Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gates & Son's KC BBQ Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gates & Son's KC BBQ Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2011

      Excellent recipe and VERY close to the real thing. I added a 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 cup water and simmered it on the stove for 5 minutes and it is almost perfect in my opinion. Thanks very much for sharing this recipe! I have wanted it for years!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I love this recipe and saw Mr. Gates on Martha Stewart's show making this. I did add water to my recipe because I felt it was too thick. I think he did this as well on the show. I love this website, it is so accurate unike other websites. For example, if you ask for the highest rated recipe for barbecue sauce, you get just that. Not everything that was cooked with barbecue sauce. Foodchannel is the worst. Thanks recipezaar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This is a fabulous recipe that tastes very close to Gates & Sons. Nice spice, but not too much for most people. Right after mixing my taste testers thought it was too ketchupy. It's better the next day as the flavors meld. I used a KC Rib Rub that I found on About.com, marinated the ribs 24 hours, then baked them for an hour at 350 degrees. Finish them on the grill with this sauce. I received rave reviews, even from those who consider themselves rib connoisseurs! Makes a lot, but you'll use a lot, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      This is damn good! Added a touch more celery seed and a touch of clover honey (along with a bit of H20 and black pepper) . I may win a couple competitions with this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      YUM!!! I am grilling out ribs today and didn't feeling like heating up the house with my standby recipe that calls for simmering. I was skeptical but pleasantly surprised by the thickness and depth of flavor!! I used regular vinegar because I was out of apple cider and it seems just fine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      this sauce was fantastic!! need i say more?! we made a half batch, and served warm. it was so easy to put together and tastes better after a day or two in the fridge! thanks so much for posting, this is my new go-to sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I found this recipe at the beginning of the summer and am just getting around to giving it a review. This is fantastic and soooo easy. I've never heard of Gates & Sons, but I will always use this BB Sauce anyway. Why buy it when I can make this. Tonight I am going to try and mix this with some honey, crushed garlic, and Frank's Red Hot to dip chicken fingers in! I can't wait. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

    • on December 27, 2008

      Made this a few weeks ago for some pulled pork, very good. Didn't taste exactly like Gates to me, but can't quite put my finger on what was missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Awesome recipe! My husband absolutely LOVES Gate's BBQ sauce and he's very picky. We can't always buy it, so I was very happy to find this recipe. I didn't have access to liquid smoke or celery seeds, but it was still so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I suggest cutting the salt in half and then adding to taste. The amount called for in the recipe makes it a bit too salty. Otherwise, it's a great BBQ sauce that won't disappoint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Total winner! I've never made BBQ sauce before, and the recipes on RecipeZaar varied a lot. I chose this recipe because it was easy, and I had all the ingredients on-hand. I'll keep making it because it is darn good! I made half the recipe, which made a lot and used some of it for pulled pork (pork shoulder cooked in the crock pot with about a cup of ginger ale, shredded with the juices drained, then put back in the crock pot with some of this BBQ sauce for about an hour) YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Awesome! This tastes like the real thing....only better. Every time I serve it with something off the smoker people ask for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I have never been to Kansas City but I would buy this sauce if I ever get there. It was very good. I liked that it wasn't so sweet as most are. I will be using this one a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      I have visited KC for business on many occasions over the past 20 years and appreciate this recipe deeply. There is so much good 'cue in KCMO but you picked one of the best. Of course, this recipe can be used as a guide (someone tried to sound profound in an earlier review about this being the hot and spicey recipe only). But are you not chef enough to make the "original" (less heat ~ more water and sour orange juice - not lemon) and "sweet and sassy" (more sweet and some heat ~ with water, brown sugar, honey and more ground celery seeds) from this simple formula? Kudos for Mysterygirl and I love your rub and bean recipe as well. Someone has no experience in cooking and wants to "check it later" and give four stars as self-identifying as only "hot and spicey" - is truly lost. Great recipe for anyone who truly love KC barbecue and has a brain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I am a KC girl living in California. Every time I go home I make sure to take a bottle of Gates back to Cali with me. So glad I found this recipe. I made it this weekend and also made the rub for ribs, which turned out great. The sauce turned out amazing! I used a little less sugar and a little more spice in mine (that's the way I like my bbq sauce) and am thrilled that it filled 3 bottles! No need to ask Mom and Dad to mail me my beloved Gates anymore. Thanks so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      This was awesome. I used it and the rub to make the ribs and would definatly use this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      Easy to make. A little more sugary than real Gates. I eliminated the sugar and doubled the Cayenne. It turned out less sweet and hotter than Gates extra hot. Still tastes pretty close. I was in KC recently and brought back a bottle of extra hot Gates. I will be comparing. Now if someone can just find Bryant's. I am in Oregon and they know nothing about BBQ. From KC, I have never had better BBQ than Gates and Bryants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      Yummy, but wow is that a lot of ketchup, had to go buy more TWICE because I cant read labels! I used a bit and froze it in 1/2 cup portions. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gates & Son's KC BBQ Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2747 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 984.7
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    57%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16631.6 mg
    692%
    Total Carbohydrate 240.8 g
    80%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 213.7 g
    855%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites