Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Georgetown Lime Cookies (Broas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Georgetown Lime Cookies (Broas)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2012

      UPDATE: Tried these again making adjustments as suggested by local expats: I used 50/50 margarine and butter, added extra flour due to the water content of CR's butter and moved my oven rack up a level. THAT'S THE TICKET!!! These cookies are AMAZING!!! Original Review: These cookies have an amazing flavor! I'd like to give them five stars, except mine spread way too thin and I ended up with one great big cookie-sheet sized cookie! However, this may not be the fault of the recipe, since the same thing happened yesterday with another cookie. My bad oven, or maybe its the Costa Rican butter; sigh... I love the combination of the lime with the cinnamon and nutmeg - even though we ended up with a not-very-pretty cookie, they disappeared pretty quickly! Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Great cookies! I substituted about a third of the butter for apple sauce, added a teaspoon of soy lecithin to the dough, reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup, and mixed in some shredded sweetened coconut to half of the dough. They came out as little balls of yumminess. The outside of the cookies are slightly hard and crispy but the insides are soft and chewy! They're kind of like a butter/shortbread cookie (as Len23 said), but a chewier on the inside. I will definitely be adding more lime next time though. The lime flavor was great in the dough before I baked it -- my husband didn't want to stop eating it. But it became much more subdued after baking. We really like the tartness of the lime to come through! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

    • on October 02, 2009

      Wow! Cookie Ladie, these babies are good! Limey and fragrant. Yummy! I cannot eat just one. I do not like to bake cookies (just eat them) but I am going to have to get over it for these. You can't buy them anywhere, so I am going to have to make them. Big thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      These are great! What a different cookie recipe, I really enjoyed it and those at the picnic I took them to did as well. I used store-bought lime juice, and did need to add an extra tablespoon to up the flavor. A great combination of flavors, very light! Mine came out a bit shortbread-y, which I liked a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      I just bought a large bag of limes while I was at Sams Club..I am so glad I decided to make this recipe..Wonderful delicate lime flavored cookies, more like a wafer, they are so thin..I heard about these on the travel channel(Anthony) and he is correct it is hard to eat just one..Thank U for this wonderful recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Oh lime cookies how do I like you let me count the ways...everyone loves these..I cook them at a low temp (my oven hates me) so they are some what soft..my 2 year old requests these over choc chip cookies all the time.. freeze amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Brought it to a cookie exchange and everyone loved it. I made some additions to the version I made. Replaced a 1/4 cup of granulated sugar in the dough with raw sugar. I also replaces the entire "spice" sugar (what you roll the dough balls in) with raw sugar....although, when putting the balls in the bowl, instead of rolling I scooped the mix on bc the cinnamon and nutmeg were all on the bottom of the bowl. I also I set aside a bit of the lime zest as well as 2 TB of lime juice (leftover from squeezing the limes) and made a glaze to brush on top of the cookies after they cooled. I also only baked them for 12 minutes to let them be a little softer. And one last thing to note - I tried both with one egg added to the dough and the original version and like the NO EGG version better. Thanks for the recipe. It was the biggest hit at the cookie party I went to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      These are very delicious. I am baking them to include in a Christmas package, so I hope they freeze well. (I guess we'll find out.) They are absolutely delicate and very tasty. I did not find them too sweet but you definitely do not need to eat more than one or two. I halved the recipe and added 1/2 cup of toasted, sweetened coconut. The coconut flavor is there but the lime flavor is much more pronounced. A lovely cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      These were a Big hit! I have several friends who have asked for the recipe. Simple, sweet, perfect. They didn't stop eating until they were all gone. And they have been mentioned several times in the past week. I will definately be making these again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Ive just spent a lazy Sunday afternoon making these and they are delicious and very moreish! I made a few changes of my own by substituting some of the flour with cornmeal and rolled the dough balls in oatmeal, which gives the cookies a fantastic crunch. They were a bit too sweet for our English tastbuds, so next time I will use less sugar. Thanks for posting this recipe and I will definitely make these again - soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Well these are just knock me down delicious. I was skeptical when I pulled them out of the oven because they looked very 'ordinary' but I stand correctd, they are *amazing*. I'm actually bringing a dozen into work right now (on my day off) simply so I won't consume the full batch alone. The only modification I made was to add one egg and cream it in with the lime zest because it just seemed so odd that there were no eggs in this recipe. Worked perfectly (though I don't know what they are supposed to look like, lol). I rolled mine in the spice mixture and then lightly pressed them with the bottom of a decorative shot glass (the perfect 1" size) so they look like they have flowers pressed into them. These cookies are so lightly spiced and limey at the same time, unlike anything I've ever quite had, which might be why they are so addicting! They are not really a chewy cookie, maybe closer to a shortbread/butter cookie? Very yummy, and a most excellent recipe to use up my overabundance of limes on. I might just do up another batch and pop them into the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Georgetown Lime Cookies (Broas)

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.1
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    39%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 72.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites