13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an amazingly simple and good salad. Great for BBQs. DO NOT MAKE IN ADVANCE, the crackers will get soggy. If you want to take it to a pot luck, mix the veggies and mayo together in the bowl and carry your croakers separately. Then you can add them in just when it is ready to be served.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stimied April 13, 2004

I have not made this YET, but have had it at one of my church functions. It is different and delicious!!!! Update: 6/12/07 - I have finally prepared this for myself. Easy and delicious. I prepared exactly as directed, using as small amount of mayo as I could get by with to hold the mixture together. I absolutely love this stuff LOL! Personally, I don't mind if the crackers get soggy (ie, leftovers, if there are any), the flavor is still there. I am one of those who like soggy cereal too, so it is a personal thing. I will repeat this often. Thanks Sharon123!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail June 12, 2007

this is great sorda like a mayo and tomato sandwich which we southerns love,i cant wait until summer so i can make it with vine ripe tomatoes

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern chef in louisiana January 13, 2004

This is quite good. I served it as an entree salad, on a bed of lettuce, with crumbled veggie bacon on top. I only used 1/2 cup of mayo, which was perfect..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc August 23, 2011

A wondeful and delicious recipe. The first couple of times I used it I didn't tell anyone what the main ingredient was--when they learned, they were amazed that I had started with saltines. This is very good with fried fish as a substitute for coleslaw. I first saw this recipe in Paula's cookbook. Very easy to fix.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwanny Hill October 20, 2004

I'm so sorry that I'm reviewing without trying first, but this looks so amazing, and I wanted to comment with an idea. Several people have said that it doesn't "keep" well, becoming soggy. I was wondering....if we use less than the maximum am't of mayo so that it's sort of firm.....could we make patties from it, with a light coating of MORE crackers, or breadcrumbs, or Panko, and give it a quick fry in a skillet? Sounds good to ME! Jill

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill S. August 08, 2014

This is super easy and very tasty! I love it & will prepare it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy-in-the-Kitchen June 04, 2014

i love this recipe from Paula and I just add enough mayonaise to coat everything well. adding a little at a time. The only problem I have with it is it makes a good bit and isn't good for leftovers!:-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C June 21, 2009

I know that some people like this recipe of Paula's, but I thought it had entirely too much mayonnaise in it. Perhaps 1/2 cup of mayonnaise would make it better???

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan Leonetti September 15, 2005

I also got this recipe from Paula's cookbook, her recipe said to add 1 1/2cups of mayo I really think 1 cup is good enough. This recipe is so simple,I made this for my mother in-law and grandmother they loved it! They suggested to add diced ham or some type of meat to make more hearty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taxi July 27, 2005
Georgia Cracker Salad