Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Lime Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Lime Chicken

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2009

      I've been making this recipe for a couple of years now and it is a family favorite. It's from Leanne Ely's book Saving Dinner. I serve it with basmati rice and steamed veggies, usually. Because we eat it regularly, I triple the seasoning ingredients and keep in an old spice jar for convenience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Very tasty chicken. Everyone liked it. It wasn't very lime-y or garlicky, though. It was very well seasoned, but nothing really popped out as a distinct flavor. I will definitely make it again. We served with corn fritters, green beans, and sliced tomatoes. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This was great! I liked the combination of the spicy flavor and the lime. I served it with baked sweet potato and broccoli. Thanks this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I've had my share of chicken dinners, and this is one of the best I've ever had. It's also so easy and quick to make because it requires no chopping of ingredients. It had a spicy taste, but not overly so, and I loved it that way. I doubled the amount of gravy and then reduced it so that it was thick enough to spoon over the chicken without spreading all over the plate. The combination of lime juice and seasoning is just perfect -- this recipe is going into my "Favorite Reviewed Recipes of 2010" cookbook. A big thanks for posting this terrific recipe that I'll be making many times again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Really tasty chicken. The chicken alone is quite spicy but the lime sauce cuts the spice. Good served with rice to soak up the juices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      My 13 yo son BEGS for this chicken and just about licks the pan clean. The rest of the family loves it too. Thanks for posting as I had lost my copy. I highly recommend the Saving Dinner cookbook as it has many great recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Thanks for posting this. I bought saving dinner cookbook and this is without a doubt the best recipe in it. I omit the butter. I also make this with tofu (I drain and marinate the tofu in chicken broth, lime juice and garlic powder overnight to give it some flavor to start with) and it is awesome. I usually make twice the sauce and serve over brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      We loved this! I kept the skin on my chicken and used New Mexico chile powder instead of cayenne. I also added three cloves of fresh garlic to the sauce and sauteed a cup of broccoli, 1/2 cup chopped red bell peppers and 1/4 cup green onions in the pan before adding the broth and lime juice. I only used 3 tbs lime juice and it still required extra salt and garlic to calm down the acid. Next time I will definitley add cayenne or red chili flakes, it could have used the heat. I also served it with cous cous instead of mashed potatoes. Rice would have been better. All around a winner though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Sharlene~W I, not going to rate this because I used the seasoning blend on shrimp. The shrimp had great flavor. I did add rosemary, red pepper flakes and emirl seasoning to it. I undercooked the shrimp and then followed the recipe after adding minced garlic, scallions, white wine and cornstarch to the sauce. We had this over lemon spaghetti and everyone had seconds. Thanks for a great recipe. I can't wait to try it with chicken breast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This was really good, I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      I made this a bit lighter by baking the chicken. I put the lime juice on then sprinkled the spices on the chicken. Ans I baked in covered in a dish sprayed with cooking spray for 25 min at 375. it was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This was awesome! my 12 y/o loved it( helped me fix it, actually ), and we both thought that the sauce made a great counterpoint to the spices. It's not too spicy, although if your mouth is extremely sensative, you might find it a bit much. The only problem that we had was uneven chicken pieces - that will be simple enough to fix next time. Will definatly make for my husband when he comes back off deployment! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Outstanding dish. I sliced 6 chicken breasts horizontally into thin slices. Cooked in 2 batches, using 1 T butter and 1 T olive oil for each batch. I then doubled the sauce ingredients (lime juice and chicken broth) and reduced. I'm sure glad I doubled the sauce because it was just the right amount. Served wih brown rice and Spicy Sweet Potatoes (spicey sweet potatoes). I know I will make this many times. This would also be great in fajitas. Thanks Sharlene.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      This is a winner in our house. It's one of my kids favs, believe it or not. They love the fresh lime and spices together. I like to serve it with chilled fruit...it's a great compliment to the spicy taste of the chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Very flavorful dish, we loved it!! We eat a lot of chicken and this was a great recipe to break the monotony. I think this would also work well fish, like Tilapia. It's a great low calorie dinner. One of our new favs, thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      The seasoning mix was just right. Very flavorful without being too hot. I didn't have thyme so used an italian blend that had thyme in it. I did pound my breasts and they turned out moist throughout. My son thought there was maybe a little too much lime but he still gave it 4.5 stars. This was my first time cooking with lime and really enjoyed the flavor combination. Served the chicken with rice and mixed greens and poured extra chicken sauce over everything. I doubled the sauce to be sure I had enough. Thanks for a very good chicken recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Hoooooollly cow. This was one of the best chicken recipes I have ever made. You are amazing! It was not spicy at all. It was not bland, but the heat was balanced by the zing of the lime to leave the brain reeling. This was exquisite. The chicken was fine on its own, but the sauce sent it over the top. My husband wanted to thicken and reduce the sauce, and now I regret it. The sauce was too good to be stingy with it. Some of the chicken breasts dried out while others were oh, so tender. I highly recommend pounding the breasts to a uniform thickness. We did serve this with garlic mashed potatoes, but the flavors were not a perfect match. Rice would be better. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this magnificent dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Lovely meal. Really easy too. Served with brown rice, roasted brussel sprouts and green beans.. even my husband (he's a professional chef!) loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Very tasty! I liked the seasoning on the chicken. I didn't add cayenne because I was out. I added fresh thyme. Used lemon juice instead of lime because that's all I had. I sliced the chicken breasts in half lengthwise instead of pounding it. I also doubled the sauce and added crushed garlic to it. Everything came out very good! Served with rice, baked potato and salad. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Lime Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.6
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    47%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 85.7 mg
    28%
    Sodium 330.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites