Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    181 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 181

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2008

      This was very easy to put together and it came out super moist and yummy. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used self rising flour, leaving out the baking soda. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Seriously unbelievably easy to make. When you put the dough in the pan don't worry if it feels like there isn't enough dough in there ... there is, it rises quite a bit. I should have chopped my apples much smaller. Not the most sophisticated cake or taste, but definitely worth making again for a pot luck or a similar event when you're short on time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Not what I expected. More like a dump cake, but still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Excellent cake, tasty and very easy to make!!! I used melted margarine instead of vegetable oil and self raising flour so I left out the baking soda. The smell while baking was so good! I bring half of to my co-workers and everyone liked it.And it was so easy to make. No mixer at all! Next time I'll reduce the sugar to one cup and see how it turn out!A big thanks to the previous reviewers saying that the batter was very dry and hard to handle,great tip!!! Great cake! Thanks MizzNezz for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      What an excellant recipe...Thank you MizzNezz and thanks to your sister as well for sharing. This apple cake is outstanding, tall, moist, tender, light, fluffy, creamy, perfectly spiced and choked full of apples. i used a variety of apples for a real treat, crab apples, crispin, golden fuji and pink ladies. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Outstanding recipe. Thanks for another winner Mizznezz! This is so moist and yummy. After trying a bite, I will let cool and put in fridge to ice later with a cream cheese icing, but it certainly doesn't need it....just a pref or should I say WEAKNESS of mine! The flavor is all there. Perfect as written. I used 5 small apples to make this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Just as wonderful as everyone said! Just to help, If you put the ingredients in this order, it isn't as dry: beat eggs & oil, add vanilla, then sugar, then apples. Put all dry ingredients in separate bowl, toss lightly with fork then fold into wet batter. This made my second batch alot easier. Hope the tip helps. This is definitely one of the easiest apple cakes i have found! Thanx for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      PHENOMENAL!!! I added about 2/3 c. finely chopped walnuts which i folded in with the apples. SUPERB!!! I also reduced the sugar by 1/2 c. and used 1 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar. I think I could reduce it even further with excellent results. I agree with all the other positive reviews out there - I made this cake for a group, and everyone raved about it and requested the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This was nice but had to have it with ice cream to make it anything special. I've actually found another recipe I prefer. Thanks for posting though :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      Used golden delicious apples, which worked fine. Used more than the 4 cups as suggested. thought this was pretty good, though usually not a big "fruit cake" fan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe but a little sweet for my taste. I cut down the sugar to 1.5 cups and I think next time I would cut it back even more. (I didn't have granny smith apples though so that would probably have cut back the sweetness too) I will definitely try this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Wonderful! I recommend using more than 4 cups apples (they're the best part) and something on the tarter side (like granny smith). I chopped the apple in about 1/2 inch squares. I also reduced the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp and used half whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add nuts, then it will be 5 stars:) Easiest recipe ever for great results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This was my first apple cake. I was a little nervous because all I had were red delicious apples and whole wheat pastry flour. The cake came out dark in color (of course) but so tasty, moist and wonderful! The house smelled like paradise while it was baking. It made my day. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Awesome cake. I had such rave reviews! I used half vegetable oil, half applesauce, which worked pretty well. I served with pralines & cream frozen yogurt, which was excellent. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      This is SO delicious. I had just been to a Tastefully Simple party when I first discovered this recipe. I would say this is every bit as good as their version, and you get to control the ingredients! Top with caramel when finished for a really sweet treat! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Fantastic easy and supertasty appel cake. We all loved this cake and i will definately make this one again! Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I have made this on several occasions, and it has ALWAYS been a huge hit!!! i have made it according to the ingredients listed, it was wonderful, i have made it with Splenda brown sugar baking blend, it was wonderful, i have made it with 1/2 white sugar & 1/2 splenda (1 cup of each), and it was wonderful. i like the fact that i can make this with Splenda, and be able to have my diabetic friends and family enjoy this cake with the rest of us. no one can tell when i substitute with the Splenda either!! EVERYONE absolutely LOVES it when i make this, i can't thank you enough for this awesome and easy recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! I've been asked for this recipe by sooo many people since I started making this cake. It's easy and delicious. I've tweaked the recipe a little bit to make it my own. Firstly, I halved the sugar (per other reviewers suggestions) and it's quite sweet enough with half the sugar (I use fair trade brown granulated sugar). Secondly, I replaced cinnamon with mixed cake spice - gives the cake a very festive flavour that reminds me of Christmas. Thirdly, I add a cup of sultanas that I've soaked in orange juice (or brandy, port or Cointreau if you're feeling very festive :) ). This cake has now become a firm favourite among my family and friends. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I didn't find this recipe anything special.... just a dense cake with apples. It was ok and I served it with ice cream and caramel sauce like one of the reviewers suggested. I wouldn't make it again. Even my hubby, who is a dessert lover, was not impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Apple Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    36%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites