24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this recipe for a couple of years now and it is a family favorite. It's from Leanne Ely's book Saving Dinner. I serve it with basmati rice and steamed veggies, usually. Because we eat it regularly, I triple the seasoning ingredients and keep in an old spice jar for convenience.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaisingKnights July 14, 2009

Very tasty chicken. Everyone liked it. It wasn't very lime-y or garlicky, though. It was very well seasoned, but nothing really popped out as a distinct flavor. I will definitely make it again. We served with corn fritters, green beans, and sliced tomatoes. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth July 19, 2011

This was great! I liked the combination of the spicy flavor and the lime. I served it with baked sweet potato and broccoli. Thanks this is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JFitz July 09, 2010

I've had my share of chicken dinners, and this is one of the best I've ever had. It's also so easy and quick to make because it requires no chopping of ingredients. It had a spicy taste, but not overly so, and I loved it that way. I doubled the amount of gravy and then reduced it so that it was thick enough to spoon over the chicken without spreading all over the plate. The combination of lime juice and seasoning is just perfect -- this recipe is going into my "Favorite Reviewed Recipes of 2010" cookbook. A big thanks for posting this terrific recipe that I'll be making many times again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester July 05, 2010

Really tasty chicken. The chicken alone is quite spicy but the lime sauce cuts the spice. Good served with rice to soak up the juices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj May 11, 2010

My 13 yo son BEGS for this chicken and just about licks the pan clean. The rest of the family loves it too. Thanks for posting as I had lost my copy. I highly recommend the Saving Dinner cookbook as it has many great recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy #5 March 24, 2010

Thanks for posting this. I bought saving dinner cookbook and this is without a doubt the best recipe in it. I omit the butter. I also make this with tofu (I drain and marinate the tofu in chicken broth, lime juice and garlic powder overnight to give it some flavor to start with) and it is awesome. I usually make twice the sauce and serve over brown rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Lisa November 09, 2009

We loved this! I kept the skin on my chicken and used New Mexico chile powder instead of cayenne. I also added three cloves of fresh garlic to the sauce and sauteed a cup of broccoli, 1/2 cup chopped red bell peppers and 1/4 cup green onions in the pan before adding the broth and lime juice. I only used 3 tbs lime juice and it still required extra salt and garlic to calm down the acid. Next time I will definitley add cayenne or red chili flakes, it could have used the heat. I also served it with cous cous instead of mashed potatoes. Rice would have been better. All around a winner though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alyss05 June 04, 2008

Sharlene~W I, not going to rate this because I used the seasoning blend on shrimp. The shrimp had great flavor. I did add rosemary, red pepper flakes and emirl seasoning to it. I undercooked the shrimp and then followed the recipe after adding minced garlic, scallions, white wine and cornstarch to the sauce. We had this over lemon spaghetti and everyone had seconds. Thanks for a great recipe. I can't wait to try it with chicken breast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvs 2 Cook January 06, 2008

This was really good, I will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anymouse September 21, 2007
Garlic Lime Chicken