Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Mushroom Risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Mushroom Risotto

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2012

      We really enjoyed this dish. I didn't have parsley or chicken stock, so I used beef stock in place of chicken stock. It made a lot, and I'm glad because I think the leftovers were even better the next day! Even my 1 year old DS enjoyed it a lot. I also chopped the mushrooms instead of slicing them to make it easier for him to manage when eating. Lastly, to sneak in a little more veggies and add some color (not altering the flavor), I threw in a couple handfuls of baby spinach leaves during the last 5 minutes of cooking. We'll definetly be making this again! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      This is a fantastic recipe - a must for your recipe box! I used 1.5 C of basmati rice. And I used montery jack cheese. At step 5 I added the onion/rice mixture and the 3 C fluid to my microwave rice cooker and cooked the rice that way. And then stirred in the mushrooms, parsley and cheese once it was done. It was perfect, my husband couldn't stop eating it. And he's not usually a rice fan. Thanks so much!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Nice if a bit bland, where I have a problem is wondering how this meal can feed 6 people ?<br/>Three at the most !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      Delicious recipe! We left out the onions, used Parmesan cheese rather than Romano, and added baby spinach like the last poster suggested! I can't wait to eat the leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Served this alongside a Chianti braised roast that was slow cooked all day long. I added about 1/4 cup of Chianti, and finished it with all the ingredients it called for plus 1 T butter. This was delicious paired with the roast and sauce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Really nice and simple recipe! I used Grana Padano instead of Romano cheese. Turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      Have made this recipe several times now and it is WONDERFUL! Used only about a 1/2 pound of mushrooms and 1/2 of an onion and that was plenty for the amount of rice used! This is super easy and tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

    • on May 31, 2009

      WONDERFUL! This was my third time making risotto. It's my new favorite staple. This recipe was excellent. Easy and delicious. I have tried someone else's recipe where they cooked the mushrooms in with the risotto, but I think cooking them and setting them aside helps them keep their own flavor so that you can taste them on their own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This was really easy and delicious - my favorite kind of dish! I doubled the cheese and used mostly parmesan, and a little bit of mozzarella. Next time I will definitely double this recipe because I think it would be great reheated. Didn't have any leftovers this time!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Brilliant and so easy. I also used some leek (included when cooking the mushroom) and replaced romano with parmesan (already in fridge). Delicious and my 19 year old had seconds and took leftovers to university two days later. Like the idea of adding rosemary too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Great recipe. I used half the mushrooms (which was more than enough) and added the garlic later (oops! note to self: read carefully), used about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese instead of romano, and skipped the parsley, and it was still GREAT. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Wonderful! Creamy, full of flavor and filling. I didn't have any parsley but I threw in some fresh rosemary. So good. Even my 10 month old son gobbled it up. You have a winner here. Will make again and again. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Delicious!. Made it excactly as directed....yummy.It's a keeper. very good with chicken pomodoro

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I've never made risotto before and wanted to use up some fresh mushrooms. This was PERFECT! Followed recipe exactly except substituted for romano cheese and fresh parsley. DH LOVED it and was very impressed. I wondered how long it would take him to come home from work with fresh mushrooms so I'd make it again! (about 1 week). :-) Thank you! This is a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I've tried to make risotto a few times and always failed. This recipe was easy to follow and came out perfectly. I used parmesan cheese. I soaked about a half cup of dried porcini mushrooms in boiling water for a few minutes, then added to fresh sauteed mushrooms. I saved the mushroom liquid and added to the hot broth along with about 1/2 tsp white truffle oil. I'm not sure how much hot stock I ended up using. I just kept adding and stirring and tasting until it was almost cooked through. Thanks so much for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I LOVE garlic and I LOVE mushrooms. This is the perfect recipe for me. I was amazed at how flavorful this easy to make dish was! Unfortunately, I didn't have the cheese to add in at the last but honestly didn't think it detracted from the dish. I'll have to make again with cheese just to see. Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Enjoyed this very much. Added more garlic as we love it but otherwise didn't change a thing. Chef Ramsey would approve this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Made this tonight with grilled shrimp and grilled artichokes. We enjoyed it a lot. I LOVE mushrooms and I used baby bella's...but I felt there were too many even for my tastes. Next time I would just use 8 oz. Also...maybe I'm the only risotto rookie to try this recipe but the directions stated to add your first cup of broth and simmer the rice. Then add the additional broth and water...but it never stated to increase the heat. Without increasing the heat, my liquid would not absorb in this rice. I had to bump it up to a light boil and take the temp down from there as things thickened. Dinner was late due to this problem...but the flavor was great and it was nice and creamy. I didn't need to add any additional liquid than stated in the recipe and the risotto was perfectly cooked creamy. I loved the romano in it. Great one! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      This is so delicious. My whole family devoured it ! I increased the the aborio rice to 2 cups and used 1 litre of chicken stock plus 1 cup of hot water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Mushroom Risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 301.2
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    45%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 535.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites