275 Reviews

This is an absolutely wonderful recipe!!! So happy I found it. I did make a few changes though...

1. In order to make this dish a little healthier, I skipped frying the chicken. I just seasoned with salt and pepper and cooked in a small amount of olive oil until crispy. Once the sauce was on it, I did not miss the fried part of it and you really could not tell a difference.

2. Sauce: I added fresh ginger and orange juice instead of water. Both added another set of great flavors.

3. I briefly steamed some fresh broccoli and red peppers and added them into the sauce with the chicken.

I will definitley be making this again!

And to all the negative reviews, don't pay attention. People need to use some of their own decision making in the kitchen instead of relying on a recipe to tell them EXACTLY what to do and EXACTLY how long to do something...when the chicken is crispy and cooked, it's done! When the sauce is as thick as you'd like it, take it off the heat :)

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anderspt02 October 16, 2011

I skipped frying the chicken, and instead dusted it with cornstarch seasoned with salt and pepper, then browned it in a small amount of oil. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it tured out great!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
autpenper February 05, 2011

This was excellent! I added a little extra water to the batter (slurry), used brown sugar in place of white, added some chili paste, sesame oil and ginger to the sauce and used water in place of chicken broth. I also only used about 1/3 C of corn starch in the sauce. Overall, this is definitely worth the effort to make instead of ordering take-out! Just as good or better than I have had from any restaurant. Thank you for this recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afarrell727 February 10, 2011

wow i thought this was pretty good!! i am not a cook but i can follow directions and measure. i had no problems making this. the slurry worked fine. i'm not sure what others are complaining about. i don't own a thermometer but had no problems. my chicken was crispy. follow the directions and its good.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atcmoto January 29, 2011

I registered just to review this recipe. Turned out fantastic. The slurry was like cement at first, but I kept the faith and was rewarded with very crispy chicken. If you have a candy thermometer and don't mind micro-managing your burner heat a little bit you can fry as many pieces of chicken in the oil as you like, just be sure to turn the heat up to compensate for the amount you're frying.

One word of caution for timing at the end, if you really want your chicken to stay crispy: There's a lot of sauce per chicken (which I like anyway), so serve it up quick after you coat the chicken. Obviously, if you soak something crispy in any liquid and let it sit it won't stay crispy very long :P

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lobe3663 February 20, 2012

I love this recipe. Especially the slurry. I used to make General Tso's just flouring the chicken and frying it, but with the slurry it turned out SO much better! Nice and crispy without the sauce, and perfectly in the middle of crispy and soft with it. The sauce was amazing. A little thick, but then again, that's exactly how General Tso's is supposed to be.

The people who say "I hated it and my dinner guests hated it" I say that's more your own incompetence in the kitchen than a problem with the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MitchC1991 December 14, 2011

I made this pretty close to the way it's listed here with just a few added suggestions from the other reviewers. I added a teaspoon or so of fresh ginger and also some orange juice to the sauce. It came out SO WELL. To those of you confused by the slurry, it is supposed to be like that. Haven't you ever mixed cornstarch and water together as a kid? It's called a non-Newtonian fluid. Yes, it is difficult to get it to cover the chicken, but it is not impossible. Like others said, dump all of the chicken chunks in it at the same time and take the time to mix it up. It will work out fine.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EvilSeedlet February 01, 2012

I'm not a great cook but I regularly cook at home. It tasted as good as Tiki Ming Tao's !! Two steps to remember, the slurry (that is pretty much dry wall ciment) DROP ALL THE CHICKEN IN IT! One shot, no pieces dipping. All the pieces in it, magic happens and the slurry turns sauce-like. AND, read the damn receipe : Chicken in the sauce, not more that what heede to get hot chickenb pieces and coated with the sauce... Else, your slurry will turn like mine : not crispy, back to paste-like texture.

And for the green onion, white ones do too... big chunks !

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrmil1 March 21, 2011

LOVE THIS! I've made it more than a few times now and get great reviews every time I make it for someone new. I also use the recipe for the slurry for the chicken whenever we do other types of stirfry and I always have to make extra so my husband has some to snack on! One change is I usually add a little hot pepper sesame oil to add an extra kick to the sauce. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spicydish November 19, 2010

The first time I made this it came out amazing. The second time I made it using the store brand cornstarch and the chicken did not stay crispy at all and the batter even looked different. My kids went crazy for this both times I made it though, but personally I like when the chicken stays crispy. The sauce is excellent, but when I added brown sugar to it, it was right on the money to my favorite restaurant. Actually, everyone said it was better. It is the best General Tso's recipe I have ever tried and I like the fact that you don't need to buy any hard to find or expensive ingredients.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
outofwindjoe August 16, 2010
General Tso's Chicken