Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Steamed Clams Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Steamed Clams

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2004

      The recipe was very easy to make.It was very quick to make. The only thing I changed was that I didn't have parsley so I used chives instead. Note this, either chives are bitter or the red wine that I used was. I can't figure which was. Anyway this is a good and easy recipe and it satisfied my atkin's dieting fiance. Thanks, Leo

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      First time doing steamed clams..so easy and delicious! Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Very good and easy to do. I didn't have parsley on hand so I just left it out and didn't miss it. I used white wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Made this For my mothers birthday party.She loves clams,I made some last year and they did not come out very well,they were good but nothing special.I found this recipe and WOW thats some good eating.Everyone remarked on how good they tasted and I froze the sauce to make a soup with later.Great recipe.Thanks,it will be Moms birthday clam recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I can't believe that I forgot to review this. I have made this many times for steamers and love the results. I do add some thyme to the water & wine mixture and that just adds more taste to the broth mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I think if anyone but me had been doing this it would have been fabulous, so I'm giving you 5 stars, but my experience would have rated less than 1 star, because I think I really messed everything up. This was my first time to ever try to steam clams. I bought 70 dollars (32 -that's all they had - clams) worth of Cherrystone Clams. When I was cleaning them, I thought to myself, hmmmm, these are pretty big, maybe this recipe is for smaller clams. So I adjusted the wine and water to 1/2 cup each. (I used a Sauvignon Blanc) It was very difficult for me to shake the pot around to redistribute the clams, and the lid came off like 4 times. After all, I had twelve pounds of clams and a hot pot to shake! When I peaked after 6 min, I couldn't see any clams open, so I went for 4 more min. When I peaked then, I saw some just barely open, so I went for another 4 min or so. When I looked at them then, I saw some on the bottom open very wide. About half of them that were in the bottom of my pot opened, and the other half did not. They were terribly rubbery and goey in the middle. And of course, my sauce wasn't what it should have been either. I try so hard to make good things for my DH,,,, God bless him, and I'll sure keep trying! If I had any advice for those of us who know who we are trying recipes.... email and ask specifics if you have any questions from the get go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was my first attempt at steamed clams. They were simple to make to very tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      What a knockout! I used white wine and flat leaf parsley from the garden. The clams were perfect and the remaining steaming-liquid is going to be a magnificent base for chowder. In fact, I think that this is the new way I will make chowder--steam lots of clams, eat some right off, put the rest aside for chowder and use the liquor for the base. Many thanks, Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Bergy, this recipe was stupendous. I picked up 2 dozen hard shelled clams because I figured that the kids would only eat a few. I was really wrong. My son ate a dozen by himself and my daughter ate about 8 (and she barely weighs 40 pounds on a good day). What a keeper! The flavors were completely incredible and that garlicky broth was great. Next time I'm doubling your recipe so I can have more than just a tiny taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Steamed Clams

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.8
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    39%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 29.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 52.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites