Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    185 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 185

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2010

      This cake was just sweet with no flavor it needs more spices. All I could taste was sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I made it for a New Year's Day Brunch and it was the best part of the meal. Moist, crunchy and SOOOO easy to make! The longest part is peeling the apples, but even that doesn't take that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      My husband hates cake, but LOVES this. I have made it a few times now and it never lasts very long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Wow. We did a pre Christmas taste test and we barely could stop eating it. Best apple cake ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Its not a fancy cake, but it sure is easy, quick and tasty. I served it at home as a snack with coffee. Beats buying it at a local coffee shop. Thank you for the posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Very easy and tasty! Made mine gluten-free by using 1.5 c brown rice flour and 1/2 c tapioca starch. Next time I would add 1-2 tsp xanthan gum in addition. I used maple syrup in place of sugar, and an extra 1/2 cup of apples (didn't peel the apples).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Very easy and yummy! I'm Vegan and don't use eggs or dairy so I sub'd the eggs with flaxseeds. (1 egg=1tb ground flaxseed & 3tb water, simmered 5 min and cooled). I also pureed my pineapple and apples rather than chunked and it still came out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      The bad news - I can't stop eating it. The good news - it' delicious AND easy. Who knew that was possible. I made a few changes. I added 1/2 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of apple sauce to make it a bit more on the healthy side. Also, due to my 4-year-old's diabetes, I wanted her to be able to eat this without it taking her sugar through the roof - so I substituted the 2 cups of sugar that it called for, for one cup Splenda, and 1 cup of regular sugar. DELICIOUS. I'm on my way to make it again because I'm taking it to a get-together tonight. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. However, my hips do not thank you. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      I made this because I had apples that I needed to use, but didn't have any brown sugar. Man, it was good. It makes a big 9x13 pan, so we weren't able to finish it all. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Very good it only lasted a day and a half in my house... I had a piece warm out of the oven and a second a day later from the refrigerator and personally I thought it was better the second day. But very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This was good but a bit too oily. I would cut down to 1/2 cup next time and see how that works.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I've been making apple things all week, trying to make use of our apple-picking yield. I saw this recipe and thought it sounded great--it had so many glowing reviews! Unfortunately, we were a little disappointed, even though I followed the recipe to the letter. The first day I made it, I thought it tasted a little too eggy. It was somewhat better the second day, but I still didn't have many takers here, and I ended up throwing away a good portion of it, which I don't like to do. I guess it's just not our taste--it wasn't bad, we just weren't dazzled, and I don't think I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Wow! This cake is unreal! I'm not a huge fan of any type of apple dessert, but this is amazing. We went apple picking and had to use up some apples and I'm so glad we have a lot of apples left so I can make more. This is sweet, crunchy and moist all at once. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Very good! I used applesauce instead of oil and apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. YUMMY. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I love cakes with apples. This one is my favorite because it's so easy to make and is very very tasty. 5 stars from me! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Made this today following the recipe exactly. Baked for 50 minutes and it was perfectly done. This is fantastic. Perfect "fall food" fill your house with a yummy cinnamon aroma. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Fabulous, we ate it warm out of the oven with vanilla ice cream and homemade caramel sauce. My DH even polished off my 3 yr olds piece. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I made it for my daughter's German class. It was a hit the teacher said it was like the cake she had when she went to Germany. I had just a sliver now I have to make one for here too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Delicious...just made it tonight and only half the cake is left (and i was supposed to be sending it to work with my hubby! LOL!!) Oh well, I'll just have to make another. I'll be making this over and over again! Wonderful recipe! Only adjustment I made was to cut the sugar a little. Is even better as it cools...but we ate our hot because we couldn't wait. And the house smells great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Thanks for a fantastic recipe! Easy and very yummy. Used just 1 cup of sugar and the sweetness was perfect for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    36%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes