14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good and easy! It really was so simple to put together and full of flavor. While not going to fool anyone into thinking it's dairy cheese, it's simply good for what it is - a wonderful spread/dip. I also used it as the melted cheez in another recipe from that cookbook - cheez-a-roni. I posted that recipe here as receipe #450061.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook March 08, 2011

This is an amazing spread! I followed the directions as written except excluded the lemon juice as I didn't have any. I mixed this in with plain mashed potatoes to add some flavor, and even ate this warm on toast with sliced tomatoes as a grilled cheese substitute with vegetable soup. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen December 04, 2010

OMG this was truly amazing! I can't believe I didn't make it before, I had it in my to try folder for ages. The only thing I changed was to omit the onion powder, otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. So easy and yummy. We both loved it. Will make it again often. Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for Healthy Choices Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for this one Sharon! A perfect way to cure my DH's cravings without soy or nuts. After reading the80srule's review for some reason I was stuck on hummus/chickpeas and that is what I ended up using for this recipe as I just thought white beans meant beans that were white :) This still turned out great buuuut I'm thinking now that there are other white beans more suitable for this. I served these on crackers with cherry tomatoes, tomorrow its going in a burrito, and then the next day maybe nachos (thinking of adding some tomatoes & jalapenos into the spread). Very nice!! Thanks a bunch! Made for Veggie Swap 23!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious June 05, 2010

This was really yummy and easy to throw together although to me, it was more like hummus than a cheeze spread. I think it was because I omitted the red pepper/pimiento because I don't usually keep those around. Was still delicious though, I enjoyed it with some crackers and carrot sticks. Made in support of you and your hubby!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule May 23, 2010

I made this because, even though I am not vegetarian, I like bean based spreads. This will not make me forget all about cheddar cheese any time soon but it is, in its own right, a tasty dip or spread. It does evoke some of the same taste tones of cheezy spread and it is very versatile. I like it with pita chips, raw veggies and I even stirred some in to soup, which is something I used to do with cream cheese. Very tasty. I used some almond butter because I had some that needed using.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ February 22, 2010

This will be one of those things you want to have on hand all the time - good thing it makes quite a bit! I think I should have added a little more liquid like Prose did, just to fix the consistency a little. Aside from that minor detail I love pretty much everything else about it. Can't wait to have a sandwich (which isn't something I say very often!). Thanks for another great one Sharon, so glad I finally tried this one. Made for Veg*n Swap Feb10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner February 13, 2010

Okay, so this is amazing. I am not a vegan and I couldn't find the nutritional yeast flakes, but I read you can substitute Parmesan cheese for the yeast flakes. I did this and thinned out the spread a little with some olive oil to make it more into a dip than a spread. It only took a tablespoon of olive oil. I used red peppers for my version. I think this is just about the best dip I have had for a long time. It goes great with veggies, bread, as a spread on steaks (just kidding vegans/vegetarians). Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk December 13, 2009

Love it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Adams September 28, 2009

I am so glad I finally made this. . .it has been on my to-do list for a while now. So easy to throw together too! I really enjoyed it with Special K Italian Tomato & Herb crackers. We both felt it was better on day two, as the flavors truly had time to blend. I didn't photograph it, as I love Proses pic!!! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride September 23, 2009
Gee Whiz Spread