20 Reviews

The only thing wrong with this recipe is, I have to hide the crackers from my DH if I actually want to eat any! I've made three recipes of this so far, and managed to get maybe 5 crackers to eat myself. I have made the recipe as written, and then twice I used Southwestern Chipotle Mrs. Dash instead of the garlic powder. ALL times, they were great! I have found it helps if I cook it the original time stated, then cut it up (with a pizza cutter) while still warm, then turn off the oven and flip the crackers, put them back in the still-warm oven and let the backside dry out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy-Q Cooks December 29, 2009

I drop a rounded tablespoon onto well greased pizza stone and flatten into 3" circles, about 1/8 inch thick. (I find it helpful to use a piece of wax paper and back of fork.) Once the edges brown slightly, I flip them and let them go another few minutes. They make a nice base for mini pizzas using bruschetta and fresh mozzarella, or a shmear of cream cheese and smoked salmon. Each cracker using bobs red mill flaxseed meal is about .5 net carbs! Teenage "picky" daughter on Atkins loves them.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilyofthevalley67 February 04, 2015

5 for ease and speed and 4-5 for taste. When I first tried it right out of the oven, it wasn't good. But I let it cool and tried it again and the strong flavor seemed to mellow. I used with a Greek dip. Will make again. Don't forget to grease the top parchemnt sheet! I thought the garlic would be too much, so used 1 tsp. Will use the full amount next time. I rolled mine pretty thin, but it seems like it puffed up anyways and didn't get as crisp. Will experiment with that. I'm trying to find GF crackers and breads.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead April 27, 2009

Oh, my, these are good! I'm not sure they are going to make it to tomorrow's Super Bowl get together. I did cheat a bit and rather than trying to roll this out, as the reviews seemed to all agree it stuck terribly, I rubbed olive oil on my hands and pressed this out on my Silpat. I then just wet my hands and smoothed the top to make it flat. This took about 4 more minutes at 350 in my convection oven, but it's nicely crisp and I love the flavor. It's hard to guess how many crackers this actually made, as I think I popped every other one into my mouth as I broke them up! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 02, 2013

Great recipe! I used a dehydrator to do mine. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. My kids (who are naturally suspicious of anything that looks "wierd"/ healthy) loved them. Making a triple batch now with my own fresh ground flax. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dontfencemein November 01, 2009

I am on a low carb diet and I think these are very good !will be making allot thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho April 12, 2009

Wow these are amazing. Followed directions as is but at 18 minutes turned the oven off, flipped it over and let it sit in there a few more minutes. They are cooling off and I think I already ate half of it. Obviously this isnt a con for the recipe but these are addicting and can definitely lead to over eating!! The flax i use is 70 calories for 2 tbls so with the cheese a batch ends up being around 1600 calories for the whole thing. I seperated it into 8 different little baggies so each bag is 200 calories but it is a SMALL serving. I lost a lot of weight doing low carb before, i no longer follow it but even low carb you arent going to lose weight by eating a cup of flax and parm cheese. Definitely make these, if you can control your portions! They taste better than than crackers you buy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mariah T. August 05, 2016

Great recipe! I made these to go with my guacamole and tuna salad not sure if the crackers will still be here by the time I get everything else made! Thank you sooo much definitely will be making these over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily C. April 21, 2016

I think mine came out perfect as far as getting the right crunch. I had trouble getting it less than a 1/4" so baked it a little longer. Had trouble getting my rolling pin in the pan to roll, so I used a large vitamin bottle with the parchment under it. Worked just fine. It will be nice for something to snack on when I feel the urge for something with some crunch to it. UPDATE: Changing my review to 5 stars. The more I ate them the better I liked them and my husband loves them. He wants me to make weekly to snack on during work hours. I put the silicone mat on my countertop and rolled the 2nd batch really thin with no problems using a rolling pin. Then just picked it up and moved to the baking sheet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy September 21, 2015

Excellent no wheat crackers. I should have pre-scored them before baking and will next time. Also maybe should have used a larger pan or 2 pans so they were thinner. We'll see as they crisp up with time. Very tasty with hummus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc April 22, 2014
Garlic Parmesan Flax Seed Crackers - Low Carb!