Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Parmesan Flax Seed Crackers - Low Carb! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Parmesan Flax Seed Crackers - Low Carb!

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2009

      The only thing wrong with this recipe is, I have to hide the crackers from my DH if I actually want to eat any! I've made three recipes of this so far, and managed to get maybe 5 crackers to eat myself. I have made the recipe as written, and then twice I used Southwestern Chipotle Mrs. Dash instead of the garlic powder. ALL times, they were great! I have found it helps if I cook it the original time stated, then cut it up (with a pizza cutter) while still warm, then turn off the oven and flip the crackers, put them back in the still-warm oven and let the backside dry out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      5 for ease and speed and 4-5 for taste. When I first tried it right out of the oven, it wasn't good. But I let it cool and tried it again and the strong flavor seemed to mellow. I used with a Greek dip. Will make again. Don't forget to grease the top parchemnt sheet! I thought the garlic would be too much, so used 1 tsp. Will use the full amount next time. I rolled mine pretty thin, but it seems like it puffed up anyways and didn't get as crisp. Will experiment with that. I'm trying to find GF crackers and breads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Oh, my, these are good! I'm not sure they are going to make it to tomorrow's Super Bowl get together. I did cheat a bit and rather than trying to roll this out, as the reviews seemed to all agree it stuck terribly, I rubbed olive oil on my hands and pressed this out on my Silpat. I then just wet my hands and smoothed the top to make it flat. This took about 4 more minutes at 350 in my convection oven, but it's nicely crisp and I love the flavor. It's hard to guess how many crackers this actually made, as I think I popped every other one into my mouth as I broke them up! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Great recipe! I used a dehydrator to do mine. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. My kids (who are naturally suspicious of anything that looks "wierd"/ healthy) loved them. Making a triple batch now with my own fresh ground flax. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I am on a low carb diet and I think these are very good !will be making allot thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      Excellent no wheat crackers. I should have pre-scored them before baking and will next time. Also maybe should have used a larger pan or 2 pans so they were thinner. We'll see as they crisp up with time. Very tasty with hummus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      I'm so psyched I found this recipe! I experimented with some variations last night. I strongly recommend using the full amount of garlic salt, as the flax taste comes through a little louder without it. Because it was my first time making it, I also experimented with flattening the whole thing out to bake, or making individual 'cookie' sizes. I don't think it matters much which way you do it - this is a pretty forgiving recipe and you will get a bready-cracker-like thing at the end no matter what. I was itching for something different to put sliced chicken, tuna salad, egg salad, etc on top of and thank you so much for this! Today's experiments will be in making a sweeter version, like a faux-biscotti, using extracts and stevia, and possibly some pre-soaked gogi berries. I've read other recipes that substitute half or more of the flax meal with coconut or almond flours. This is so easy to do that I'm going to try them all today!! Wouldn't it be so great to have a PB & 'J'?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      I did not expect to like these crackers much and I don't...I LOVE them! The parmesan flavour comes through beautifully and they smell wonderful when they are baking. After rolling the dough out, I topped half of it with toasted sesame seeds and a sprinkle of celery salt just to see how that would taste. It tastes good like that too! My crackers did not crisp up as much as I would like but I'll experiment til I get it just right. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      I used low fat powdered Parmesan to decrease the calories and since I have not made them before I wouldn't know the difference. I cut them after baking with a pizza cutter, turned off the oven flipped the crackers over and put them back in to crisp up. 3 crackers were 66 calories this way and 4 grams of fiber which ended up to be 1 weight watcher point (the old way of counting) and with a wedge of laughing cow cheese a great 2 point healthy high in fiber snack. My daughter also loved these and asked me to make her a batch.

      By the way baking on wax paper doesn't seem quite right to me. I sprayed my parchment paper and folded it over the dough before rolling with a rolling pin and it worked marvelous I then cut part of it off before putting it on the cookie sheet. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      Great recipe - thank you! I followed the recipe exactly except I used half garlic powder and half onion powder, and I added a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Just had some with herb and garlic cream cheese and it was perfect - did not break or anything. Nice and filling too. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      SO annoyed right now! They taste great... except for the wax paper sticking to them and ripping apart so they are inedible... I did one layer of wax paper, greased it with spray olive oil, covered with parchment, rolled and left the parchment on because i couldn't take it off with out it falling apart. first the oven smoked like crazy, then once i poked holes in parchment with toothpick it seemed fine. i take them out and i cant get the wax paper off!!

      HELP SOMEONE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Satisfied my cracker urge. Perfect for Atkins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      I really like the flavour and have now made them twice! I can't quite yet get the hang of when to pull them out of the oven, to soft the first time, over done the second but I suspect that's a me thing and not a recipe thing. I know the third time will be the charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      5 stars for ease of prep, 4 for flavor. These remind me of sesame crackers. So if you are expecting a buttery , flaky cracker like a Ritz you probably won't like these. They're more akin to the texture of a Wheat Thin. After baking, mine weren't completely set in the middle so I flipped them over and shut the oven off to let them crisp on the other side. I also used a pizza cutter to cut them into squares before baking. Really good with lox and cream cheese or crumble them on salads like croutons. Delish, low carb and extremely healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      I forgot to star rate it! MMMMMM Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I did not care for these. Mine came out too salty, and the flax taste was overwhelming for this recipe. (I do like flax otherwise). They were nice and crispy though with a definate crunch and were easy to make, but I ended up saving the batch for the dogs as treats

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Parmesan Flax Seed Crackers - Low Carb!

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.5
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    67%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 14.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 855.9 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites