8 Reviews

This is 10 star for us, we have enjoyed this at least three times now, and I am late in reviewing it, I'm sorry - I have been travelling from France to the UK and enjoying my break! I made this for the two of us before we left on holiday and ate it with baguette and a fresh salad. I then made it for my mum and dad and they devoured it, so I had to make it again today! I have taken photos, but will upload them when I get back home to France in 3 weeks - a wonderful recipe that treats fresh produce with respect and imagination, just the kind of flavours we love. Made for the Aus/NZ recipe tag game and also the Mediterranean photo event in the Photo's forum for April. Merci beaucoup encore! FT:-) Edited to add photos and more comments! I searched high and low for my photos on my old laptop, but could not find them! So, I HAD to make this again, which was NO hardship! Made with capers and then added the olives afterwards as they tend to get too rubbery in the prolonged cooking. Served with my home made baguette for a light lunch, merci encore Umm Binat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart May 25, 2010

Oh my goodness, this was so good! I added some oil I had roasted red bell peppers and it added even more flavor. I added fresh oregano and chives while roasting the garlic. Delicious! Thanks. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 31, 2012

This was wonderful. I love roasted garlic as is but the rest of the ingredients put it over the top! Perfect appetizer with wine while cooking the rest of your meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast March 30, 2012

5 stars all the way, I love this dipping oil, I really made a piggy out of myself and enjoyed it with a crusty loaf of bread, so delicious! thanks UmmBinat

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz October 07, 2010

Very easy to make & a pure delight to devour, which we did! Had absolutely no problems with the preparation/cooking, & enjoyed every minute of it! I did serve this with both a baguette & slices of whole grain bread, & as is most often the case, my other half preferred the French bread, while I really liked the whole grain! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed while in Greece with ZWT6]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 14, 2010

Now this is delicious. I used a matzo for this as it is Passover now, and it was really nice. I think the olives make a really nice addition to the recipe (I do really love olives, especially green, which is what I used).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef April 01, 2010

Loved the idea of this and enjoyed the taste of it. However, when I cooked my oil and garlic/caper mixture according to the time in the recipe, I ended up with caper and garlic "crisps"...not spreadable on the bread. That makes it a 4 star. So next time, I'll either reduce the cooking time of the cooking temp. Otherwise, this is a 5 star recipe! I highly recommend that others try this recipe, just reduce the cooking time or temperature. Giving a 5 star to encourage others to enjoy this wonderful treat. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 05, 2010

Very yummy I added some lemon juice and zest to the olive oil just for a little more zing. I served this with Mushroom Barley Garlic Soup. Was a very garlicky meal. We loved it thanks. Made for Ramadan Tag 09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen November 02, 2009
Garlic Olive Oil Plate With Capers