12 Reviews

So delicious! What I really love about this....it's easy to make. No draining of cooking juices, just mash it all in....garlic potato heaven. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 29, 2012

I scaled this recipe back to 2 serves and used Carismas potoatoes (a low gi white potatoe and there was more than enough to serve the 3 pf us) but had a oops moment and I put all the half and half (made my own using half milk and half thicken/doubled cream) in step 2 so just cooked till tender and mashed with liquid and omitted 1 tablespoon of the butter in the final mash it was rich enough at that point and totally decadent. Thank you gailang for a special occasion mash potatoe, made for Ausie/Kiwi Swap #60 Janauar4y 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 22, 2012

Ok how weird is it that just as I was reading your recipe on how to make a really good non-gluey mashed potato, I have America's Test Kitchen on in the background and they are making THE SAME recipe and talking about why it works.... I feel like I'm in the Twilight Zone. And am definitely making these for Thanksgiving, thanks Gailanng!

Oh yum, Gailanng! These were definitely non-gluey and were wolfed by all. It took us the full 30 minutes, but our range is wonky. These were so good, I think someone (DH) should reward the effort and buy me a new range...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 24, 2011

And this...is why I LOVE Cook's Country. Thanks for posting! So simple and SO very yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx July 10, 2011

A really lovely taste to these mashed potatos. thanks so much for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook April 07, 2011

When I saw the show I knew I had to try these. I used Yukon Gold potatoes, and by the end of the cooking time they were literally falling apart--they almost mashed themselves! You do have to be careful not to scorch them. These have definitely turned this mashed-potato hater into a mashed-potato lover! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl February 15, 2011

Gailanng you are my hero, kudos on simply the best mashed potatoe recipe ever. Since first making this taste treat, I have made them four times, seriously four times. Soft, smooth and oh so flavorful. I have been garnishing the spuds with chopped green onions and have served them with all kinds of savory goodies. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us. It is my favorite mashed potatoes recipe and I will be making this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 03, 2011

Incredible potatoes! My only concern was scorching on the bottom at the end of cooking, but this is not enough to deter me from making it for every special occasion. I am going to experiment with using the slow cooker to avoid needing to watch and stir at the end.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo December 27, 2010

I followed the directions to the letter. I thought the notes explaining the whys and hows of the recipe were very important and noteworthy.

On to the review: Simply the best mashed potatoes I have ever made.
Smooth, fluffy, and tasty. I can't wait to make these potatoes again.

Tagged by Purple Raider for New Kids on The Block 11/26/10.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purple raider November 26, 2010

When preparing this recipe, I did cut it in half for just the 2 of us, & now that we know how great they taste, I look forward to fixing a big batch of them for one of our dinner parties this month ~ We usually have several, as well as several more in December! They went together perfectly for me, & taste wonderfully satisfying! Thanks for sharing this great recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 04, 2010
Garlic Mashed Potatoes (Cook's Country Method)