10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been trying to figure out for months how to get more garlic into my diet. Then this morning it just hit me- garlic tea! Of course, I googled it and found this recipe. I made it immediately and was shocked at how quick, easy and tasty this is! I followed the recipe except that I used lime instead of lemon (only because that's what I had available). I plan to keep this handy throughout the winter!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emily0116 November 04, 2014

Have tried garlic tea before but refused to add the lemon & honey because it sounded just too gross. Threw it in there this time but added a teaspoon of beef bouillon to my mug before pouring the tea in to mask the flavor. ;) (usually use chicken but I was out) I expected it to taste truly heinous but it's delicious!!!<br/>I don't know if it's the ingredients that really help or the fact that I'm consuming 3x the liquids a day than I usually do, but it makes me feel better. <br/>I'd suggest that if you drink this on a regular basis you'll reduce the number of colds you get in the first place because people won't want to get near you! :) <br/>In any case, it's good & seems to help.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bvisailor November 20, 2013

In general I found this to be a good home remedy. I used about half the amount of lemon called for (it's for a sore throat; I wanted to keep the acidity down and assumed I could add more later if necessary) and it was still plenty lemony. I think I'll keep the lemon down in the future.
A second alteration I discovered was adding just a pinch of cinnamon to the mix. I like the flavor of it (as well as cinnamon also being good for antiviral and anti-fungal home treatment) plus there's the added benefit of making kids think it's super yummy. Of course cinnamon can make anything worth eating to a kid!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ledissen September 05, 2012

This stuff is amazing! Great for an immunity boost, and I actually think it tastes good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dollheather1 May 08, 2011

I really felt like I was getting better while drinking my first 1/2 cup and the taste is not too bad. I don't have enough honey to make more but I will use this recipe again for sure because it seems to help. Recommend everyone to use local organic honey to your area. Good for your health/helps with allergies. Made for Comfort Cafe - Snow Queens Round 01/10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 04, 2010

Looks like I totally forgot to review this recipe, which I made the last week in May when my head was getting pretty stuffed up, so here it is now! Can't positively say if this worked, but what I CAN say is that my symptoms were gone in less than a day, & I was feeling much better! This is definitely something I'll keep on hand & try again when my head & nose tell me it's time! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed a little late for Healthy Choices ABC cooking game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 08, 2008

DD has been sick all week with a nasty chest cold and we've been trying alot of zaar home remedies. She liked this one the best and it seems to help.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay February 22, 2008

Excellent! I woke up feeling a little stuffy, so I thought I'd give this a try. By the afternoon I was completely clear. I'll definitely keep this recipe around for cold season! Thanks Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz November 11, 2007

I never thought of garlic being part of tea. Like the idea, will definitely try it. ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpjm_gal3 June 21, 2006

Please understand, I'm not rating this on the taste! ;) It really does seem to have helped knock out a rather nasty cold, though. I feel much, much better than I did yesterday, when I finally tried it. Thanks for posting this! I'm sure it'll come in handy during colf and flu season!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoKittenGo October 02, 2005
Garlic Tea