10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is not docs recipe , I know, because I made this salad many years ago when I worked there y ingredients, lettuce, carrots, celery.' 3 ingredients, mayo, granulated garlic powder, garlic salt.mix wet mixture with lettuce as ordered so as not to become soggy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rondajl July 23, 2012

Not to spoil this salad review but this recipe is not the one used by the infamous Doc's Steak House in Wichita, Kansas. The garlic salad was created by "Doc" Hustead, the owner of Doc's Steak House from 1951-1963. In 1963 he sold the business to my parents Mike and Mary Belluomo, and my aunt and uncle Louis and Lucy Scott. I made tons of this stuff in the years I worked there from 1967-1986. While this one is a "creative version" of the Doc's recipe, it does not contain the proper ingredients or instructions for serving. The appearance bears NO resemblence to the real recipe that Doc's still serves today. While this recipe certainly looks delicious, it is a gross injustice to identify it as related to the "Doc's original version.

As my dad used to say...if you give me a million dollars for the restaurant, I'll throw the recipe in for free!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spiritusantu November 16, 2011

This is a terrific coleslaw . The ONLY adjustment I changed was adding 11/2 Tablespoons of Garlic juice (we love garlic) This is like the orginal coleslaw from Doc's Steakhouse in Wichita. Regular lettuce is fine but so is Romaine. And yes it does have CABBAGE in it (Emmylou said there is no cabbage only lettuce is wrong.)We have been eating at Doc's Steakhouse for as long as it has been open. Perhaps when you went they were low on cabbage lol). I do suggest for those having wet lettuce or cabbage, just get a couple of paper towels and pat dry then add your ingredients. This is soooooooo delicious. Thank you for submitting the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cafetyme February 06, 2010

Five stars with a bit of tweaking. Romaine lettuce holds up the best to shredding, and I used two heads (no cabbage). Rinse the shredded lettuce in your salad spinner, which will remove the water from the lettuce. I also minced two garlic cloves into the mayo and added 1/2 T. of garlic powder. (Or, one garlic clove with the garlic powder, depending on your garlic threshold!) Salt and pepper does make a difference. After chilling, this salad is very close to the Steakhouse version. Delicious! — Jul 4, 2005

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna July 05, 2005

Very good, as I'm a past patron of Doc's, but there is really no cabbage in the original recipe, I don't believe. I supposedly have it,& it's lettuce only , Hellman's mayo, carrot, garlic juice. I add a bit of garlic powder & garlic salt & a tid bit of lemon juice; you have to drain the lettuce after processing it in the processor, w/a cloth, as is very runny. It's a wonderful salad, but time consuming to drain the water off the lettuce, as after processing it, it's very fine & watery. I have no idea how Doc's gets the water off or how they chop it to the fine consistency, if they don't use a processor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emmylu July 15, 2004

http://www.garlicsalad.com/Recipes.htm Doc's Steakhouse recipe page states cabbage is not an ingredient. Recipe is still good, but authenticity is questionable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandrake June 27, 2004

We have always enjoyed Garlic Salad at Doc's and several other places that serve it locally. I had lost my recipe, so was glad to fine this one! What a quick, easy treat. I am serving it at out Father's Day Bar-B-Q today. (Hint: To chip the lettuce and cabbage, I chut into large scetions and use the slicing blade on my food processor.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Val7 June 15, 2003

This wasn't too much garlic for us. This is tasty, and very easy to throw together. I also liked the fact that you could prepare it the night before serving if necessry. This was a definate hit with my group that I served it to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty January 25, 2003
Garlic Salad