188 Reviews

I love this cake!! Have made it twice already and it is always a big hit!! "Batter" is more like a crumble. So don't be surprised when it looks like a bunch of little peas. I too have an apple peeler/ corer/slicer as another reviewer mentioned. Does the apples in about three minutes!! So easy!! It's so funny that I just realized that in the picture shown of the cake there is an icing on it!!?? I don't see any recipe for an icing or hadn't noticed if anyone mentioned anything about an icing? Would love to know!! Looks good with a bit of icing too!! Anyone?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacieh0619 April 23, 2015

yay! I am going to start peeling the apple so thank you very much I will take photo and write the final note and give rating <333

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nuket K. November 04, 2014

Delicious! I added chopped walnuts and golden raisins. It's easy, delicious and has made me very popular!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannondotmom September 25, 2014

Made this out of apples from the garden and glad I read other reviews as at first thought it was way to much apple but I was wrong - it's perfect, but the dough is thick and sticky after adding them. I did as others and cut back on the sugar and added nutmeg and cloves. Also added in 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. Made them in mini loaf pans as there are only 2 of us and was able to freeze some back for later. Topped with a glaze and it turned out great, moist and flavorful. Glad we'll have some to pull out whenever we're wanting some later in the winter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 15, 2014

I thought this was a lovely cake. Like the other reviewers I just about halved the sugar, and it was plenty sweet. The apples I used were from a friends tree and were quite tart. It was a nice combo with the sweetness. And like the other reviewers said the batter is very thick, just about like cookie dough. It loosens up a bit with the apples added, but still you have to smush it into the pan. I served it warm with fresh whipped cream. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethanyRenae August 31, 2014

It is really delicious cake. I put little less sugar and more apple than recipe says. I love it! Very simple and tasty! Thanx for sharing!Love...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefhalo July 21, 2014

This is the second time I made this cake. I'm sure it won't be the last time. Thank You for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scostasj April 15, 2014

This cake was so simple yet had so much flavor. I loved the soft inside and the crispy top. Next time I will have ice cream handy to put on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Cress April 02, 2014

Really good cake. I cut it down to 2 serving because I was making it just for me. I have a tiny loaf pan I use when cooking for one. I baked it for 30 minute. My batter wasn't as thick as others described but I think that was because when I cut it down to 2 servings it called for 1/3 egg and I think I probably did 1/2 egg. Also I cut my apples in really small chunks and it blended in better after the caked baked. Not so chunky. Cake is delicious and so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 February 12, 2014

A good cake! I used half brown and half regular sugar. I cut down on the sugar measurements but I think next time I make it I will cut down the sugar even more....its' me...I don't like things too sweet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS October 03, 2013
German Apple Cake