17 Reviews

Awesome chicken recipe for the garlic lover! My garlic didnt look to good so I used minced garlic that I had in the fridge. Used about 3 or 4 good tablespoons of garlic for the sauce and it was so good. I had skinless chicken breast so I browned it nicely then added some chicken broth and put the lid on it to finish cooking. When finished cooking I took the chicken out of the pan and made the sauce. Spooned the sauce on the chicken and loved the garlic and lemon flavors! Made and reviewed for Kittencal's tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 19, 2010

I made this based on cooks4_6 recommendation for the Top Favorites of 2008 game. Delicious, moist, and easy! Next time I will use more lemon juice plus a bit of zest, too. I feel that the garlic is a bit much and will reduce it. DH grilled them 10 minutes per side and that was not enough so we then put them into a 450 degree oven for an additional 15 minutes. Thank you Engrossed for sharing. Made for Top Favorites of 2008!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal February 07, 2009

WOW: what a recipe! 'For garlic lovers only!' Engrossed advised. Ah, a recipe for me! Also very lemony: a double plus, for me! And SO quick to prepare, making it a great week-night recipe that's suitable for even the most special of dinner guests. I usually used skinless chicken breasts, but I happily made this with the skin on, so I could have some magic pockets to stuff! One cannot play the virtuous low-fat game every night, and in view of how delicious this was - just LOVED the underskin stuffing - this was relatively low-fat. I followed Brenda's advice - her photographs were just SO inspirational - and doubled the lemon butter sauce, which was indeed superb. I really recommend doing that. I made this for All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag, and know that I'll make it again. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe, Engrossed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 26, 2008

My husband told me he thinks this is the best sauce I have ever made for chicken! I love the blend of flavors. I used a Chicken Lover's package including breasts, thighs, and legs cooking them on speed bake at 375 degrees until reaching 165 degrees internally. I added the pan juices from the chicken to the lemon sauce and it mellowed it a bit. Very tasty, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 04, 2008

This was a really easy and delicious recipe. since I only had half of a garlic head that is what I used, which was actually enough. I alos did part baking and part broiling, and it turned out very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef February 08, 2008

I may have done something wrong here... this sauce was not good at all. Way too strong with the lemon flavor. I love garlic and lemon, so I may try again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC December 19, 2007

We had a DELICIOUS meal last night, thank you! I cut up a whole chicken and used the 2 breasts and 2 legs (buying just the breasts here cost an arm and a leg). I love garlic but DH is not too keen on garlic so I was quite sure he would whinge all through dinner, BUT surprisingly he gave thumbs up as well! I mixed a bit of butter with the garlic mixture and stuffed it under the skin and I added a bit more of lemon juice. Served it with spicy roast potatoes and sauteed mushrooms. Thank you, Engrossed, for sharing your wonderful recipe. Keeper without a doubt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum June 17, 2007

Very nice garlic lemon chicken. I grilled my breasts on the grill for about 20 minutes and served the sauce on top. I will double the sauce next time since there didn't seem to be much to cover 4 chicken breast halves. Very tasty recipe. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 26, 2007

Wonderful weeknight meal! The lemon really shines here. I used fresh squeezed and recommend that highly. There is such a wonderful differnce between that and the bottled. I also added just a little of the freshly frated rind. This is my idea of a perfect summer main dish. Light, refreshing and does not require a great deal of time at the stove! Thanks Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) May 11, 2007

DH absolutely LOVED this.... I am super picky, but I did not. I love garlic and lemon...just not together and not lemon in savory dishes. I gave it 4 stars because there was nothing wrong with it...it just wasn't my taste... DH, on the other hand, would have LOVED for me to been willing to add it to the regular rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hedlin Family March 21, 2007
Garlic Lemon Chicken Breasts