22 Reviews

Great base recipe! I also added thinly sliced onion, a bit of cayenne pepper for a kick, a bit of regular pepper, and then mixed in some freshly grated parmesan cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misty G June 14, 2011

made this past night and it was amasing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seabeewife401 March 03, 2011

Ratings varied from 3-5 in our house. So I went right in the middle ans gave it 4 stars. Personally, I felt the EVO needs to be cut way back. I sprinkled mine with some fresh grated parm. because I thought it needed somethng a little more. Next time I may try the red wine others suggested. Portabellas and garlic, you can't go wrong with them in our house. Can't wait to play around with this some more. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom June 02, 2010

I'm a vegetarian, and this made a very tasty meal served over whole wheat pasta. I'm only giving it 4 stars because I modified it a bit. I used much less oil (4 tsps instead of TBSPs) and added some red wine (as suggested by others).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdankanich March 15, 2010

These were really tasty tidbits! Since portabellas are such a "meaty" mushroom, I served this over rice I cooked in stock & spices for a meat-free meal. I threw in a "splash" of white wine and a pat of butter. Minimal effort-Maximum taste! Made for Everyday Holiday Tag-Jan'10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? January 03, 2010

I've made this several times now and it is FANTASTIC!! I could eat this all day. I've made it exactly according to the recipe, and I've also tried it with a splash of red wine as one of the other reviewers suggested. That was great too and I think I'll keep doing that in the future. I usually serve this as a side dish with steak and Lemon & Garlic Spinach (Lemon & Garlic Spinach), but next time I may add enough red wine to make a sauce and use it as an entree over brown rice with the same spinach on the side. Thanks for such an easy and great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkasz94 July 22, 2009

Great, fast, and easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlaaGar February 03, 2009

These were fantastic and ready in minutes. I halved the recipe (only had 2 mushrooms) and served, garlic slices and all, on top of a greek salad. I think the red wine vinegar suggestions below would be delicious if you are making this as a side dish (not toppers to something, like me). I think this would also be good on toasts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain December 21, 2008

my bf & i loved these mushrooms!! the flavor was fantastic yet simplistic. i served with a small steak & got so over full but didnt realize until it was too late...now i understand how these mushrooms can be used interchangably with meat, they are very filling! next time i'll leave out the steak & just have the mushrooms (& coming from a carnivorous person like myself, thats sayin something!) made for the asian forum's magic mushrooms tag game (september 2008)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler September 25, 2008

If you like mushroom and like garlic you will LOVE this dish. I cut it back to 2 serves and had it for lunch on a thick slice of wholegrain toasted and a small green salad on the side. Thank you Sharon123 for a super mushroom recipe, made for Magic Mushroom Tag Game - September 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 17, 2008
Garlicky Portabella Mushrooms