Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / garlic potato bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    garlic potato bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

      This bread was amazing! I made it by hand and did a few things differently according to what I had on hand. First I put the warm water and yeast in a large bowl. I then added all the rest of the ingredients, but only about half the flour. I used all purpose flour, real mashed potatoes and garlic salt instead of salt and garlic powder. I added enough flour to make it really soft and pliable, kneaded for about 6-8 minutes, and let it rise covered with plastic wrap for 1 hour. Punched it down, shaped it into two loaves and let it rise another 35 minutes till doubled. Then baked it at 375 for 25 minutes. Best bread I've had in a long time, and it did indeed make fantastic grilled cheese sandwiches. I'm making my second batch tonight for more grilled cheese :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      REALLY a great loaf of Bread, Tasty, good texture a nice big loaf. Made this for company, was enjoyed by all. The recipe is a KEEPER, Thanks Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      An excellent loaf of bread! I used fresh mashed potatoes and 1 clove of garlic, which worked fine .. I love potato bread, the bread texture is great and it also rises very high .. thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      This tastes amazing! I don't own a bread machine, so I followed the instructions of the previous comment and it turned out beautifully (uploaded a photo). I also used real mashed potatoes and used bread pans. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

    • on April 18, 2010

      Good recipe, good bread. I used ABM on dough cycle, then shaped two round loaves, egg white wash, slashed. After 2nd rise, baked at 375 for 25 min. Perfect! Tx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      A good tasting, moist bread. I think it will keep very well, if it lasts. We're already through half the loaf. I forgot to put in the garlic powder, so I sprinkled the loaf with nigella seeds before popping into the oven. Sesame or poppy seeds would also be good. I used only the dough cycle and baked in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Wow- I am so happy that I got a bread machine & started expiermenting with it!! I keep finding great recipes and think I will stick with just one but then I see something else to make and I love variety- thanks for the recipe- I usually make them exact the first time around for the review but I had no instant potatoes so I used real & I also used jar minced garlic as that is also what I had--yummy!!! What a awesome dough- rises big-soft dough- made 2 large round breads- thanks chia!!! Cannot wait too have some with lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      Very good and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Great recipe, however it was a little bland. The garlic was more of an aftertaste. But, like I said, it's still a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      This is great bread. Tender and soft textured, with a great flavor. I did use the dry potato flakes in this, as directed, and the bread came out perfect on all accounts. A nice tall rising loaf too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      We all thought the bread was great but that 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder wasn't enough. I think next time (since we are mega garlic lovers) will put a teaspoon or more or perhaps a couple of cloves of garlic next time. But as far as potato bread goes, this was really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2004

      I was a little confused at first about whether or not I should prepare the potatoes or just add the flakes, because one reviewer stated she used fresh mashed potatoes. But I made it with the flakes and it turned out great. You're right--it's delicious for grilled cheese sandwiches. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      Fantastic bread! I did substitute one clove of pressed garlic for the garlic powder, and it worked great! I made mine in the bread machine in the dough cycle; then took it out and formed it into 2 round loaves. I baked them @ 375 degrees for 25 minutes. I used one later as a bread bowl for my crab dip, and it was delicious! The other loaf is frozen for another day! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for garlic potato bread

    Serving Size: 1 (960 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1208.2
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    16%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 138.7 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1964.3 mg
    81%
    Total Carbohydrate 215.5 g
    71%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 32.5 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes