24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent steak! I used rib steak but followed the recipe otherwise. Thanks for posting! made for Culinary Quest 2014

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned September 05, 2014

We don't eat red meat that often and when we do it usually isn't steak however; this recipe might just change that. I used beef tenderloin medallions for the steak and shitaki mushrooms to top them off with. A wonderful steak house style steak that everyone in the family loved. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 18, 2011

Made this tonight with a modification and LOVED it! My favorite part was the crusty garlic on the steak after cooking, YUM. I modified it by adding beef broth and red wine and reducing with the mushrooms (was in the mood for a wine sauce). We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 September 17, 2010

This was so good! I used top round london broil instead of sirloin. I also cut the oil to 1.5 tablespoons (I think you could cut it even more) and I also skipped the butter, but I cooked the mushrooms with the steak. I also didn't have any steak seasoning, so I used pinches of ginger, turmeric, white, black and red pepper instead. I will make this again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qwerty3020 May 29, 2010

Fabulous, Fantastic, Freaking amazing steak!!!!! This was one of the best steaks I have ever tasted. I used rib eye and cooked it for 3 minutes on the first side and 4 on the other because I am a blue rare girl! I cut the garlic in half because I am working closely with people tomorrow! I will absolutely, no doubt in my mind be making steak this way again. Made for PRMR tag. Thanks diner524! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 29, 2010

Honestly one of the best steaks I've ever made. The flavor of all the garlic is not overwhelming at all like I thought it might be and the olive oil just helps tenderize the steaks. I used a Chuck Eye steak and instead of using the pan I grilled the steaks and then used the extra bit of coating I had and some butter to saute the mushrooms (which were to die for delicious!!). Thanks for sharing such a keeper. I tagged this based on lazyme's reviews for the I Recommend tag game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom March 27, 2010

This a truly excellent steak recipe! I've only cooked one other steak inside (not on the grill), and this was wonderful. I did choose to use a filet instead of sirloin, and it was wonderfully flavored and tender. I left my baby portabellos whole, unless they were large, because I didn't see anywhere in the recipe that I needed to slice them. They were perfect, just the way I made them. Thanks for posting a really great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 21, 2009

Excellent. Used New York Strips. I saute'd the mushrooms first then kept them warm before I cooked the steaks. Turned out great. Thanks diner. Made for Holiday Tag :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 10, 2009

This is the best recipe for steak I have ever had! Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Rachele May 26, 2009

Fabulous! I was a bit skeptical about cooking sirloins in a pan since I'm a grill-type kind of girl, but after reading all these wonderful reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. Sure glad I did! These steaks were delectable enough to serve guests and didn't take long either. The only changes I made were using Kansas City Style steak seasoning (all I had) and cut down the butter to 2 tablespoons. I also had only white button mushrooms. We will enjoy this many times, Diner! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick April 26, 2009
Garlic Steak With Mushrooms