Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    185 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 185

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2014

      I thought this was a lovely cake. Like the other reviewers I just about halved the sugar, and it was plenty sweet. The apples I used were from a friends tree and were quite tart. It was a nice combo with the sweetness. And like the other reviewers said the batter is very thick, just about like cookie dough. It loosens up a bit with the apples added, but still you have to smush it into the pan. I served it warm with fresh whipped cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      It is really delicious cake. I put little less sugar and more apple than recipe says. I love it! Very simple and tasty! Thanx for sharing!Love...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      This is the second time I made this cake. I'm sure it won't be the last time. Thank You for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      This cake was so simple yet had so much flavor. I loved the soft inside and the crispy top. Next time I will have ice cream handy to put on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Really good cake. I cut it down to 2 serving because I was making it just for me. I have a tiny loaf pan I use when cooking for one. I baked it for 30 minute. My batter wasn't as thick as others described but I think that was because when I cut it down to 2 servings it called for 1/3 egg and I think I probably did 1/2 egg. Also I cut my apples in really small chunks and it blended in better after the caked baked. Not so chunky. Cake is delicious and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      A good cake! I used half brown and half regular sugar. I cut down on the sugar measurements but I think next time I make it I will cut down the sugar even more....its' me...I don't like things too sweet. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      This was delicious, fast and easy to make with common pantry ingredients. Per other reviewers, I half the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I did not peel the apples. Used the apple slicer/corer that cut into 8 pieces and then I just chopped them into smaller ones. I had some turbinado sugar and cinnamon on hand for cinnamon toast and sprinkled some of that on top before putting into the oven. I had the whole thing prepared by the time the oven warmed up. Very thick batter, denser than quick bread. I baked for 38 minutes and it was ready. Would make a good coffee cake. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      As with other reviewers, I was skeptical when the batter was more thick than any other batter I've worked with. I cut the sugar slightly and added ground clove and red walnuts. The cake was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      I liked it, also made some changes - reduced sugar to 1 cup and for a half of oil used coconut oil. The cake was a little soggy, I'll try it another time and see what can I do to make it more solid. I liked the taste.<br/>My quests enjoyed eating the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      This is so good, will absolutely make again. I had some raisons and pecans laying around, so I added them. Three Gala apples made four cups. Done in 45 min. Oh also 1 cup of sugar was just right for us. Thank You for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Fantastic! I hate to review a recipe that I've altered but the basics here are SO wonderful! I used half the sugar since we prefer less sweet...lol but then I added back by using the topping from Best Apple Cake. I spotted about a half a mini bottle of grand marnier in the fridge from another recipe so added that to the cake batter/dough too. Baked in two 9" cake pans and just stacked them (my 9 x 13 is MIA) and with the remaining heavy cream from the other recipe I whipped it with a touch of powdered sugar and a smidge of vanilla pudding mix to stabilize it for a pretty garnish and a contrast in texture. I used Granny Smith apples that were rather large and 3 was more than enough! The "batter" is very dense so don't let that throw you! This is quick, easy and very, very good! Will make again without any hesitation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      FABULOUS! It was delicious. I made it for a German themed dinner party. Everyone had 3rds! Except for my hubby who has texture issues...But he doesn't count! ;) As everyone has stated, the mixture is VERY THICK but thins out quickly when adding the apples. I chopped the apples relatively small (not diced-a little larger than diced) and the cake turned out very moist. It was exquisite with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      This is a wonderfully moist cake great for picnics and home lunches because it keeps so well. Its just great. The only thing is, this recipe fit better in an 8x8 pan. It was too thin for a 9x13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

    • on May 11, 2013

      A nice cake for a casual brunch. I wish I could find a way to make it look a bit prettier. Maybe some caramel drizzled over the top would help. I added allspice, as some others recommended, and that made it tastier. I think chopped walnuts would be yummy as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      This is FANTASTIC and EASY!!! I used four leftover medium apples--of a variety my husband wanted to try for snacking but didn't care for the texture--and it came to four cups. I also weighed my flour and sugar because I wanted to see, based on reviews stating the batter was super thick, if it made a difference. The batter was still super thick (however, in the process I learned that the way I've sifted flour for years, moderate tablespoons added to the measuring cup, tapped slightly and then cut and leveled with a butter knife was off by an increased two ounces from what should correctly be 4oz--four oz of flour=1cup). <br/><br/>I baked for 30 minutes, pulled it out because the cake was overly brown, but tested with a toothpick. The toothpick came out wet, but not creamy. Still, I was unsure if it was because of the apples or the cake needed to bake some more. I turned down the oven to 250 and baked for 10 more minutes. The result was what appeared to be an overly cooked, dried out cake, but after about 15 minutes I cut a piece out and sampled it. My, my, my, it was moist and delicious on the inside and the overbaked crust turned out to be flaky and good! Thanks MizzNezz--this is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I made this cake for the very first time, and it was delicious! I am glad I read the reviews beforehand...definitely cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and the bake time to 45 minutes (next time I might even bake for 35-40 minutes to preserve some of the moisture). I also added 1/2 teaspoon each of allspice and nutmeg and I am glad I did, it gives the cake a wonderful flavor! I cannot stress enough that the batter is VERY thick, and it must be pressed into a greased pan. Also the consistency after baking is a bit bread-like, but still very good! I am sending this recipe to friends who requested it! Four stars only because the original recipe requires some changes, but still a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Great recipe! It is very easy and fast to make. The only changes I made were adding an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, reducing the sugar to 1 cup, and baking it for only 45 mins rather that leaving it in for the full 55 mins! It was moist and delicious!! I will definitely be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      What a wonderful cake. I put less oil and sugar and more cinnamon. I also studded the top with walnot halves before baking. it turned out great..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Really yummy cake, and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    36%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes