11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We always eat brown rice (a bit boring), so I was looking for a recipe to jazz it up for a change. This was delicious! I used brown basmati and halved the rice to 1c, still used about five cloves of garlic, and threw in some red pepper to cook with the rice. I cook brown rice with 2 (scant) cups fluid to 1 cup rice, which always results in perfectly cooked rice. This recipe, as written, calls for too much fluid. If you're having trouble with wet rice, decrease the fluid (water/broth) to just under 2 cups for each cup of rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chris lepore November 09, 2011

I picked up a bag of brown rice a few weeks ago since I was feeling guily that I never cook brown rice - so this recipe came along and I had to try it as my first attempt at brown rice. I have cooked all kinds of other rice but never brown. I really liked the garlic flavour (doubled the garlic based on other reviews) and I liked the deeper flavour from the brown rice. I like white rice better but this recipe gets a 5 star for being much more healthy than white rice and 4.5 star for flavour (no fault of the recipe, I just need to learn to appreciate brown rice more)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 29, 2010

Simple and a nice change from our usual plain brown rice. I use a long grain brown rice, so I just used the amount of water I usually would 1:2. It did leave a little extra water in the pot, so next time I'll put in a little less, but I was able to cook that off quickly with the lid off and the rice was perfect. I've made this twice and have used a minimum of 6 cloves of fresh garlic (I grate mine, easier) and veggie stock. Delish and nice outcome for a few simple steps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner November 22, 2008

I made this in my rice cooker. I had to triple the amount of liquid in order for it to cook correctly, but all went well. Added the green onions to the rice cooker for extra flavor. I made a huge batch & used it all week long for quick weeknight meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zannah17 September 20, 2008

I used veggie broth with this, and a little more garlic. I used a specialty type of brown rice so I varied the time to the time on the package. This was a good texture and had decent flavor. That said, I really couldn't taste the garlic. Next time I'd add a bunch, but I did enjoy it. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit February 10, 2008

We made this recipe as recommened with a few changes. I used organic low sodium vegetable broth (4 cups) instead of chicken broth. I upped the garlic as recommended by others and ended up using a whole head of garlic (~10 cloves). I didn't have any green onions. We enjoyed this recipe, this was our first time cooking brown rice so for a first try I say not bad. My husband said he still didn't really notice a strong garlic taste! My husband really enjoyed this and it was very simple to make. Perhaps I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah&Hannan December 09, 2007

What a wonderful way to dress up regular brown rice! We really enjoyed this, it tastes just like a side dish that you would get at a great restaurant. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 17, 2007

I halved this recipe except I did make it with 6 garlic cloves. It is a great side dish but will trying adding chicken and other items to make it a main dish. The main recipe had good flavoring but for personal taste I also added seasoned salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family March 19, 2007

Brown rice takes some getting used to but this is healthy and not yucky! Make sure and use a low fat, low sodium chicken or vegetable broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick March 18, 2007

This is a great and healthy side dish. I halved the recipe and it came out perfect. I would add more garlic next time, but that is the only thing I would change. Thanks Karen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 07, 2007
Garlicky Brown Rice