108 Reviews

Totally blown away by a Chicken Strip recipe. Wow. Followed all the directions, reduced amounts slightly to feed less people. Wow. Everything browned nicely. I did flip the strips halfway through cooking.

Will use this again and again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesikae January 24, 2011

Simple to put together and good results. Combining other suggestions, I coated the chicken tender stiprs in a beaten egg after putting the butter garlic on it so the panko would stick better. I melted an additional tablespoon of butter and stirred the panko crumbs before making the mixture to coat the chicken. I think it helped a little, but the panko ended up browning only in some spots. I turned the chicken half way after 7 mins, then probably did an extra 4 mins on each side trying to get more browning. The extra time in the oven may have dried out the chicken slightly. I also added dried oregano to the panko mixture. It was good, but I probably need to work on different technique to make it awesome. I do like the ease of baking it and not standing over an oven pan frying it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vusandra December 13, 2010

What an amazing recipe!! It came out so juicy and flavorful. After reading some comments about not being able to get the panko crispy, though, I sauteed the already coated chicken strips in a pan with some Extra Virgin Olive oil just enough to get a golden brown on both sides, and then popped them into the oven. They turned out fabulous. Thank you Lennie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carissa T. October 19, 2010

This recipe is a keeper!!! The most flavorful and juicy chicken ever. After reading some of the reviews I did saute the panko crumbs with a tablespoon of the butter garlic mixture until they were golden and then coated the chicken. Crispy and brown and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grammyk October 07, 2010

Very easy and very tasty!
I used my baking stone, flipped half way through so both sides got nicely browned

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional August 24, 2010

This is an easy and very tasty dish! For those of you who have trouble getting the chicken to brown, try using a dark pan. I usually sprinkle the chicken with salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder and let it marinate for a few hours before cooking as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonia F July 25, 2010

What a winner!!! I didn't want to heat up the kitchen (Summer in Florida!) so I fried it quickly in olive oil and it was stunning! THANKS for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judygoike June 11, 2010

What a great recipe. I did add a tbsp. of oil to the crumbs, that seemed to help them brown. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJarmer April 19, 2010

Yummy and crunchy! I would suggest turning the pieces over so they brown on both sides.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl April 13, 2010

This recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS. I can only give it 4 stars, though, because I've tried it twice and just cannot seem to get it crispy and/or brown. It tastes delicious, but doesn't crisp up, even at 425 degrees. I made sure I didn't crowd the pan, either. Sure wish I could figure out how to get them crispy. But I'm still going to keep making them, because they taste so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mclark March 29, 2010
Garlic Panko Chicken Strips