25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was outta site..very quick and easy. I served mine over rice also. I couldn't find any green chili pepper flakes, so I threw in some red pepper flakes..(not too many)..but it was a great recipe. I'll definitely put this on my "make again" list. Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee Fischer April 09, 2004

This was wonderful. I served ours over boiled potatoes (just like dad used to do). I also added a bit of basil (again, like dad used to do). It was delicious and the meat as so tender. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamma Lamma May 10, 2004

Mmmmmmmmmm very good!! Just one complaint from DH, he thought it was too hot, tinlgly lips, I may have been too generous with the pepper flakes, will use less next time, I added some carrots and celery, other than that followed the instructions exactly and it was great. I should say though that mine was done in one hour, steak was sooo tender, could cut with a fork. One we will be making again and again, comfort food!! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 19, 2004

Very tasty and not too much trouble to make. I did sprinkle some Tony Chachere's Brown Gravy and Roux mix into the finished sauce, mixed it up well, and put it back into the oven to cook for a few more minutes and thicken. That really 'made' the dish for me. Will add to my menu to make more often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khandi Howard April 16, 2004

Very flavorful and HOT! I did substitute 3/4 tablespoon red pepper flakes for the green chilli pepper flakes so maybe that's why it was extra hot. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly and was very pleased with the results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 03, 2004

Thank you!!! My son (who very much dislikes round steak) ate two servings of this. My daughter wouldn't touch it, but she is extremely picky. I didn't add as much garlic, because husband & kids don't like it as much as I do. Will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~kdp April 03, 2004

Finally got around to trying this. It actually did 3 meals. The original as a steak dinner, cold sandwiches, and heated up left overs (the sauce is terrific) on rice!! Like # 7 says "simple" but it should have added "good". Thanks Mirj

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo November 30, 2003

This was a good recipe for my mother's birthday dinner (I generally like spicier food, but this was one we could agree on). Really good over mashed potatoes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne June 06, 2010

Wonderful recipe!!! I did use cube steak instead of round steak and it was melt in your mouth good. My family really enjoyed this. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 May 20, 2010
Garlic Swiss Steak