187 Reviews

I thought this cake was wonderful! It was so simple to make. As others have said, the most difficult part is peeling the apples. After that, it takes 5 minutes to prepare everything. Also as others have said, the dough was incredibly thick and difficult to stir prior to the addition of the apples. I only added 1 cup of sugar instead of the instructed 2 cups and I thought the cake was the perfect amount of sweetness. The only other change I made was that I baked the cake for only about 40 minutes, as opposed to the recommended 50-55 minutes. When I checked on the cake it looked golden brown so I took it out and it was perfectly moist. I highly recommend this recipe!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
illinipoa March 05, 2011

This cake was pretty amazing. I am glad other reviewers mentioned the thickness of the batter. Without these warnings I would have been very hesitant as it really doesn't seem like enough for the amount of apples. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups and baked it for only 45 minutes. Easy and delicious. I plan to make this for my next potluck. Thanks so much! This is a winner.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie March 27, 2011

Really, really good cake! Forgot to rate/review it the first time I made it. I add a bit more of the spices (personal taste) and use about half palm sugar. It's excellent just as is, though -- no need to change anything. Thanks for posting this, MizzNezz.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mfuhr29079 November 09, 2010

The first time I made this cake I thought it would not be as good as it is! The batter is stiff yet sticky and you have to "massage" it into the baking dish, not pour it in. I cut back on the sugar (1 cup) and added 1 tsp. of nutmeg. I always add nutmeg to any recipe containing cinnamon. I also use Canola oil which makes it lighter. It is such a quick, easy and satisfying apple cake. We can't keep it in the house!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gordon Godsman October 27, 2009

I used 3/4 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup oil, 1/4 c water (next time apple sauce) and it was just delicious. I will definitely be making this again and again. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlkljgk September 28, 2011

This was pretty good. I did have to add more spices to it. I used 1 cup Splenda instead of sugur and only 1/4 cup oil and the rest applesauce. It was very good. Only problem is it didn't raise very much. I'll buy new baking soda and try again. I subtracted one star because I had to add more spices to it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cooky July 14, 2011

We loved this! It was sooo good and very easy to put together! After reading many of the reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added another tsp. of cinnamon, and a bit of nutmeg and allspice. I, too, was worried that it seemed very thick and not like a cake batter. (tho I don't bake that much lol) It turned out perfect! I checked the time at 40 minutes and baked it for a total of 45 minutes. Next time, I may trying adding some chopped walnuts or pecans. Thanks so much for posting thi, MizzNezz! : )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 10, 2011

OMG! The pictures do not do this recipe justice! This cake is so wonderful! Like others have said, pealing and slicing the apples is the hardest part. I followed the recipe as written using 5 Granny Smith apples, and it came out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alex Chapman December 11, 2009

Fantastic! I hate to review a recipe that I've altered but the basics here are SO wonderful! I used half the sugar since we prefer less sweet...lol but then I added back by using the topping from Best Apple Cake. I spotted about a half a mini bottle of grand marnier in the fridge from another recipe so added that to the cake batter/dough too. Baked in two 9" cake pans and just stacked them (my 9 x 13 is MIA) and with the remaining heavy cream from the other recipe I whipped it with a touch of powdered sugar and a smidge of vanilla pudding mix to stabilize it for a pretty garnish and a contrast in texture. I used Granny Smith apples that were rather large and 3 was more than enough! The "batter" is very dense so don't let that throw you! This is quick, easy and very, very good! Will make again without any hesitation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance August 28, 2013

This was great! My family loved it. I reduced the sugar and used half brown sugar, plus I added more cinnamon - all personal preference. Yum! I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar all over the top before I baked it - makes a nice crust. Thanks so much for this one! Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goddessindoorway October 22, 2011
German Apple Cake