sugarpea ~ just wanted you to know that the "no star" rating has nothing to do with anything other than the fact that I tried to convert this to gluten free and it didn't work, but it was my fault. I used the wrong flour mix and will be making this again with a different flour mix and will re-post my review then. The apples tasted fantastic, but the pancake did not puff up at all for me. Gluten free flours can be tricky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Out of nowhere I suddenly developed a craving for a German apple pancake. Oh WOW, did this ever hit the spot! My fiance, our roommate and I had this for dinner tonight, and it was sooo wonderful. Decadent and sweet, but in just the right way, and perfect with the pork sausages I served alongside. Since I was serving 4 people, I made a double recipe and used a 12" skillet. I think that if I had two 10" skillets, it would have been better -- I think it would have puffed up better in the smaller skillet -- but using the 12" worked very well. My only real problem came from not having a platter large enough to fit such a large pancake! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      quick, easy, gourmet scrumptious! this is the recipe Walker Brothers Pancake House uses in north shore Chicago - the place is always packed! i looked for this for 34 years... sugarpea, Thank You So Much... i drizzle melted butter with cinnamon sugar in it over the top, after inverted... this is a treat - fancy - to gobble up... a Dutch Baby pancake is the other popular Walker Brothers food...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This was very good, although I thought the texture was a little too custardy. I followed the recipe exactly. I would definitely make it again. Next time I would add some cranberries and pecans to the apples ( cause I like cranberries and pecans ). Thanks it was a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      A great apple pancake! I used 2 apples and 1 teaspoon cinnamon - it was delicious and just the right amount of cinnamon for us. Thanks Sugarpea, for a quick and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      Sugarpea, I made this awesome apple pancake for Sunday brunch...wow, what a big hit this was!..This is one of the best apple pancakes we have ever had. I ended up making two of these, my son ate one himself, and Dh and myself shared one. This puffed up beautifully, and the apples were so buttery tasting with cinnamon. This is a winning pancake recipe, I recommend this highly. Thank you for posting Sugarpea, we enjoyed this so much. KC :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Pancake Zells

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 518.5
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    41%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 362.6 mg
    120%
    Sodium 415.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 42.6 g
    170%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites