Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Sauteed Artichokes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Sauteed Artichokes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2003

      I just made these artichokes the other day, finding the recipe on Allrecipes. This is the only way I'm going to be making artichokes now..so easy and they cook in half the time. I have a little problem with the garlic browning too much and turning bitter when I brown the artichokes. I think I'm going to wait and add the garlic, pressed, when I add the liquid for braising. Great, great, recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This is probably a healthier way than I normally make artichokes (boiled to oblivion then dipped in salt and butter) but I think I prefer that method to this one. My husband liked this method more though. We kept the stem and 1/3 top on, waste not, want not I say. We did pull the hairy center out though. I cooked it for twice the recommended time and the outer leaves were still a little too tough to eat, but the inside was plenty cooked by that point so I didn't want to cook it any longer. I also used completely chicken stock and no water and 11 garlic gloves instead of 6 since we like extra garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Yummy recipe. Easy to make. Can multi-task while making this. A keeper!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Can't say these were any better than if I had simply steamed them plain. Still needed to be dipped in something in order to taste good. Glad I tried it though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      Someone gave us this recipe recently and we made it and LOVED it. Easy and wondeful and nice change from our regular artichoke recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I thought these were just ok. I'm glad I tried the recipe, but don't think I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      I made these on Valentines Day and they were great! This was the first time I have diverted from just steaming them. It was very frustrating getting the “fuzz” out of the first uncooked choke, so on the others I used a serrated grapefruit spoon and that worked great. The whole family loved them this way! Thanks for the new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      If you like artichokes, you'll like this recipe. Otherwise it's just so-so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      A fabulous way to cook artichokes. And a great recipe for anyone who has only ever eaten artichokes from a can or jar. Chippie’s clear and detailed instructions will forever demystify artichoke preparation for you. Cooked this way, the artichokes are just so delicious. This recipe would complement so many main courses, particularly roasted, grilled or barbecued meats. I also heeded Geema’s advice about the garlic, and added it only in the last two to three minutes that the artichokes were sautéing. If you’ve only ever eaten artichokes from a jar or can, do try this recipe. You’ll be glad you did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Delicious! I made just one of these....just for me! I let the choke saute for about 5 minutes, then added the garlic and sauteed for 5 more minutes before adding the water and chicken broth. Cooked (steamed) for 15 minutes and it was just right...I had a medium-sized artichoke. Very good, though I did add a little salt at the table but, I'm 'salt girl' so that's not unusual. I'll make this again, I really loved it...thanks Chippie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      These artichokes are very good., very easy and tasty.I served these with roasted chicken and a green salad.Even the kids enjoyed the artichokes. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      This recipe does just what the description says: makes great artichokes quickly and easily! I had quite small artichokes so they cooked in about 15 minutes total, which probably helped with the garlic not browning too much. I think if I had larger artichokes, I would add the garlic with the water and stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      Very tasty and very easy. Clear instructions. I'm an amateur when it comes to artichokes but this was a great recipe even for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Maybe, instead of adding the garlic later, you could strain the garlic from the butter then brown the artichokes, then add the garlic again upon braising. An Idea I will have to try as I have never made artichokes before!! Thank you to both of you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Sauteed Artichokes

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.4
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    55%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 161.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites