186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Reminded me of a coffee cake - what a great way to use apples. I would probably use 1/2 - 1 cup LESS sugar next time though; it was a bit too sweet for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneWisconsin September 10, 2011

My daughter sells tastefully simple products and is always bragging about how good their products taste. She thought this was just as good as their mix for apple cake and it cost a whole lot less. This was very good! My husband liked it especially.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cherie Hoelscher August 02, 2011

Fantastic. My dad, who was formerly a banana bread lover to the core, said that this is the best quick bread he has ever eaten. I have made this twice now with the following changes and substitutions: half the amount of sugar, 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of all white, 1/4 cup sunflower oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I used golden delicious apples, and made half the batter as little muffins. Will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day-hee July 26, 2011

Yum yum yum! Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because I followed other reviewers' advice and used a lost less sugar than stated in the recipe. Very moist, tasty and easy to make. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runnerr May 22, 2011

This is so easy to make I can hardly believe it tastes so good. I made it in muffin tins so it was a bit more portable and I did cut the sugar by 1/2 since we are not much for sweets. Delicious, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkorte33 May 16, 2011

It was good, but I found it too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 21, 2011

This cake was perfect! I made it exactly according to the recipe, and everyone in the family raved about it. I did ask if they thought it should have less sugar, but they all agreed they wouldn't change anything. Thank you for this new family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogoodnow February 22, 2011

I found this recipe when browsing for something I could make one evening with just baking staples and apples. We tried it and it turned out great! My 4 yr old daughter and I make it quite often now (she asks for it); it's a hit with her and me AND it's EASY to make. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lidiapetre March 14, 2010

Yummy, yummy, yummy!! And very easy. I need to make something for a potluck but didn't have time to go to the store. Found this and had all the ingredients on hand. This was sooooo good, and wished I'd had vanilla ice cream to eat with it. The only change I might make the next time is to reduce the sugar a little bit. No one else thought so. They all liked it as it was, so maybe it was just me! Anyway, great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha February 24, 2010
German Apple Cake