27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Liked this recipe. Be sure to buy raw shrimp, not precooked as they will be overdone. Would use a bit more chicken broth to ensure the sauce stock is ample. Great job.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul Fisher October 30, 2001

The flavor was ok, but the sauce lacked body. The heat was a bit much for me, it seemed to over power the dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Txsweetea April 02, 2013

Thought this was a good recipe but do feel that the sauce needed something extra...it was a little weak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llookenott February 07, 2014

Great taste, easy to make. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SD Slim June 21, 2013

Nice combination. Since I hate cilantro I substituted basil. Served with rice and asparagus. YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Cabo March 10, 2013

I made this tonight for my spice loving husband and son. ( I am not the cook in the family!) I added a little extra paprika from Romania that a friend brought me. I also added a little white wine. It was delicious! It was actually a bit spicy for my taste but my 'boys' loved it! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lea9brook August 30, 2010

Sorry -- I prepared according to instructions, except for using clam juice for the chicken broth. It was very bland for our taste, served with Israeli couscous and fresh broccoli. Thanks for posting..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney February 27, 2010

This was great! I've not made many scallops in my day, and had some small frozen ones and some frozen shrimp. This was excellent. Dh give it 5 stars and says if he had ordered it in a restaurant, he would order it again many times! I will have to figure out how to make more sauce though. I did use lemon juice instead of lime, but this was a very very good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Brad February 20, 2010

I wanted to try something other than boiling shrimp and baking scallops and this was a hit! You do want to be careful with the chili flakes if you're not into too much heat--definitely no more than 1/2 tsp (maybe even a little less). I did increase the chicken stock as per others' suggestions--I used 1/2 cup stock, and 1 tbsp lime juice. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used a rounded tsp. of dry. I served it over rice prepared with some garlic, onion and parsley and it was delish! My only complaint was that the delicate flavor of the bay scallop was a bit overwhelmed. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for the shrimp, but I'll probably forego the scallops next time. Thanks for sharing such a gerat dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeswickianRaider January 11, 2010

Made it for dinner and it was very tasty. Put it over rice and need to be careful about measuing the red peper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WedgewoodCook June 24, 2009
Garlic Shrimp and Scallops