15 Reviews

This is wonderful! I had all these wonderful herbs in my garden! We served it as an appetizer, with crusty bread, for Father's day. It was a big hit! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 18, 2006

I was gifted with some fresh NZ mussels that had just been brought off of the plane...what to do?! Well, this made it so easy, and even though I worked with dried herbs (and missed one or two), this still turned out fantastic and light when thrown atop some fetuccine. Thanks Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pikake21 April 10, 2009

This was really great! Unfortunately I didn't have the fresh herbs on hand so I had to make do with dried ones but it still tasted phenomenal. I'll have to try it again with the proper ingredients sometime. Definitely will be making mussels this way again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radka December 13, 2008

Prepared as directed, but personally did not care for the blend of herbs in this sauce. Not sure if it was too many competing flavors, or if one herb in particular didn't go, but something in the sauce tasted out of place. This was, however, very quick and easy to prepare, and I will likely try again with a different herb combination.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klr2116 September 23, 2008

I think this one deserves 10 stars! Let me preface my review by stating I don't like mussels. Or at least I thought I didn't. I went to the fish man to get halibut and they were having an amazing sale on fresh mussels. I hadn't tried them in eons and he talked me into buying them. I was skeptical (as was my husband) because we'd had rubbery fishy mussles in the past and have steered away from them. Let me tell you...these mussels were CRAZY good! I served them over pasta...not sure if it really made enough sauce to adequately coat all the pasta...but no matter. I couldn't stop eating the mussels! We actually had some leftover mussels and I re-heated them in the microwave today and they were STILL excellent!!! I am now a mussel convert and will make this one again and again! I increased the onion and increased the garlic but kept to the recipe other than that. Perfection!!! I'll be posting pics shortly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl August 23, 2008

Absolutely excellent. Substituted beer for wine as that's how they serve them up at one of my favorite restaurants. Fast and easy recipe served up with a crusty whole wheat demi-loaf. Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 19, 2008

Wonderful! Added some Portuguese sausage into the pot to saute with the onions and 1/2 cup of bottled clam juice. Served with some crusty bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 03, 2007

mmmm good!! I didn't have the chili pepper, but otherwise made as directed. This was supposed to be an appetizer for a new years eve dinner. I couldn't stop, it was so good it ended up being dinner, complete with some fresh sourdough bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StreetChef December 31, 2006

These are AWESOME!!! I made them as an appetizer for Christmas dinner and everyone gobbled them up. I will definitely be using this recipe again. From one Rita to another...THANKS!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crescendogal December 28, 2006

We really should be able to rate a recipe with 10 stars...there are moments like these...when 5 stars barely does the recipe justice! Thank you Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP June 25, 2006
Garlicky Mussels in a Rich Lemon, Fresh Herb, Butter Sauce