17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The only thing wrong with this recipe is, I have to hide the crackers from my DH if I actually want to eat any! I've made three recipes of this so far, and managed to get maybe 5 crackers to eat myself. I have made the recipe as written, and then twice I used Southwestern Chipotle Mrs. Dash instead of the garlic powder. ALL times, they were great! I have found it helps if I cook it the original time stated, then cut it up (with a pizza cutter) while still warm, then turn off the oven and flip the crackers, put them back in the still-warm oven and let the backside dry out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy-Q Cooks December 29, 2009

5 for ease and speed and 4-5 for taste. When I first tried it right out of the oven, it wasn't good. But I let it cool and tried it again and the strong flavor seemed to mellow. I used with a Greek dip. Will make again. Don't forget to grease the top parchemnt sheet! I thought the garlic would be too much, so used 1 tsp. Will use the full amount next time. I rolled mine pretty thin, but it seems like it puffed up anyways and didn't get as crisp. Will experiment with that. I'm trying to find GF crackers and breads.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead April 27, 2009

Oh, my, these are good! I'm not sure they are going to make it to tomorrow's Super Bowl get together. I did cheat a bit and rather than trying to roll this out, as the reviews seemed to all agree it stuck terribly, I rubbed olive oil on my hands and pressed this out on my Silpat. I then just wet my hands and smoothed the top to make it flat. This took about 4 more minutes at 350 in my convection oven, but it's nicely crisp and I love the flavor. It's hard to guess how many crackers this actually made, as I think I popped every other one into my mouth as I broke them up! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 02, 2013

Great recipe! I used a dehydrator to do mine. I followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. My kids (who are naturally suspicious of anything that looks "wierd"/ healthy) loved them. Making a triple batch now with my own fresh ground flax. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dontfencemein November 01, 2009

I am on a low carb diet and I think these are very good !will be making allot thank you for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho April 12, 2009

I drop a rounded tablespoon onto well greased pizza stone and flatten into 3" circles, about 1/8 inch thick. (I find it helpful to use a piece of wax paper and back of fork.) Once the edges brown slightly, I flip them and let them go another few minutes. They make a nice base for mini pizzas using bruschetta and fresh mozzarella, or a shmear of cream cheese and smoked salmon. Each cracker using bobs red mill flaxseed meal is about .5 net carbs! Teenage "picky" daughter on Atkins loves them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilyofthevalley67 February 04, 2015

Excellent no wheat crackers. I should have pre-scored them before baking and will next time. Also maybe should have used a larger pan or 2 pans so they were thinner. We'll see as they crisp up with time. Very tasty with hummus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc April 22, 2014

I'm so psyched I found this recipe! I experimented with some variations last night. I strongly recommend using the full amount of garlic salt, as the flax taste comes through a little louder without it. Because it was my first time making it, I also experimented with flattening the whole thing out to bake, or making individual 'cookie' sizes. I don't think it matters much which way you do it - this is a pretty forgiving recipe and you will get a bready-cracker-like thing at the end no matter what. I was itching for something different to put sliced chicken, tuna salad, egg salad, etc on top of and thank you so much for this! Today's experiments will be in making a sweeter version, like a faux-biscotti, using extracts and stevia, and possibly some pre-soaked gogi berries. I've read other recipes that substitute half or more of the flax meal with coconut or almond flours. This is so easy to do that I'm going to try them all today!! Wouldn't it be so great to have a PB & 'J'?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimbo #2 February 15, 2014

I did not expect to like these crackers much and I don't...I LOVE them! The parmesan flavour comes through beautifully and they smell wonderful when they are baking. After rolling the dough out, I topped half of it with toasted sesame seeds and a sprinkle of celery salt just to see how that would taste. It tastes good like that too! My crackers did not crisp up as much as I would like but I'll experiment til I get it just right. Thanks so much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 06, 2013

I used low fat powdered Parmesan to decrease the calories and since I have not made them before I wouldn't know the difference. I cut them after baking with a pizza cutter, turned off the oven flipped the crackers over and put them back in to crisp up. 3 crackers were 66 calories this way and 4 grams of fiber which ended up to be 1 weight watcher point (the old way of counting) and with a wedge of laughing cow cheese a great 2 point healthy high in fiber snack. My daughter also loved these and asked me to make her a batch.

By the way baking on wax paper doesn't seem quite right to me. I sprayed my parchment paper and folded it over the dough before rolling with a rolling pin and it worked marvelous I then cut part of it off before putting it on the cookie sheet. I will be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar February 03, 2013
Garlic Parmesan Flax Seed Crackers - Low Carb!