7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I reviewed this about 2 years ago when I first made it, and have made it manny times since. This is a VERY delicious Apple Pancake. We enjoy it every time I make it. I have found that I can cook the apple in the skillet then I bake the pancake in the same skillet. I do add more cinnamon than as called for as we love the flavor of cinnamon also I use splenda instead of sugar. This is very good served with maple syrup and a little lemon squeezed over the top, YUMMY. Thank you Judy, for this delicious recipe that we have enjoyed many times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz October 23, 2005

Well, there goes my low-carb diet! I was craving for Original Pancake House's apple pancakes and decided to make one with less carbs and calories. I made this with Splenda and no confectioner's sugar and still tasted great! It satisfied my carb craving...temporarily, of course! Thanks Hey Jude!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace Lynn April 04, 2004

We usually half this recipe... but it is great. We use orange juice instead of lemon juice and it doesn't seem to make a difference. It's turned out a few different ways, but always good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wittlebit83 April 13, 2008

This was pretty good. It could be sprinkled with some cinnamon and sugar on top before baking to give it a little more flavor. At the Original Pancake House they serve it with a scoop of ice cream. My kids said it tasted a little like bread pudding. I will make a couple more times and then update my review. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 March 11, 2008

This recipe is just like what my Dad often made for breakfast on weekends. It's delicious! Tasty and rich, but not too rich for breakfast. I make it all in a cast iron skillet, and add less butter than the recipe calls for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haleth January 28, 2007

You can also do this all in the oven in a pie pan. My son loves these and this is his New Year's day request for this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig December 30, 2006

Tasty and super easy to make. I used a combination of gala apples and very ripe pears- because we needed to use them up. I followed another rater's tip and made it all in one skillet. This allowed me to also cut back on some of the butter. The top got a little burned, but that was my oven and not the recipe. Thank you for posting this, will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker September 03, 2006
German Apple Pancake