Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2012

      This recipe needs way more than five stars, as it made my potato hating 7 year old woof down mashed potato without a word of protest or complaint!!!
      The only change I made was not to top with the breadcrumbs, as I used the mash to 'thatch' my cottage pie.
      Smooth, creamy and oh so good...I could eat a plate full on it's own and be in heaven!!
      Thanks for a great recipe NJ.
      Made with great pleasure for AUS/NZ RECIPE SWAP #64

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      Talk about some comfort food. The Garlic Mashed Potatoes really hit the spot. Was full of flavor and got my boyfriend saying they where really good. I used one stick of butter for the inside of the potatoes and for the on top. Was a great idea.. More then a stick of butter I think is to much. Sure was yummy.. Thank you for posting.! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      Wow, we loved this.
      I made as written and used homemade bread crumbs, I used 2 smaller dishes and served this over 2 nights for 3 of us. I cooked one all the way and the second took out a little earlier to reheat the next night. (The second browned & reheated so well).
      DS was home one night and loved this and DD was home the next andshe just devoured this, as did I.
      So creamy with such wonderful flavour. It was just lovely served as a side to our meals and will be lovely with winter coming on here.
      Thanks NurseJaney for a lovely way to prepare potato's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Great potatoes! I added a little salt when blending the spuds, and realized I was out of breadcrumbs so I topped these with a combo of cornflake crumbs and panko bread crumbs. Served with a dollop of sour cream and DH and loved thenm. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #58.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I made this with an Idaho potato and 2 red potatoes. I had 3 foodies at the table, and every single one of them LOVED this. We didn't mess with the sour cream, although one added Asiago cheese for fun. These have big flavor. Don't fix these if you are looking for subtle. I made it with String / Green Beans with Shallots (by Manami) & Baked Oregano Halibut (by Bergy)...and all 3 new recipes were a big success (but this was the favorite). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I prepare a small bat strong portion of it with a lot of garlic. I served this with Italian row ham, salad, dried tomatoes in oil and focaccia. I nice rustic dinner! Delicious, creamy and flavorful! Thanks a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I'm surprised these potatoes ever made it to our dinner table. Before popping them in the oven, I sneaked a taste and really wanted to eat the whole lot -- then and there -- and never confess that they had ever been made. These really are the best mashed potatoes I've ever eaten/made. I made as written, but couldn't bring myself to use more than 1/2 cup of cream, and that was plenty. Served with Chicken With Tomatoes and Bacon. What an amazing combo. Yum, yum! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Very tasty. I will make these again. I doubled the recipe and placed them in a large round casserole dish and had trouble getting them completely wermed in the center. The next time I will cook them in a 9x13 dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Made half the recipe and served with Beef Burgers #275165. Wonderful for make ahead and made a great dinner. Loved the crumb topping. Thanks for posting Janey! Made for Recipe Swap #47.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Reviewed for Aus/NZ Forum Recipe Swap October 2010- delicious, rich, creamy, garlic and smooth. Perfect potatoes for a special dinner and great that they can be prepared ahead. Photo also being posted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Youngest daughter's most ambitious recipe is mixing 3 types of breakfast cereal. My insistence for her to learn to cook has been paying off and had to only moderately coach her through this quite simple, but delicious recipe. I know, I know...I really should try to contain my squeals of excitement. Made for #44 A-NZ Recipe Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Delicious way to serve mashed potatoes. Comfort food at its best. I didn't use a whole cup of cream though. More like 1/3 cup. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap May 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      What a great recipe. Easy and full of flavour. This will be on our menu often. Made for Aus/NZ swap May 2010 :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      What a wonderful way to turn 'Plain Jane' (pun intended :) ) potatoes into something spectacular. Very flavourful, and 'elegant'. This is a dish I'd be proud to serve to company. I loved the richness of it and the parsley throughout really made it look special. I only wish I had fresh instead of dried. Next time for sure. I used the full amount of butter, but only half the amount of cream as I found that was all it needed to give it that creamy comfort food feel. I used panko crumbs for the topping and just before removing it from the oven, turned the broiler on to brown it up just a bit more. I'm so pleased with this recipe Janey. Served with Great Expectations Roast Chicken and Easy Roasted Butternut Squash. Honoured to make this as a "Thank You" for voting for Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia in the 2010 Kraft Hockeyville Competition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Yum! I loved the garlic taste! I scaled this down and baked in a casserole dish. Thanks! Made for the Australian Recipe Swap-Jan. 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I enjoy making kicked up potatoes instead of having plain mashed and this recipe will be a repeat at our house. My potatoes were on the small side so I added 4 more. Topped with a small dollop of sour cream and chives than served with Dreamer in Ontarios Lore's Pan Roasted Chicken Breast. Very tasty supper! Made and reviewed for the Australia/New Zealand Forums tag game #25

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      We love fresh garlic and creamy mashed potatoes! These are soft and fluffy -- maybe too soft, I might add less cream next time -- but delicious. Made for OZ/NZ swap October 2008.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      100 (arms wide) stars from me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This is so yummy I ate it all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      These potatoes are AWESOME! Yummo, we just loved this so much. I might have cooked mine a bit longer but the breadcrumbs came out so crunchy and golden. I also added a bit of olive oil to the topping along with the butter and instead of garlic I used garlic salt. Served with grilled lamb chops and assorted veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 564.9
     
    Calories from Fat 382
    67%
    Total Fat 42.5 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 26.4 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 129.2 mg
    43%
    Sodium 786.8 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes