35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tebo, you've done it again! A beautiful simple to do, tasty, recipe. I didn't marinate them for 15 min I just put the skin side down in the baking dish I was going to use, poured the sauce over and left them in the fridge until cooking time, turned them over and baked them , middle rake for about 45 min. They were brown, crisp and good. I also added some pepper Thanks Tebo

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 17, 2001

Tasty, different, and a good use for chicken thighs which can be inexpensive when on sale. My picky husband even liked them. Will definitely make again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecrmum January 31, 2002

Excellent recipe! Highly recommended. Regarding the "difficult" part with pureeing, an easier method is substituting the garlic cloves with garlic powder. One clove equals 1/8th tsp. of garlic powder. Therefore, substitute 1/2 tsp. powder and no pureeing is required. I also marinated the chicken in the fridge for many hours which makes the chicken so much more tender & juicier! A keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa7 January 30, 2002

Extremly easy. Delightful and different taste. I would marinate the chicken longer. We had a glass of lime cooler with the chicken which seemed to help enhance the flavor.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PEGO February 07, 2002

This is a true winner, great exactly as written, and even better than I hoped. I used my Magic Bullet type blender to puree the garlic with the other marinade ingredients. Quick and easy. I used boneless skinless thghs, and they cooked in the time prescribed. The flavor was great. If I hadn't made it myself, I would have been hard put to identify the ingredients, they blended together so well into a pleasing whole. My husband loved this, too. BRAVO! We'll be having this one often!

Additional note: Tonight, I made a bed of cubed onions, red potatoes, and butternut squash, seasoned and tossed with olive oil, and roasted the thighs on that for about an hour and a quarter, having poured the remaining marinade over it all. The result was excellent.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orea October 24, 2010

Great! Would like to marinate longer. Kids loved it served with cooked spinach w/butter and couscous. Thank you!
Made it again, forgetting I had previously made it, and decided I would've given it 3 stars b/c it needs to marinate longer for better flavorand it seems unnecessary to puree marinade-instead just use garlic press (less to clean). Very mild flavor for families with young children.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF.OF.THE.EAST February 05, 2011

Great marinade. I have made this several times now, and it is great every time. I marinade for several hours in the fridge and it turns out great. I have used fresh garlic and garlic salt to avoid the puree step, and the fresh pureed garlic is better, more flavor. A keeper! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 June 16, 2010

I can't believe how E A S Y this was. For once I had all the ingredients to a recipe, that's a first. I cooked it in a glass baking dish and dumped the whole bag, marinade and all, into the dish. I used a lower temperature and forgot to turn it over but it was very delicious. Oh wait, you're supposed to PUREE the marinade? Oops, I liked it the way it was =P

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redlatex January 14, 2010

Excellent flavour for so few ingredients and such a simple preparation. I used 2 cloves of garlic and let the chicken marinate for 3 hours. The skin was nice and crispy - delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word November 10, 2009

I used the juice of 3 lemons, and used a teaspoon of bottled minced garlic. I also marinated the chicken in a bowl for about 4 hours, turning every half hour. I personally really loved this!! The skin was absolutely delicious, and my daughter scoffed it down, she thought it was great too! The only person who didn't like it was my partner, but that's just him, he thought it was too lemonny, still edible but too much lemon. Bugger him I say though lol, my tastebuds loved it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ByNDii November 05, 2009
Garlic & Lemon Roast Chicken Thighs