Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Shrimp and Pasta (Low fat recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Shrimp and Pasta (Low fat recipe)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2010

      I got this recipe a few years ago off of another site and I just love it. I make by own chicken both from a chicken bouillon cube which I add the lemon juice (I only add about 1 tsp.) and cornstarch to and set aside. I brown my garlic in a little olive oil then throw in the shrimp. When this is heated up I add the chicken stock. Cook until thicken then I add only a small dash of red pepper powder, a dash of Kitchen Bouquet Browning Sauce and so so soy sauce. Add salt & pepper to taste. And finally I stir in the broken up cooked spaghetti. Heat and eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Very good and easy. Added a little white wine to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I had a friend of mine, who is a vegetarian, over for lunch today. Made a few modifications to the recipe as a result. Instead of regular pasta I used whole wheat and instead of chicken broth I used vegetable broth. As a result I did have to add a bit of salt to taste as the vegeatble broth doesn't have the sodium you find in the chicken broth so without it, it was a bit bland. Aside from that I also sauteed the garlic a bit before adding the additional ingredients to get the full flavor and added a little garlic powder. One more change was instead of cornstarch I used flour, that was just what I had in my cabinets. Otherwise I followed the recipe pretty close. It was YUMMY! I WILL definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Great and the family loved it! Will add more garlic and pepper next time... maybe a tad more salt too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I used this as a basic recipe, but changed a few things. I sauteed the garlic a bit before making the sauce. I made my own stock from bouillon, doubled the garlic, used less cornstarch, and a few squirts of lemon juice (didn't measure). Mine actually had quite a spicy kick to it, with just enough lemon zing. My husband loved this very light dish. I hope I can make it the same again since I didn't follow the recipe exactly! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      This was really great. Unfortunately I added more garlic than the recipe called for and it was to much. I will definitely make this again with less garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      This dish was excellant!!! Id say almost restaurant quality! Much better because I added more shrimp then what you would get in a resaurant. Next time I make it, I think I will saute the garlic & I added 4 large cloves, in a little olive oil before I add the rest of the ingredients. I loved this dish! For such a simple recipe it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      Char, we loved this! I don't eat shrimp often but when I do I try and make it special. I followed the instructions as written except I used chicken broth with added garlic plus the garlic that the recipe called for. We love garlic! Thanks so much for posting this simple, delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I forgot the lemon juice but added a bit of cayane pepper. This was sooo good, I thought it would be bland and didn't know if it would thicken. I will definately make again! Thank You :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      This was delicious!!! I also basically doubled the garlic, and the result was very tasty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Good recipe. Hubby and I both enjoed it. As pervious reviewers stated, I also added much more garlic, and pepper, and little more lemon juice. It was good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Very simple & very good. I used a few of the hints from some of the other reviews to match it up to my own personal taste's. I added extra lemon juice, a couple dash's of essence & Old Bay seaonings and also threw in about 3/4 lbs. of small sweet bay scallops. There were no leftovers with this one. "Thank You", for sharing this winning receipe with us. Pickleguy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This came out very well. I also added more garlic-- basically doubled it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      In terms of a low fat recipe, this is great! Obviously if you compare it with a nice rich cream sauce it doesn't stand up, but that isn't the point. After being put on a low fat diet due to gallstones, I've been looking for easy low fat recipes. This one fit my needs to a T! After reading comments here, I added an additional tablespoon of lemon juice and of garlic. Overall, it wasn't too bad. Without the shrimp it probably would have been too bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My son requested this for his 16th birthday. We loved it!! Served with a spinach salad, and ciabatta bread, and of course a DQ blizzard cake to end the meal. Thanks for sharing a great recipe. EASY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Thankyou so much for posting. Made this for dinner, and it was EXCELLENT. Finally a low fat scampie sauce for one of my favorite meals. Hubby even loved it, and he hates chicken, and chicken broth.<br/>UPDATE: Made this with Spaghetti Squash instead of pasta, for an even healthier meal, it was Fantastic. I sprinkled some parmesan on top which really set it off, again Hubby was surprised it was low fat, and that it was made from chicken base.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      This was a very good light meal. I added some veggies and scallops and I used rotini protein pasta. Easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Pretty tasteless. A fairly pointless meal. Only positive here is that its 'healthy' and low fat, though the sodium is crazy high. I substituted low sodium chicken broth and added a smidgen of salt, but the only other interesting note was the sauce had a nice luxurious thickness to it from the corn starch.<br/><br/>Also--cholesterol was way too high, though I can't fault the writer as no claims for it were made.<br/><br/>Very disappointing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I have to agree with some of the other reviewers that this recipe needs more flavor. It wasn't horrible but I won't be making it again either. Sorry I couldn't give it more stars but it was just barely ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Wasn't bad, but was lacking in real flavor, I added 6 cloves of garlic and didn't seem to have much of an impact. I wouldn't make it again, but it wasn't horrible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Shrimp and Pasta (Low fat recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.9
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    15%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 144.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1283.9 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thin spaghetti

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites