201 Reviews

Just made this it was so moist and delicious. I added 2 extra shredded apples and it cooked in approx 38 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucille L. January 17, 2016

Amazing cake, super easy to make and definitely a keeper! As other reviewers mentioned, the batter is sticky and apples are harder to incorporate than you would expect. It doesn't run, you need to sort of arrange the batter into the baking pan once the apples are in. One of the best and easiest cakes to make. We made it respecting all original proportions and it came out excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy O December 07, 2015

Great recipe easy. VERY thick batter it does need to be patted nit bake pan. Use less sugar VERY sweet. I used canola oil found it needed to bake 10 minutes beyond suggested time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie C. November 15, 2015

Delicious cake! Moist and easy to make. Like others, I used half the sugar and only baked for 40 minutes. Still going to rate it 5-stars, though, because sugar can be a personal preference and overs will be ovens :) :) I thought about glazing it, but we're all watching our sugar, and it's tasty, moist and yummy enough to serve as is. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tearei November 01, 2015

Oh my...so delicious, and so very easy. This is one of those recipes that TASTES like it was a lot of effort, and only you will know how easy it was. The changes I made were simply personal preference: I doubled the vanilla, added a pinch of nutmeg along with the cinnamon, used one cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and I ground Whole Foods Winter Baking spices over the top before baking. It has brown sugar, lemon zest, orange zest, whole cloves, cinnamon and a bunch of other yummy things, and comes in its own convenient grinder. It forms a nice little crust on top. This cake smelled heavenly while baking, and my husband paid me the ultimate compliment: it rivals his beloved grandmother's sacred apple cake recipe! We will be making this very often. Many thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani H. October 30, 2015

Fabulous! I have made it twice. Both times I use half coconut oil, half vegetable oil. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and then 1/4 cup maple syrup. The first time I left it un-frosted, the second time I turned it into a pudding poke cake with pumpkin spice pudding. Delicious cake no matter what.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly B. October 16, 2015

Would make this again and again. My new go to easy cake. I would only change one thing. Way too sweet therefore will follow other suggestion of only using one cup of sugar and if you love cinnamon as we do, 2 tsp is just not enough. I will use 4 tsp going forward .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robinm102 October 12, 2015

Great recipe. Based on reviews I cut both the sugar & oil in half. It was plenty sweet enough & had great texture. I was worried I'd slightly over baked it but the next day it was beautifully moist. So easy to make - the hardest part is peeling & chopping the apples! This cake received rave reviews from my co-workers & the recipe is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nevrom October 06, 2015

I have made this cake twice now. The first time, based on reviews, I cut the sugar and oil by half but otherwise followed the recipe. The cake came out pretty good, though it wasn't overly thrilling. The second time I made it, I still cut the sugar down to 1 cup and cut the oil, though this time I only reduced it to 1/2 cup. I reduced the amount of apples from 4 cups to 3 cups, chopped them finer than I had before, and rather than adding each as a separate ingredient I tossed the apple pieces in the cup of sugar and teaspoons of cinnamon and let them sit while I prepared everything else. I felt like the apples needed to be better integrated as an ingredient, and coating them in the sugar and cinnamon before adding to the batter definitely helped. As another reviewer mentioned doing, I also sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and sugar on the top of the cake before sticking it in the oven. If I make it again, I'll go back to the 4 cups of apples but definitely put the sugar/cinnamon on first. This second version was a great improvement over round one. Finally, I suggest checking it around the 40 minute mark, don't just throw it in the oven for 55 and call it a day. 40 min was plenty for mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
summeroutside October 04, 2015

Marvellous recipe, easy as ABC! (I'm grateful to have my husband assisted me with peeling the apples :P ) I'm so satisfied with the result.thx for sharing this great recipe. I did altered a bit from the recipe, i used 3/4 cup castor sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar as i thought the cake will become less sweet n more moist if we used brown sugar. I also add 2 tbsp of whole milk so as to make the batter easier to handle and to get the creamy taste as well. I bake only for 40 min and it turned out great!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryam L. October 01, 2015
German Apple Cake