13 Reviews

What a tasty and tender roast! I did not use any lemon as last time we used lemon peel/rind in a slowcooker, the veggies were inedible. Even without the lemon, everything else turned out great! If your pork roast has a small fat cap on it, i suggest when browning the roast, really let that fat cap crisp up before placing in slow cooker, and place roast with the fat cap up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JasmineP September 10, 2008

Loved the recipe but doubled the broth and vegetables and instead of using garlic cloves I used garlic powder instead and rubbed the roast with it before browning in EVOO. I omitted the lemon entirely due to past reviews of it tasting bitter and then put all of the veggies in a bowl and tossed with parsley. It was fantastic. I aslo made some garlic bread to soak up the gravy. Nice and easy for a meal without a ton of prep. Great for the mom on the go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wingenbach1984 September 30, 2009

My wife and I are new to the Crock world but this was fun and easy. The pork turned out great but the veggies were off a little. I believe it was the lemon that got us. We tried 8 thin slices 3x1/2 of lemons. We will do this again and try it with zest, or not use Lemon at all. Awesome altogether though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fishgettersgirl January 13, 2008

Great easy meal! I was unsure as to what you meant by lemon peel, if you meant lemon zest or, the actual peel of the lemon, so I just sliced the lemon thin and put 8 slices in the crock pot. I think you nust have meant lemon zest, because the slices made the veggies around them slightly bitter. But in all a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spreadnjoy February 27, 2006

The whole family liked this very much. Given the other reviews, I skipped the lemon, didn't have it anyway. I didn't have time to sear the roast, just plopped it in the pot. Cooked on high for 4 hours. Next time I will score the top of the roast and really smear the garlic in there. I took the roast and veggies out of the pot and transferred the au jus to a saucepan and thickened it a bit. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully April 25, 2012

Goes together quickly and is ready in just about 4 hours at HIGH, 7 at low. Added a sliced sweet potato, which fell apart, FYI. Next time, I may use just a single strip of lemon peel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffernutter June 28, 2011

very simple and tasty recipe! made this tonight for dinner. my crock pot is rather small so i did not add potatoes and i served over fried rice. was very delicious. i wish i had a bigger crock pot so that i could've added potatoes and corn. i also think mushrooms would be good in it. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pokohontas April 03, 2011

I needed to cook a small frozen vaccum packed pork loin and thought this recipe sounded good to try. I did not use the lemons, as previous reviewers had stated it gave an unpleasant taste, instead I sprinkled liberally with garlic lemon pepper, and proceeded with the rest of the recipe as written. The aroma while this was cooking was fantastic. The pork loin was very tender and the whole meal was enjoyed. Sandy in Houston, thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloe cooker February 25, 2011

I agree with a previous poster that the lemon really didn't do anything for me. This is a good cheap meal that we will use to stretch our budget.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus June 01, 2008

This was a wonderfully easy meal. The flavours were all nicely blended and were brought surprizingly together with a subtle hint of lemon. I trimmed my Boston Butt Roast of excess fat so there was hardly any in the broth at the end. Thanks for sharing such a rocking roast recipe !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALISSA ROCKS May 28, 2007
Garlic Pork Roast (For the Slow Cooker)