28 Reviews

This recipe needs way more than five stars, as it made my potato hating 7 year old woof down mashed potato without a word of protest or complaint!!!
The only change I made was not to top with the breadcrumbs, as I used the mash to 'thatch' my cottage pie.
Smooth, creamy and oh so good...I could eat a plate full on it's own and be in heaven!!
Thanks for a great recipe NJ.
Made with great pleasure for AUS/NZ RECIPE SWAP #64

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo May 25, 2012

Talk about some comfort food. The Garlic Mashed Potatoes really hit the spot. Was full of flavor and got my boyfriend saying they where really good. I used one stick of butter for the inside of the potatoes and for the on top. Was a great idea.. More then a stick of butter I think is to much. Sure was yummy.. Thank you for posting.! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessfee March 16, 2012

Wow, we loved this.
I made as written and used homemade bread crumbs, I used 2 smaller dishes and served this over 2 nights for 3 of us. I cooked one all the way and the second took out a little earlier to reheat the next night. (The second browned & reheated so well).
DS was home one night and loved this and DD was home the next andshe just devoured this, as did I.
So creamy with such wonderful flavour. It was just lovely served as a side to our meals and will be lovely with winter coming on here.
Thanks NurseJaney for a lovely way to prepare potato's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme March 10, 2012

Great potatoes! I added a little salt when blending the spuds, and realized I was out of breadcrumbs so I topped these with a combo of cornflake crumbs and panko bread crumbs. Served with a dollop of sour cream and DH and loved thenm. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #58.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 07, 2011

I made this with an Idaho potato and 2 red potatoes. I had 3 foodies at the table, and every single one of them LOVED this. We didn't mess with the sour cream, although one added Asiago cheese for fun. These have big flavor. Don't fix these if you are looking for subtle. I made it with String / Green Beans with Shallots (by Manami) & Baked Oregano Halibut (by Bergy)...and all 3 new recipes were a big success (but this was the favorite). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cornsilkandwheat July 02, 2011

I prepare a small bat strong portion of it with a lot of garlic. I served this with Italian row ham, salad, dried tomatoes in oil and focaccia. I nice rustic dinner! Delicious, creamy and flavorful! Thanks a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde February 05, 2011

I'm surprised these potatoes ever made it to our dinner table. Before popping them in the oven, I sneaked a taste and really wanted to eat the whole lot -- then and there -- and never confess that they had ever been made. These really are the best mashed potatoes I've ever eaten/made. I made as written, but couldn't bring myself to use more than 1/2 cup of cream, and that was plenty. Served with Chicken With Tomatoes and Bacon. What an amazing combo. Yum, yum! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy January 14, 2011

Very tasty. I will make these again. I doubled the recipe and placed them in a large round casserole dish and had trouble getting them completely wermed in the center. The next time I will cook them in a 9x13 dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyinManvel January 03, 2011

Made half the recipe and served with Beef Burgers #275165. Wonderful for make ahead and made a great dinner. Loved the crumb topping. Thanks for posting Janey! Made for Recipe Swap #47.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn December 14, 2010

Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap October 2010- delicious, rich, creamy, garlic and smooth. Perfect potatoes for a special dinner and great that they can be prepared ahead. Photo also being posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** October 05, 2010
Garlic Mashed Potatoes