42 Reviews

What an easy and quick weeknight dish! We loved this light and spicy recipe (I did use a "heavy" pinch of pepper flakes). I served it over fettucine, and added a tablespoon of butter to make the sauce a little richer. Yum! We'll do this one again.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan February 12, 2003

DELICIOUS! I did add about 1 1/2 Tbsp of flour and let it cook for a minute before adding the liquid to get rid of the floury taste and help it thicken. I think I might add more liquid/flour next time cuz I like a lot of sauce. I used 1 1/2 lb of 41/50 precooked shrimp because I decided last minute to cook this and thought raw frozen shrimp wouldnt cook all the way through properly. I would also add more pepper flakes for an extra kick. Used wide no yolk noodles as that was what I had. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amers April 22, 2010

Ok, so some may think I'm over-reacting here, but this was, hands down, one of the best things I have ever eaten! WOW. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I did add some lemon zest, parsley, and parmesan at the end. I tossed it with angel hair pasta. I used a nice Pinot Grigio for the wine, and tiger shrimp. I don't know what it was, but the flavors in this were fantastic! I wish I could give this recipe 200 stars! Thanks for a recipe I will use for the rest of my life!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick March 10, 2006

Great recipe. I had both shrimp and asparagus in the fridge and this was the perfect answer! Served with brown rice and a salad. I also added the parsley and a little parmesean sprinkle at the end. It's a nice and relatively healthy addition to our meal rotation. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheKatsiki January 11, 2010

Beautiful flavour! I also added cornflour, but next time I'll be sure to turn the heat up when adding the wine to help thicken it & see how we go from there.... Update: Tried it turning up the heat but it didn't get any thicker, so added some cream & it was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt November 27, 2009

YUM!!! This was so good! And so easy to make. I served over linguine. My only changes were to add a bit of chicken broth to the sauce, as well as a bit of sherry. I thickened it up some cornstarch, too. I also garnished with fresh parsley and parmesan. Thank you for suh a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neona503 November 14, 2009

This really surpassed my expectations. I love shrimp and asparagus, but I didn't know how well they'd work together. It was so yummy! I didn't realize that I didn't have any dry white wine until the last minute, so I just used no sugar added apple juice. I was afraid the sweetness might mess it up, but it was divine! That's how I'll be making it from now on. Oh, I also didn't realize until it was too late that I didn't have any red pepper flakes, so I used some ground red pepper I had. It worked perfectly. I served it by itself, and it was perfect. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) November 05, 2009

This turned out so good and was easy to make. I am not a fan of pasta with no sauce and wasnt sure how much sauce this would really make so I served it with seasoned angel hair pasta from a box. It was really good with the sauce mixed into it. We will be making this again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn October 22, 2009

Sure did love this! Made this for myself tonight since DH was out of town. Cut this to 2 servings and added 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms and a large tomatoes. Ate this alongside a large spinach salad. Was wonderful! I increased the garlic and crushed red peppers. Wouldn't change a thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl October 14, 2009

This recipe was delish! I added a little corn starch to water and poured in at the last and brought to a simmer/boil to thicken the sauce slightly. We served over angel hair too. (thanks to other reviewers for both tips!) We will definately have this one again. Very quick, simple and flavorful. Thanks Chia for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie12 February 16, 2009
garlic shrimp with asparagus