Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    185 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 185

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2006

      Great cake, and so easy!! I halved the recipe with great results, cutting down the baking time to about 25-30 minutes. Also, by halving it the recipe still called for a whole cup of sugar, and based on other reviews, I only used a half cup and a little brown sugar. It turned out exactly the right sweetness, and nobody knew I had halved it! I might add a couple more spices next time like nutmeg, allspice, ect. though my mom said she loved the spices. When I told her it only had cinnamon she was like, "Woah!" I got 8 medium sized pieces (see my picture) out of the half recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Wonderful flavor! Used half the amount of sugar and it was still plenty sweet for me! Very moist and EASY! I recommend highly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      What a wonderful cake! It was so very moist, it didn't need any frosting at all! I used the SPLENDA BAKING BLEND in place of the sugar and it was delicious! I also took 1/4 cup of the oil and mixed it with 1/4 cup of the SPLENDA and mixed the apples in it to bring out the apple moisture before I mixed them into the batter.I also added a dash of nutmeg as I can't ever just use cinnamon with apples, hehehe. Thanks for sharing. It will indeed be a sideboard snack on Thanksgiving while everyone is waiting for the "Bird".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Oh Yummmm. To make this more diabetic friendly I used one cup of Splenda, and 1/2 cup of Brown Sugar Blend Splenda, and substituted soft whole wheat flour for the regular. It was certainly delicious, and amazingly, even better the next day...quick, easy, tasty, moist, and with the above substitutions, moderately healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I had some apples hanging around begging for a recipe, and as this was the photo of the day, I thought I'd try it since Kmachi's pic made it look so yummy! The cake is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I picked this cake because it is so easy and I had all the ingredients. Then I took a little taste, I ate 3 peices! This is so good you can't stop eating it. I will never need another apple cake recipe, this just cannot be topped. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Wow! I don't know if I have enough superlatives to describe this recipe. Let's just say that one of the people testing the recipe actually ate his piece with his other hand protectively hovering over the cake container. I've had problems with apple cakes in the past, but needed to use some apples up and didn't want to make a pie, so I made this one based on the recommendations and boy were we pleased. We liked the little crust on the top. I sprinkled about a tablespoon of ground pecans on the top too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      This was super yummy & very easy to whip up! I used some chopped walnuts & used about 4.5cups of red delicious apples that I picked at a local orchard - it was great! Not too sweet and very moist! Thanks for posting & thanks to the other reviewers about the consistency of the batter before the apples are added - nothing to worry about!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      This cake was easy to make and received lots of compliments. I slightly reduced the sugar, and may use even less if I make it again, because for me it did not have to be quite as sweet. I think adding some raisins would also be good, although the cake is great the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Really good. Nuts would have added a little extra something. I'll make it again for sure, and I'll add nuts!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      I had a fruit bowl of Granny Smith apples and was looking for something to use them in. Thankfully I had everything needed to make this cake at home. What a triumph. It looked like superglue when it was first placed in the baking tin but cooked beautifully. I have just had my first slice and it was fabulous. I shall be making this again to take camping for dessert to serve with fresh cream. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      Yummy. Wonderful moist cake chock full of apples with a slightly crispy topping. I used a potato peeler to peel the apples (five medium), an egg slicer to slice the apples, then chopped the slices with a knife. To prepare the baking pan I used Pan Release Pan Release which I keep on hand all the time. You can use a silicone pastry brush, a piece of wax paper, or a plastic sandwich bag over your hand to spread this excellent pan greasing mixture. My KitchenAid made short work of the batter then I used a wooden spoon to fold in the apples because the batter was stiff. I topped the barely warm cake with a glaze of about 1 cup icing sugar, a dash of almond extract, and enough milk to make a glaze consistency. To top it off, a sprinkle of sifted icing sugar made for a pretty presentation (some icing sugar in an empty spice bottle with a shaker top is handy). Add a dollop of whipped cream then a hint of sifted cinnamon on top of each serving. A scoop of ice cream would be nice too. This goodie is going in my excellent file to make again and again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      This cake is OK, in my opinion. The reason I am only giving it 3 stars is that it was too sweet for my taste. I felt that the sugar overpowered the apples. This cake is dense and I am looking for a lighter cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      Very nice cake! This cake is easy and quick to make and has a nice firm, almost crispy, top but a nice moist inside. When I first took the cake out of the oven I wondered if I had overbaked it (because the top looked really firm and dry) but it was really moist and tasty on the inside and the slightly crispy top was a nice contrast. I think this will be my standard apple cake recipe from now on since it uses ingredients that I typically have on hand. Thanks for posting MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      A fantastic cake! I didn't find the batter loosened so much with the apples and was really tempted to add more liquid but I resisted the temptation and it worked out perfectly. So amazingly moist and with lots of luscious apple to balance the sweetness. The top looks hard when you take it out of the oven but it quickly softens up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      A very moist and yummy cake.I halved the recipe, used a round pan and went well. This is a very easy and wonderful cake.Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      This was yummy especially with some whipped cream on top. My two small children loved it. The batter reminded me of playdough, but once the apples are added it loosens up quickly. It has a wonderful smell too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      A very moist, delicious cake. I used 4 Granny Smiths and it was perfect. I added a drizzle of caramel glaze, and took it to a potluck where it disappeared in a flash. Thank you for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      This was awesome! Very easy to make and it tastes like there's much more to it. I followed the recipe as is & the only addition I made to the ingredients was a little bit of fresh ground nutmeg. After the cake cooled down, I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar for some color, too. I will try adding some nuts next time. It turned out very well & I will definitely be making it again as well as sharing it with friends. Thanks for a keeper MizzNezz :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      This is sooo good! It is so cool how the batter changes when you add the apples. If I hadn't read the previous reviewer saying that the "batter was very dry and hard to handle" I would have thought I did something wrong. I was amazed how the apples change the texture from a dough to a cake batter. Before I added the apples I thought "no way am I going to be able to fold in the apples"...lol Don't fret it really does work out. The combination of the spice and apples is delicious. Really I would give this more than a five star if possible. It is just about the easiest cake I have ever made and so delicious.I will be making this over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    36%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes