Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Salad

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2012

      This is not docs recipe , I know, because I made this salad many years ago when I worked there y ingredients, lettuce, carrots, celery.' 3 ingredients, mayo, granulated garlic powder, garlic salt.mix wet mixture with lettuce as ordered so as not to become soggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Not to spoil this salad review but this recipe is not the one used by the infamous Doc's Steak House in Wichita, Kansas. The garlic salad was created by "Doc" Hustead, the owner of Doc's Steak House from 1951-1963. In 1963 he sold the business to my parents Mike and Mary Belluomo, and my aunt and uncle Louis and Lucy Scott. I made tons of this stuff in the years I worked there from 1967-1986. While this one is a "creative version" of the Doc's recipe, it does not contain the proper ingredients or instructions for serving. The appearance bears NO resemblence to the real recipe that Doc's still serves today. While this recipe certainly looks delicious, it is a gross injustice to identify it as related to the "Doc's original version.

      As my dad used to say...if you give me a million dollars for the restaurant, I'll throw the recipe in for free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This is a terrific coleslaw . The ONLY adjustment I changed was adding 11/2 Tablespoons of Garlic juice (we love garlic) This is like the orginal coleslaw from Doc's Steakhouse in Wichita. Regular lettuce is fine but so is Romaine. And yes it does have CABBAGE in it (Emmylou said there is no cabbage only lettuce is wrong.)We have been eating at Doc's Steakhouse for as long as it has been open. Perhaps when you went they were low on cabbage lol). I do suggest for those having wet lettuce or cabbage, just get a couple of paper towels and pat dry then add your ingredients. This is soooooooo delicious. Thank you for submitting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

    • on June 09, 2009

    • on July 05, 2005

      Five stars with a bit of tweaking. Romaine lettuce holds up the best to shredding, and I used two heads (no cabbage). Rinse the shredded lettuce in your salad spinner, which will remove the water from the lettuce. I also minced two garlic cloves into the mayo and added 1/2 T. of garlic powder. (Or, one garlic clove with the garlic powder, depending on your garlic threshold!) Salt and pepper does make a difference. After chilling, this salad is very close to the Steakhouse version. Delicious! — Jul 4, 2005

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      Very good, as I'm a past patron of Doc's, but there is really no cabbage in the original recipe, I don't believe. I supposedly have it,& it's lettuce only , Hellman's mayo, carrot, garlic juice. I add a bit of garlic powder & garlic salt & a tid bit of lemon juice; you have to drain the lettuce after processing it in the processor, w/a cloth, as is very runny. It's a wonderful salad, but time consuming to drain the water off the lettuce, as after processing it, it's very fine & watery. I have no idea how Doc's gets the water off or how they chop it to the fine consistency, if they don't use a processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      http://www.garlicsalad.com/Recipes.htm Doc's Steakhouse recipe page states cabbage is not an ingredient. Recipe is still good, but authenticity is questionable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      We have always enjoyed Garlic Salad at Doc's and several other places that serve it locally. I had lost my recipe, so was glad to fine this one! What a quick, easy treat. I am serving it at out Father's Day Bar-B-Q today. (Hint: To chip the lettuce and cabbage, I chut into large scetions and use the slicing blade on my food processor.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      This wasn't too much garlic for us. This is tasty, and very easy to throw together. I also liked the fact that you could prepare it the night before serving if necessry. This was a definate hit with my group that I served it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.6
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    58%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 9.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 313.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garlic juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes