186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked it, also made some changes - reduced sugar to 1 cup and for a half of oil used coconut oil. The cake was a little soggy, I'll try it another time and see what can I do to make it more solid. I liked the taste.<br/>My quests enjoyed eating the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kuxarka September 16, 2013

This is so good, will absolutely make again. I had some raisons and pecans laying around, so I added them. Three Gala apples made four cups. Done in 45 min. Oh also 1 cup of sugar was just right for us. Thank You for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover September 03, 2013

FABULOUS! It was delicious. I made it for a German themed dinner party. Everyone had 3rds! Except for my hubby who has texture issues...But he doesn't count! ;) As everyone has stated, the mixture is VERY THICK but thins out quickly when adding the apples. I chopped the apples relatively small (not diced-a little larger than diced) and the cake turned out very moist. It was exquisite with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Highly recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolemlu August 27, 2013

This is a wonderfully moist cake great for picnics and home lunches because it keeps so well. Its just great. The only thing is, this recipe fit better in an 8x8 pan. It was too thin for a 9x13

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii August 19, 2013

A nice cake for a casual brunch. I wish I could find a way to make it look a bit prettier. Maybe some caramel drizzled over the top would help. I added allspice, as some others recommended, and that made it tastier. I think chopped walnuts would be yummy as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SingleChef May 11, 2013

This is FANTASTIC and EASY!!! I used four leftover medium apples--of a variety my husband wanted to try for snacking but didn't care for the texture--and it came to four cups. I also weighed my flour and sugar because I wanted to see, based on reviews stating the batter was super thick, if it made a difference. The batter was still super thick (however, in the process I learned that the way I've sifted flour for years, moderate tablespoons added to the measuring cup, tapped slightly and then cut and leveled with a butter knife was off by an increased two ounces from what should correctly be 4oz--four oz of flour=1cup). <br/><br/>I baked for 30 minutes, pulled it out because the cake was overly brown, but tested with a toothpick. The toothpick came out wet, but not creamy. Still, I was unsure if it was because of the apples or the cake needed to bake some more. I turned down the oven to 250 and baked for 10 more minutes. The result was what appeared to be an overly cooked, dried out cake, but after about 15 minutes I cut a piece out and sampled it. My, my, my, it was moist and delicious on the inside and the overbaked crust turned out to be flaky and good! Thanks MizzNezz--this is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortcakes April 24, 2013

I made this cake for the very first time, and it was delicious! I am glad I read the reviews beforehand...definitely cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and the bake time to 45 minutes (next time I might even bake for 35-40 minutes to preserve some of the moisture). I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of allspice and nutmeg and I am glad I did, it gives the cake a wonderful flavor! I cannot stress enough that the batter is VERY thick, and it must be pressed into a greased pan. Also the consistency after baking is a bit bread-like, but still very good! I am sending this recipe to friends who requested it! Four stars only because the original recipe requires some changes, but still a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cas2Lins January 15, 2013

Great recipe! It is very easy and fast to make. The only changes I made were adding an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, reducing the sugar to 1 cup, and baking it for only 45 mins rather that leaving it in for the full 55 mins! It was moist and delicious!! I will definitely be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy :) January 12, 2013

What a wonderful cake. I put less oil and sugar and more cinnamon. I also studded the top with walnot halves before baking. it turned out great..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour October 31, 2012
German Apple Cake