Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2009

      Excellent. The texture was perfect. This makes a huge pizza. I did make a couple of changes. I used 1 tbls of olive oil and left out the honey and used 1 tsp Italian seasoning in place of the oregano and thyme. I will use this one again. Thanks so much for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

    • on June 12, 2009

      Our family dinner party made pizza's on the grill last night and your pizza crust was a hit! (the only change I made from the ingredient list was using italian seasonings instead of oregano and thyme seperately). We doubled the recipe and let it rise a second time after making individual sized pizza dough balls. I had to refrigerate them since they were prepared in the morning. Don't know if that made them easier to work with or if it was the wheat flour in your dough, but it was a breeze to shape them compared to the white pizza dough I bought from the store. (wasn't as elastic-y and kept its shape when we formed them on our floured table.) We cooked the crust first by brushing each side with olive oil and grilled them over med low heat. After that we added our toppings and grilled them one last time on low to melt the cheese! Yum! We ended up with one extra dough ball so we threw that on the grill as an appetizer bread. After flipping it, we brushed it with butter and garlic salt, and sprinkled it with parmesan cheese. It was perfect dipping into our homemade pizza sauce! Thanks for a great recipe that will be used over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      I love this pizza dough. Been making it for about 4 months now every Saturday night. As a diabetic, It's healthier for me to eat whole wheat as opposed to white. I just make all whole wheat and substitute the thyme and oregano for Italian seasoning. Love it!! Turns out perfect every time and my family loves it!! I always double the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      My family loves this pizza dough recipe, which also works great for Calzones! Thanks for making it easy--I'll never make dough without my mixer again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Great recipe! I followed the ingredients and directions exactly. This made 1 VERY large, medium-thick crust. I think you could definitely get 2 large thin crusts out of this too. Anyway, it was easy to make and the crust crisped up nicely. I will be using this recipe again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      My husband and I are trying to eat healthier and one of those ways is to use whole wheat flour. We love pizza and have tried other whole wheat pizza dough recipes but they cannot compare to this one. In the other recipes, the whole wheat flavor came off too strong and did not blend well with the other ingredients of the pizza. In this recipe, with its addition of herbs and honey, the dough compliments the flavors you are adding on top instead of working against them. Well done George!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Awesome. I've only made pizza dough with white flour---I don't think I'm going back! I let it rise for about an hour. Easy to work with, great taste---it's a keeper in my house. Thanks George!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This dough is delicious!! I actually make 2 medium size pizzas out of it and my kids love it. I get requests to make it over going to the pizza store!! It is very easy to follow, and really has a great flavor. This recipe is a total keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Very good and easy to follow recipe! I left out the olive oil on accident but it still turned out great! I also added parmesan. Good stuff

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Thanks for this recipe!!! I randomly decided to try making pizza from scratch today, and this wasn't very difficult and came out very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      I have made this many times, I like to double the garlic powder, and while I have used this as pizza dough, I love it formed into a loaf for bread with dinner. It is so soft and flavorful, a nice change of pace from the french bread I normally make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      First time we tried making pizza dough at home and the result was very good. We made a thin crust pizza, which was very tasty. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This was my first attempt at making pizza dough in a mixer and the result was fabulous. The crust is hearty flavored and we all really enjoyed it. I was not sure if I was to bake the crust before adding the toppings and decided not to. The center was a little doughy so next time I will par bake the crust. But this was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.5
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites