186 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is delicious! I would consider this more of a breakfast/brunch type cake however, like a coffee cake. I don't believe I would serve this as a dessert; just a personal preference. It was quite sweet, I will cut back the sugar a bit next time as other reviewers have suggested. I have an apple corer/peeler/slicer, so altogether it only took me about 10 minutes to prep this. I love the simplicity! I will be making this often. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mid-Mo Bakerette April 29, 2010

I agree with everyone else! The only thing I would say is you need (a) tasty apples - not useless watery ones, and (b) a HUGE bowl. There is more apple than cake in this recipe and I kept losing bits of cake over the side. Other than that it was very easy and tastes lovely. Oh, and I used Mixed Spice instead of Cinnamon. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental April 18, 2010

Fantastic cake! The flavor and texture is amazing. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half, just personal preference. I'll be making this cake again and again. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 06, 2010

My grandson loved this cake as did his mother. I do not eat many sweets so they rated it. It was easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mendysmom49 February 27, 2010

(I didn't rate b/c I significantly changed the flavors per another reviewer's feedback.) I made the recipe as stated, and added: another 1 tsp cinnamon (for a total of 3 tsp of cinnamon); 1 tsp ginger; 1 tsp cloves; 1/2 tsp nutmeg; and 1/2 tsp all spice. For the 3/4 cup veg oil, I used 1/4 cup sunflower oil and 1/2 cup peanut oil. This gave the cake a slightly nutty taste that went really well with the spices. Cake was flavorful, moist, and delicious. I'll definitely make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo_mama February 07, 2010

I made this, with the following changes, over the weekend and my family devoured it! I used coconut oil, cut the sugar to 1 cup (yes, it was plenty sweet enough), used spelt flour, used 5 cups of unpeeled/small chunk apples and used 2 varieties, and added 1 cup of chopped pecans. It is SOOOOO good. Perfect on a cold autumn dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicnscott1 October 12, 2009

So good! I used Golden Delicious apples, unpeeled and chopped into a small dice. Otherwise no changes to the recipe. Moist and delicious and the 15 min prep time listed is no joke, it took me maybe 10 min without peeling the apples. Thanks for posting will def make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 October 06, 2009

Super good cake. Loved the moist apples and the soft chewy texture of the cake. Too much sugar which is why I rated it less than 5. Could easily cut down the sugar by 1/2 cup. Other than that I believe this will be very popular at any function I bring it to. Thanx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish September 06, 2009

I love this cake!! Have made it twice already and it is always a big hit!! "Batter" is more like a crumble. So don't be surprised when it looks like a bunch of little peas. I too have an apple peeler/ corer/slicer as another reviewer mentioned. Does the apples in about three minutes!! So easy!! It's so funny that I just realized that in the picture shown of the cake there is an icing on it!!?? I don't see any recipe for an icing or hadn't noticed if anyone mentioned anything about an icing? Would love to know!! Looks good with a bit of icing too!! Anyone?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacieh0619 April 23, 2015

yay! I am going to start peeling the apple so thank you very much I will take photo and write the final note and give rating <333

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nuket K. November 04, 2014
German Apple Cake