Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlicky Mussels in a Rich Lemon, Fresh Herb, Butter Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlicky Mussels in a Rich Lemon, Fresh Herb, Butter Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2006

      This is wonderful! I had all these wonderful herbs in my garden! We served it as an appetizer, with crusty bread, for Father's day. It was a big hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I was gifted with some fresh NZ mussels that had just been brought off of the plane...what to do?! Well, this made it so easy, and even though I worked with dried herbs (and missed one or two), this still turned out fantastic and light when thrown atop some fetuccine. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was really great! Unfortunately I didn't have the fresh herbs on hand so I had to make do with dried ones but it still tasted phenomenal. I'll have to try it again with the proper ingredients sometime. Definitely will be making mussels this way again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Prepared as directed, but personally did not care for the blend of herbs in this sauce. Not sure if it was too many competing flavors, or if one herb in particular didn't go, but something in the sauce tasted out of place. This was, however, very quick and easy to prepare, and I will likely try again with a different herb combination.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I think this one deserves 10 stars! Let me preface my review by stating I don't like mussels. Or at least I thought I didn't. I went to the fish man to get halibut and they were having an amazing sale on fresh mussels. I hadn't tried them in eons and he talked me into buying them. I was skeptical (as was my husband) because we'd had rubbery fishy mussles in the past and have steered away from them. Let me tell you...these mussels were CRAZY good! I served them over pasta...not sure if it really made enough sauce to adequately coat all the pasta...but no matter. I couldn't stop eating the mussels! We actually had some leftover mussels and I re-heated them in the microwave today and they were STILL excellent!!! I am now a mussel convert and will make this one again and again! I increased the onion and increased the garlic but kept to the recipe other than that. Perfection!!! I'll be posting pics shortly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Absolutely excellent. Substituted beer for wine as that's how they serve them up at one of my favorite restaurants. Fast and easy recipe served up with a crusty whole wheat demi-loaf. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Wonderful! Added some Portuguese sausage into the pot to saute with the onions and 1/2 cup of bottled clam juice. Served with some crusty bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      mmmm good!! I didn't have the chili pepper, but otherwise made as directed. This was supposed to be an appetizer for a new years eve dinner. I couldn't stop, it was so good it ended up being dinner, complete with some fresh sourdough bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      These are AWESOME!!! I made them as an appetizer for Christmas dinner and everyone gobbled them up. I will definitely be using this recipe again. From one Rita to another...THANKS!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      We really should be able to rate a recipe with 10 stars...there are moments like these...when 5 stars barely does the recipe justice! Thank you Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      This recipe is fantastic! The mussels came out better than any I've had in Belgium (and that's saying a LOT. I was just there a few weeks ago.)<br/><br/>I made a few substitutions: dried herbs instead of fresh (omitting the tarragon as I didn't have any), shallots in place of the regular onion, and French garlic/parsley compound butter at the end.<br/><br/>I wanted to drink the sauce with a straw, it was so good!! But I used a crusty baguette instead, lol. We'll be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      Wonderful! I adore Mussels and this was a delightful dish, very flavorful and be sure to have fresh crusty bread with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      This is just after my fancy. Easy-peasy to make, but 'oooh' so delicious. I love mussels and this recipe brings them together with a richful flavored sauce. The fresh herbs make this dish a tasting experience. I followed the recipe as described, but after cooking the mussels I removed the pot from the heat and added the butter directly. I found this easier to do and it works well. The mussels were fantastic with well melted flavors of herbs, garlic, lemon and with that tempting buttery touch. Serve it with bread to dip in the delicate sauce. Thanks Rita for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2004

      Recipe good buta little complex for result achived relative to simple also very good method of just wine,garlic and butterrequiring minimal fuss and prep time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      Rita, Rita, Rita ! Did you know that mussels are one of the national dishes of Belgium ? My Belgian husband has been eating them for at least 35 years and according to him, these are THE BEST HE HAS EVER EATEN !!! I can only agree; they are a garlic lovers dream. I suspect I may be making these weekly during the mussel season . . . Thanks for posting !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlicky Mussels in a Rich Lemon, Fresh Herb, Butter Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.0
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    44%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 102.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 880.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites