20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe and VERY close to the real thing. I added a 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 cup water and simmered it on the stove for 5 minutes and it is almost perfect in my opinion. Thanks very much for sharing this recipe! I have wanted it for years!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rawcalls June 29, 2011

I love this recipe and saw Mr. Gates on Martha Stewart's show making this. I did add water to my recipe because I felt it was too thick. I think he did this as well on the show. I love this website, it is so accurate unike other websites. For example, if you ask for the highest rated recipe for barbecue sauce, you get just that. Not everything that was cooked with barbecue sauce. Foodchannel is the worst. Thanks recipezaar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daffy983 June 07, 2010

This is a fabulous recipe that tastes very close to Gates & Sons. Nice spice, but not too much for most people. Right after mixing my taste testers thought it was too ketchupy. It's better the next day as the flavors meld. I used a KC Rib Rub that I found on About.com, marinated the ribs 24 hours, then baked them for an hour at 350 degrees. Finish them on the grill with this sauce. I received rave reviews, even from those who consider themselves rib connoisseurs! Makes a lot, but you'll use a lot, too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danine April 30, 2009

This is damn good! Added a touch more celery seed and a touch of clover honey (along with a bit of H20 and black pepper) . I may win a couple competitions with this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joelarry1961 May 07, 2013

YUM!!! I am grilling out ribs today and didn't feeling like heating up the house with my standby recipe that calls for simmering. I was skeptical but pleasantly surprised by the thickness and depth of flavor!! I used regular vinegar because I was out of apple cider and it seems just fine!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan July 10, 2010

this sauce was fantastic!! need i say more?! we made a half batch, and served warm. it was so easy to put together and tastes better after a day or two in the fridge! thanks so much for posting, this is my new go-to sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD May 23, 2010

I found this recipe at the beginning of the summer and am just getting around to giving it a review. This is fantastic and soooo easy. I've never heard of Gates & Sons, but I will always use this BB Sauce anyway. Why buy it when I can make this. Tonight I am going to try and mix this with some honey, crushed garlic, and Frank's Red Hot to dip chicken fingers in! I can't wait. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Crooks August 26, 2009

Made this a few weeks ago for some pulled pork, very good. Didn't taste exactly like Gates to me, but can't quite put my finger on what was missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! December 27, 2008

Awesome recipe! My husband absolutely LOVES Gate's BBQ sauce and he's very picky. We can't always buy it, so I was very happy to find this recipe. I didn't have access to liquid smoke or celery seeds, but it was still so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abaldee December 04, 2008
Gates & Son's KC BBQ Sauce