Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2010

      Do you wear an apron? I love men in aprons. Used for grilled pizza. See! I'm not a one-trick pony.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This was great, I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour instead. It was light and fluffy but healthy. I also prebakes mine for 8 minutes or so on a pizza stone, then removed from the stone after I topped it and cooked on the top rack for additional 9-10 minutes. very yummy! will definatly use this recipe again....my husband(who is very picky) even liked it. It had a great crunch and was not dense like most wheat doughs I've tried.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Ridiculously easy and delicious. This was my first attempt at homemade pizza dough as well and it turned out so well. I divided the risen dough into 4 balls and rolled out individual sized pizzas. I sprayed both sides with olive oil and grilled in a gas grill preheated to 500F for about a minute on each side (lid open and watch it like a hawk!) with the flame on medium-low. I then topped each pizza and grilled on medium-low until the bottom was done and cheese bubbling hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2014

      Fantastic recipe! I've made it twice now, to rave reviews from the wife, the toughest critic.<br/>Great texture , flavor, and ease of making. It is very forgiving (better be with my talent).<br/>A great confidence builder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Made this dough with wheat flour and popped into the freezer in individual slice portions. Have used it for personal sized calzones and pizza so far. Very quick and convenient. The only thing that didn't wow me was the spices for the dough. That's more a personal preference than an issue with the recipe so I am still giving it 5 stars. Will definitely be using this over and over. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      This is a really simple but great tasting wheat pizza dough. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      LOVE this recipe! I make using all whole wheat pastry flour. PERFECT, soft and so good. I've also made using white flour and made too much, let it rise for a few hours and it made perfect cinnamon rolls (of course I didn't have any spices in it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      Apparently I'm the only one who doesn't like this recipe much. I've followed it to the letter a few times (figuring I just messed up the first time) with the exception of mixing by hand, and each time found it incredibly dry, to the point of being almost unworkable. Even with extra liquid the crust always ends up rather dry and stodgy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      what would i say except too good thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times and each time it turns out great. I have made the crust super thin and I've also made it fairly thick. Works just fine both ways. I usually make a double or triple batch and make a bunch of crusts. I'll bake them a little longer than half way then take them out, let them cool and then freeze them for later use. From frozen, I'll build my pizza and put them in a 450 oven for approx 8-10 mins or when the cheese looks like it's properly melted.
      BTW, I have never tried the recipe using honey, I just double the sugar like some of the other reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

    • on May 24, 2010

      This was my first attempt at whole wheat pizza dough and it was a total success. This recipe is a keeper. The fiance said it was the best pizza I've made so far! The dough was a bit sticky, but it turned out fine. I always have to add extra flour, but I didn't with this recipe. Also, I don't have a mixer so I just used a spoon and it turned out perfectly. Thanks, George!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Awesome, awesome, awesome, with only 1 little change - I didn't have any honey. So I too just doubled the sugar. I made a double-batch of this and it was great :) Totally brought up my homemade pizza by at least two notches! :) PS I made mine with a food processor. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Love this! Excellent recipe! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      This! is! great! I have tried other whole wheat pizza crust recipes and they always seem dry or heavy. Not this one! It almost tastes like something you'd pay a lot of money for in the ready-made section at Whole Foods! I followed the recipe exactly except I was out of honey, so doubled the sugar, and used fresh thyme because I happened to have some to use up. This will be added to my regular dinner rotation - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      I mixed the dough in a bread machine on the 'dough' setting. After allowing it to rest I tossed/rolled it out to about 15" and cooked it on a pizza stone at 450 for about 16 minutes. Excellent! We haven't had frozen or pizza-store bought pizza since! Instead of garlic powder I used one clove minced garlic. I also ground up fresh oregano and thyme. To make it even healthier I used low-sodium pizza sauce, turkey pepperoni, and 2% fresh-grated mozzarella. Add mushrooms, bell peppers, and onions and called it a well-balanced meal. Awesome! Here's a tip: plain flour will burn in the oven and stick to the exterior of the dough so use corn meal instead to coat your hands and dough for rolling and handling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      This passed the "test" of my two teens, both who normally don't want to eat wheat dough! I made this in my bread machine and thought it was a good texture, but it was stretchy when I tried to take out. No problem, I just added a bit of flour and mixed it up, and it was GREAT. I realized the "stretchy" texture made the dough very workable (I remember wheat dough being resistant to shaping). I used King Arthur White Wheat Flour. I didn't know what temp to bake at, but I read online to try 500 degrees, which I did. It turned out great but next time I will try about 425-450, to allow for a longer baking time. I baked on convection 500 for about 7-8 min. for 2 med (11 inch) pizzas. I liked the spices, since it added a bit of flavor to the crust, without overwhelming. it. Thanks George, for a LOVELY dough. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This recipe is so accurate - normally I have to refine dough recipes by adding more/less flour and/or water to get the right consistency. This has the measurements down pat. The dough is very easy to work with, rolls out nice, has a great texture and taste. Super easy to make in my KA stand mixer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This is my regular crust recipe. It comes out great. I just used it to make breadfast pizza for the freezer also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      My first homemade pizza dough -- worked perfectly! I prebaked it on the top oven shelf at 450, 5 min., then topped it and continued baking on the bottom shelf for about 9 minutes (in stoneware). Next time, I won't use the oregano or thyme, but I am pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for George's Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.5
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    10%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes