201 Reviews

This cake was so simple yet had so much flavor. I loved the soft inside and the crispy top. Next time I will have ice cream handy to put on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Cress April 02, 2014

Really good cake. I cut it down to 2 serving because I was making it just for me. I have a tiny loaf pan I use when cooking for one. I baked it for 30 minute. My batter wasn't as thick as others described but I think that was because when I cut it down to 2 servings it called for 1/3 egg and I think I probably did 1/2 egg. Also I cut my apples in really small chunks and it blended in better after the caked baked. Not so chunky. Cake is delicious and so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 February 12, 2014

A good cake! I used half brown and half regular sugar. I cut down on the sugar measurements but I think next time I make it I will cut down the sugar even more....its' me...I don't like things too sweet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS October 03, 2013

This was delicious, fast and easy to make with common pantry ingredients. Per other reviewers, I half the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I did not peel the apples. Used the apple slicer/corer that cut into 8 pieces and then I just chopped them into smaller ones. I had some turbinado sugar and cinnamon on hand for cinnamon toast and sprinkled some of that on top before putting into the oven. I had the whole thing prepared by the time the oven warmed up. Very thick batter, denser than quick bread. I baked for 38 minutes and it was ready. Would make a good coffee cake. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 October 02, 2013

As with other reviewers, I was skeptical when the batter was more thick than any other batter I've worked with. I cut the sugar slightly and added ground clove and red walnuts. The cake was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April N. September 29, 2013

I liked it, also made some changes - reduced sugar to 1 cup and for a half of oil used coconut oil. The cake was a little soggy, I'll try it another time and see what can I do to make it more solid. I liked the taste.<br/>My quests enjoyed eating the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kuxarka September 16, 2013

This is so good, will absolutely make again. I had some raisons and pecans laying around, so I added them. Three Gala apples made four cups. Done in 45 min. Oh also 1 cup of sugar was just right for us. Thank You for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover September 03, 2013

FABULOUS! It was delicious. I made it for a German themed dinner party. Everyone had 3rds! Except for my hubby who has texture issues...But he doesn't count! ;) As everyone has stated, the mixture is VERY THICK but thins out quickly when adding the apples. I chopped the apples relatively small (not diced-a little larger than diced) and the cake turned out very moist. It was exquisite with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolemlu August 27, 2013

This is a wonderfully moist cake great for picnics and home lunches because it keeps so well. Its just great. The only thing is, this recipe fit better in an 8x8 pan. It was too thin for a 9x13

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii August 19, 2013
German Apple Cake