18 Reviews

This was a great basic rice recipe! It came together quickly and easily and was super tasty! The turmeric, garlic and (spring) onions made for a lovely flavour combination.
I used a mix of wild rice, rice, barley, oat kernels and buckwheat instead of just plain rice and that worked out really well.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, lazyme. Made and reviewed for WTTM December 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 20, 2010

VERY good! I served this with Bulgogi I used chicken broth instead of water and sauteed the Turmeric along with the onions. I do that with curry powder, cumin and paprika as well. It makes a big difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) October 01, 2009

For us the rice was bland besides tasting the onions and garlic. So next time I will use chicken stock instead. The color was great. Thanks Lazyme :) Made for PAC Fall 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 12, 2012

This rice was garlicky indeed! It went well with our grilled chicken. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 13, 2012

Great easy recipe. I think my turmeric is old because there was a slightly gritty flavor, but that's my fault. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 30, 2012

I needed a yellow rice recipe for Pulled Pork Burritos and this worked out perfectly. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama February 06, 2012

Made this pretty much as indicated in the recipe but did substitute lemon pepper for the S&P! I was after the colors when I served this rice dish along side a very tomato salad, & dish of steamed green beans & some breaded chicken breasts that were nicely bake to a dark brown! Loved it! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged made & reviewed in I Recommend tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 28, 2009

This good and garlicky. I will make again, this time I will add a bit more salt, which I don't need.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u May 11, 2009

I made this to serve with Aloha Wings. This rice is very yellow & so pretty on the plate. It could be served with many different types of cuisines & I know I will be using the recipe again. I will up the salt for our families preferences. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D April 28, 2009
Garlicky Yellow Rice