Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / German Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    181 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 181

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2011

      I thought this cake was wonderful! It was so simple to make. As others have said, the most difficult part is peeling the apples. After that, it takes 5 minutes to prepare everything. Also as others have said, the dough was incredibly thick and difficult to stir prior to the addition of the apples. I only added 1 cup of sugar instead of the instructed 2 cups and I thought the cake was the perfect amount of sweetness. The only other change I made was that I baked the cake for only about 40 minutes, as opposed to the recommended 50-55 minutes. When I checked on the cake it looked golden brown so I took it out and it was perfectly moist. I highly recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      This cake was pretty amazing. I am glad other reviewers mentioned the thickness of the batter. Without these warnings I would have been very hesitant as it really doesn't seem like enough for the amount of apples. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups and baked it for only 45 minutes. Easy and delicious. I plan to make this for my next potluck. Thanks so much! This is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Really, really good cake! Forgot to rate/review it the first time I made it. I add a bit more of the spices (personal taste) and use about half palm sugar. It's excellent just as is, though -- no need to change anything. Thanks for posting this, MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      The first time I made this cake I thought it would not be as good as it is! The batter is stiff yet sticky and you have to "massage" it into the baking dish, not pour it in. I cut back on the sugar (1 cup) and added 1 tsp. of nutmeg. I always add nutmeg to any recipe containing cinnamon. I also use Canola oil which makes it lighter. It is such a quick, easy and satisfying apple cake. We can't keep it in the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I used 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup oil, 1/4 c water (next time apple sauce) and it was just delicious. I will definitely be making this again and again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This was pretty good. I did have to add more spices to it. I used 1 cup Splenda instead of sugur and only 1/4 cup oil and the rest applesauce. It was very good. Only problem is it didn't raise very much. I'll buy new baking soda and try again. I subtracted one star because I had to add more spices to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      We loved this! It was sooo good and very easy to put together! After reading many of the reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added another tsp. of cinnamon, and a bit of nutmeg and allspice. I, too, was worried that it seemed very thick and not like a cake batter. (tho I don't bake that much lol) It turned out perfect! I checked the time at 40 minutes and baked it for a total of 45 minutes. Next time, I may trying adding some chopped walnuts or pecans. Thanks so much for posting thi, MizzNezz! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      OMG! The pictures do not do this recipe justice! This cake is so wonderful! Like others have said, pealing and slicing the apples is the hardest part. I followed the recipe as written using 5 Granny Smith apples, and it came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      This was great! My family loved it. I reduced the sugar and used half brown sugar, plus I added more cinnamon - all personal preference. Yum! I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar all over the top before I baked it - makes a nice crust. Thanks so much for this one! Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      This is delicious! I would consider this more of a breakfast/brunch type cake however, like a coffee cake. I don't believe I would serve this as a dessert; just a personal preference. It was quite sweet, I will cut back the sugar a bit next time as other reviewers have suggested. I have an apple corer/peeler/slicer, so altogether it only took me about 10 minutes to prep this. I love the simplicity! I will be making this often. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I agree with everyone else! The only thing I would say is you need (a) tasty apples - not useless watery ones, and (b) a HUGE bowl. There is more apple than cake in this recipe and I kept losing bits of cake over the side. Other than that it was very easy and tastes lovely. Oh, and I used Mixed Spice instead of Cinnamon. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Fantastic cake! The flavor and texture is amazing. Next time I'll cut the sugar in half, just personal preference. I'll be making this cake again and again. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      My grandson loved this cake as did his mother. I do not eat many sweets so they rated it. It was easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      (I didn't rate b/c I significantly changed the flavors per another reviewer's feedback.) I made the recipe as stated, and added: another 1 tsp cinnamon (for a total of 3 tsp of cinnamon); 1 tsp ginger; 1 tsp cloves; 1/2 tsp nutmeg; and 1/2 tsp all spice. For the 3/4 cup veg oil, I used 1/4 cup sunflower oil and 1/2 cup peanut oil. This gave the cake a slightly nutty taste that went really well with the spices. Cake was flavorful, moist, and delicious. I'll definitely make again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I made this, with the following changes, over the weekend and my family devoured it! I used coconut oil, cut the sugar to 1 cup (yes, it was plenty sweet enough), used spelt flour, used 5 cups of unpeeled/small chunk apples and used 2 varieties, and added 1 cup of chopped pecans. It is SOOOOO good. Perfect on a cold autumn dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      So good! I used Golden Delicious apples, unpeeled and chopped into a small dice. Otherwise no changes to the recipe. Moist and delicious and the 15 min prep time listed is no joke, it took me maybe 10 min without peeling the apples. Thanks for posting will def make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Super good cake. Loved the moist apples and the soft chewy texture of the cake. Too much sugar which is why I rated it less than 5. Could easily cut down the sugar by 1/2 cup. Other than that I believe this will be very popular at any function I bring it to. Thanx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      It is really delicious cake. I put little less sugar and more apple than recipe says. I love it! Very simple and tasty! Thanx for sharing!Love...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      This is the second time I made this cake. I'm sure it won't be the last time. Thank You for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      This cake was so simple yet had so much flavor. I loved the soft inside and the crispy top. Next time I will have ice cream handy to put on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    36%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 214.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    150%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites