18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These steaks are so good! I have been craving a nice steak dinner and this one was perfect. The garlic oil added just enough garlic flavor and did not overwhelm and the sour cream sauce was fantastic. Cant wait to have the other two steaks with the leftover sauce! Made and reviewed for FAmily Picks during ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 31, 2012

Tasty, not spectacular. The garlic oil surely helped keep the steak moist but not much garlic flavored transferred itself. I used my own horseradish sauce recipe that I prefer (which was very good if I do say so myself, lol). I'll use this technique again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie July 31, 2010

Very nice and easy steak recipe. I used rib-eyes. Leftover horseradish cream sauce is wonderful on a BLT, just so you know. :D Made for ZWT #6 - Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threeovens June 23, 2010

OK, I couldn't find a strip steak got T-Bones instead :-( That said, the garlic oil imparted a very subtle flavor (Or I didn't do it right - LOL) but was enjoyable. I really enjoyed the horseradish cream. That will be hidden away, for future reference! I'm trying to think of other things I can use it on! Splendid! Thanks so much for sharing, JanuaryBride! Made for Father's Day (for DH) and ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 21, 2010

Tasty and very easy! The garlic infused oil really adds a lot to the steak, a neat trick I'm definitely going to use again. The horseradish sauce was tasty BUT it makes an enormous proportion in comparison to the steaks. If you halved it, you'd still probably have enough. Super tasty meat, with a nice and fairly straightforward horseradish sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geca March 22, 2010

Made this last night, and it was super yummy and easy. I made way too much, even after halving the recipe, but it was totally worth it, and is going in my recipe keeper. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchencynic January 30, 2010

Wonderful steak! I loved the garlic oil brushed on it during cooking. We used a couple of nice, thick rib eyes. The sauce was good, but I would decrease the amount of sour cream or increase the horseradish. Made for ZWT 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 May 18, 2009

This is quite simple and has a good taste. DH who doesn't like the taste of sour cream, liked this sauce, even more than me. The steak had a great taste with only the olive oil and garlic. Thanks JanuaryBride :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 16, 2009

WOW these steaks were DELICIOUS! We love the taste of meat and rarely use any sauce on it, but this sauce was fabulous. Tangy and hot from the horseradish and fresh tasting from the fresh chives. Made for ZWT5. I will make again! Thanks January Bride.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie May 13, 2009

I only made the horseradish sauce and it was great. Used 1/2 the recommended amount of horseradish and it was plenty hot for us. Served with beef for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Will make this meat next time, too. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 December 22, 2008
Garlic Steak With Horseradish Sauce by Bobby Flay