34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Do you wear an apron? I love men in aprons. Used for grilled pizza. See! I'm not a one-trick pony.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 09, 2010

This was great, I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour instead. It was light and fluffy but healthy. I also prebakes mine for 8 minutes or so on a pizza stone, then removed from the stone after I topped it and cooked on the top rack for additional 9-10 minutes. very yummy! will definatly use this recipe again....my husband(who is very picky) even liked it. It had a great crunch and was not dense like most wheat doughs I've tried.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Spencer November 11, 2009

Ridiculously easy and delicious. This was my first attempt at homemade pizza dough as well and it turned out so well. I divided the risen dough into 4 balls and rolled out individual sized pizzas. I sprayed both sides with olive oil and grilled in a gas grill preheated to 500F for about a minute on each side (lid open and watch it like a hawk!) with the flame on medium-low. I then topped each pizza and grilled on medium-low until the bottom was done and cheese bubbling hot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxInMD September 20, 2009

Fantastic recipe! I've made it twice now, to rave reviews from the wife, the toughest critic.<br/>Great texture , flavor, and ease of making. It is very forgiving (better be with my talent).<br/>A great confidence builder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richardt August 10, 2014

Made this dough with wheat flour and popped into the freezer in individual slice portions. Have used it for personal sized calzones and pizza so far. Very quick and convenient. The only thing that didn't wow me was the spices for the dough. That's more a personal preference than an issue with the recipe so I am still giving it 5 stars. Will definitely be using this over and over. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imarunnergirl November 16, 2013

This is a really simple but great tasting wheat pizza dough. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz September 17, 2013

LOVE this recipe! I make using all whole wheat pastry flour. PERFECT, soft and so good. I've also made using white flour and made too much, let it rise for a few hours and it made perfect cinnamon rolls (of course I didn't have any spices in it).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missdanarae July 13, 2013

Apparently I'm the only one who doesn't like this recipe much. I've followed it to the letter a few times (figuring I just messed up the first time) with the exception of mixing by hand, and each time found it incredibly dry, to the point of being almost unworkable. Even with extra liquid the crust always ends up rather dry and stodgy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CI Campbell March 30, 2012

what would i say except too good thank you for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farhat2 September 03, 2011

I have made this recipe several times and each time it turns out great. I have made the crust super thin and I've also made it fairly thick. Works just fine both ways. I usually make a double or triple batch and make a bunch of crusts. I'll bake them a little longer than half way then take them out, let them cool and then freeze them for later use. From frozen, I'll build my pizza and put them in a 450 oven for approx 8-10 mins or when the cheese looks like it's properly melted.
BTW, I have never tried the recipe using honey, I just double the sugar like some of the other reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MauiBrew October 07, 2010
George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough