Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gel Air Fresheners Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gel Air Fresheners

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2009

      I made TONS of these 8 years ago, but have misplaced my recipe. In the recipe I used, you also add a small amount of vodka. The vodka serves 2 purposes...it intensifies the aroma of the potpourri AND keeps the gel jars from growing mold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Fun, easy and I only wish I had some pretty containers! I had to use undecorated jars which work well, but don't look all that hot. It's ok, I'll make these again; I LOVE them. I let mine gel in the garage - worked perfectly. Since, like all aromatics, the scent will eventually dissipate, I close them up if I'm either leaving the house or will otherwise not be in their vicinity. I'm hoping the cats don't mind, but if you know cats, you agree that they'll let me know if they object ... likely in one of various unpleasant ways. *lol* Thank you for posting, UC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Great gift item. I made these for teacher gifts for teacher appreciation week. Easy to make and directions were easy to follow. I used ocean breeze scent and decorated the jars with tiny seashells. The scent was really strong at first but as with any other potpourri item, the scent fades over time. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I have made many scents with this recipe. Some have a long lasting odor and some do not. The floral scents do not last as long, but the hazelnut, vanilla and pine lasted the longest. I have a small main floor bathroom and the scent is great. Maybe it is not as strong in a larger room.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      Made this as directed. Unless you had your nose over the jar you couldn't smell it. Sorry, won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Not very impressed with this. They smell great.....but only for a day or two. After that, you have to practically stick your nose in the jar to smell it, lol. Thinking that it might be the particular liquid potpourri that I bought, I went out and bought two more different brands of liquid potpourri. Still had the same short-term scent problem. THEN I placed the jar on my candle-warmer, and I finally got some scent going. I guess these liquid potpourries are better when they are heated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      These were so easy to make and I have been wanting to give the recipe a try since I seen it. I am so glad I did! I used Cotton Fresh potpourri scent and fellowed the recipe as stated. I put in the ref. to gel and now I have a jar in my bathroom. Smells wonderful! I plan on giving a few as gifts this year at christmas. Everyone will adore them I am sure!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Everyone thinks I'm a genius. Easy to make, smells wonderful. Suggestions: 1. Cover the work surface with newspaper to avoid stains. 2. Soften the gelatin powder in the cold potpourri before adding it to the hot potpourri. 3. Make in winter and cool in your garage. Great fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      I made this recipe as part of the gift for 2 of my husband's aunts. I used 16 oz French Vanilla liquid potpourri which I purchased at a dollar store for only $1.00. I added some green food coloring since the potpourri had little color. I filled two jelly canning jars, covered them with some white lace cut in a circle large enough to leave about 1 1/2 inches of gathered ruffling around the rim after tieing with some narrow corresponding ribbon which I tied into a pretty bow after knotting. I then covered with a small piece of plastic wrap and put the gold canning ring over the top as suggested. I had enough for two gifts plus a small amount that I put into a small dessert bowl covered with similar lace for one of my own bathrooms. It gives a nice gentle smell without being overwhelming. It was a big hit with the aunts. Thanks for the recipe. Very inexpensive and very, very easy to make. NOTE* It was very cold outside so I simply sat it outside until it firmed up after making it and didn't have to put it in the refrigerator with the food at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      Works great,thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gel Air Fresheners

    Serving Size: 1 (7 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    83%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    potpourri

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites