Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gee Whiz Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gee Whiz Spread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2011

      Good and easy! It really was so simple to put together and full of flavor. While not going to fool anyone into thinking it's dairy cheese, it's simply good for what it is - a wonderful spread/dip. I also used it as the melted cheez in another recipe from that cookbook - cheez-a-roni. I posted that recipe here as receipe #450061.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This is an amazing spread! I followed the directions as written except excluded the lemon juice as I didn't have any. I mixed this in with plain mashed potatoes to add some flavor, and even ate this warm on toast with sliced tomatoes as a grilled cheese substitute with vegetable soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      OMG this was truly amazing! I can't believe I didn't make it before, I had it in my to try folder for ages. The only thing I changed was to omit the onion powder, otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. So easy and yummy. We both loved it. Will make it again often. Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for Healthy Choices Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Thank you so much for this one Sharon! A perfect way to cure my DH's cravings without soy or nuts. After reading the80srule's review for some reason I was stuck on hummus/chickpeas and that is what I ended up using for this recipe as I just thought white beans meant beans that were white :) This still turned out great buuuut I'm thinking now that there are other white beans more suitable for this. I served these on crackers with cherry tomatoes, tomorrow its going in a burrito, and then the next day maybe nachos (thinking of adding some tomatoes & jalapenos into the spread). Very nice!! Thanks a bunch! Made for Veggie Swap 23!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      This was really yummy and easy to throw together although to me, it was more like hummus than a cheeze spread. I think it was because I omitted the red pepper/pimiento because I don't usually keep those around. Was still delicious though, I enjoyed it with some crackers and carrot sticks. Made in support of you and your hubby!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I made this because, even though I am not vegetarian, I like bean based spreads. This will not make me forget all about cheddar cheese any time soon but it is, in its own right, a tasty dip or spread. It does evoke some of the same taste tones of cheezy spread and it is very versatile. I like it with pita chips, raw veggies and I even stirred some in to soup, which is something I used to do with cream cheese. Very tasty. I used some almond butter because I had some that needed using.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This will be one of those things you want to have on hand all the time - good thing it makes quite a bit! I think I should have added a little more liquid like Prose did, just to fix the consistency a little. Aside from that minor detail I love pretty much everything else about it. Can't wait to have a sandwich (which isn't something I say very often!). Thanks for another great one Sharon, so glad I finally tried this one. Made for Veg*n Swap Feb10.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Okay, so this is amazing. I am not a vegan and I couldn't find the nutritional yeast flakes, but I read you can substitute Parmesan cheese for the yeast flakes. I did this and thinned out the spread a little with some olive oil to make it more into a dip than a spread. It only took a tablespoon of olive oil. I used red peppers for my version. I think this is just about the best dip I have had for a long time. It goes great with veggies, bread, as a spread on steaks (just kidding vegans/vegetarians). Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      Love it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      I am so glad I finally made this. . .it has been on my to-do list for a while now. So easy to throw together too! I really enjoyed it with Special K Italian Tomato & Herb crackers. We both felt it was better on day two, as the flavors truly had time to blend. I didn't photograph it, as I love Proses pic!!! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Fantastic, healthy, concentrated nutrition! What more could you ask for? I am always on the hunt for nutritionally dense food to feed my 3 and 1 year old. Cheesy flavor, which is strange for a something with no cheese, but really good! I only had 2 oz. of pimentos, expensive little buggers, so I also added the 3/4 tsp. of paprika. I ended up adding about 2 TBSP of the light miso as well. Thanks for the recipe!! This will be a staple in our fridge from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Awesome! This might be my new favorite vegan cheese! It is absolutely delectable while also lower in fat and cheaper to make than some of the other ones I've been making. I made as directed, using the roasted red pepper and tahini options. I added about 1/4-1/2 cup of water to get my blender going. Next time (and there WILL be many next times), I will omit the salt. I don't think it is needed. Thank you for posting this lovely recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      We all love this. Vegan, Vegetarians and Omnis. It goes with everything. We've spread it on sandwiches and crackers, dipped veggies and pretzels and I even put it on pizza. This is a winner and is becoming a staple at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I made this a week ago whilst staying with my parents in England - they are both vegetarians, and this bean spread was VERY much enjoyed with mum's home baked bread! I could not get hold of the yeast flakes, so I used a little Marmite for the yeasty taste! Everything else was as posted and the flavours of this bean spread was out of this world! Mum asked for the recipe, as she often finds veggie sandwich fillings a bit boring, and she has made it twice since I left! A winner of a recipe Sharon - I am sorry I am late with the review, my internet time was limited whilst in the UK! made for Newest Tag Game and photos to follow when I get them off my camera! FT:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gee Whiz Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (747 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.6
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    18%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1091.8 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    71%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites