Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Horseradish Sirloin Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Horseradish Sirloin Roast

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      Very flavorful! I used a 2 lb tri-tip (sirloin tip) roast. I didn't have enough mayo so I mixed it with dijon mustard. It came out splendidly! The recipe didn't say what to do with the leftover onions from the strained sauce, but I couldn't possibly discard them, so I added them to some baby carrots I had microwaved for 6 minutes with a little water in a casserole dish. It was a wonderful side dish along with mashed potatoes. Next time I will add more beef broth and buy a bigger roast (to have more juices) because it only yielded about a cup of sauce and there were 4 of us. It would have been yummy to have it on the potatoes as well. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      This was excellent. I will indeed serve this the next time I have guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Great festive meal, easy, easy. But expensive. Roasted all ingredients covered for first half and uncovered for second half. Browned beautifully. Thick sliced onions roasted in the garlic, mayo, horseradish drippings so good that next time I'll double the amount of onions from 4 to 8. We're having "steak soup" made from left overs - meat, sauce, onions and cubed baked potatos - for dinner tonight. All microed in a base of old fashioned canned mushroom soup. Just sampled it - Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Great recipe! I recommend to others, do not change this recipe, ingredients or time and temperature. It's PERFECT just as written. I made it for the first time at
      Christmas dinner last year. I never had so many rave reeaviews. Doing it again this year. I' m cooking a 5 1/2 lb. roast, so the only change is the amount of time in the oven.

      Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Excellent recipe Derf, from my favourite magazine. It makes an extremely tender and flavourful roast. I omitted the sage as our family is not fond of it.Will be making many more times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      A great way to prepare an oven roast and we loved the garlic flavour that laced the beef. Thanks for posting, Derf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Very good roast. However, the strong flavors - garlic and horseradish can be a bit strong for some people. My family loved the garlic flavor, but the horseradish was a bit strong for some. A person who loves horseradish may not like the strong garlic. Otherwise, I would recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      This roast was outstanding! I used extra garlic and minced it up adding it to the mayo mixture. I also used regular mayo and about 4 tsp. of minced fresh sage instead of dried. The smell of this dish roasting in the oven was wonderful. The leftovers tasted even better. This dish was a big hit with everyone in my house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This rocked. I did a 4.5 pound normal beef roast. Used minced garlic and smearing the mix over the roast. Cooked normally. We will be using this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I'm a 'beginner'....and even I was able to impress with this one! My husband gave it two thumbs up! Thank you, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This recipe is pretty good, but I got messed up on the cooking time. I used a 4 pound roast and upped the temp to 340 degrees, but cooked it for the same two hours. It wasn't even close to being done! It was only about 135 degrees after 2 hours. I left it in another 30 minutes, and it was about 155 when I took it out. It was a little rarer than we like it, but I couldn't wait any longer as the rest of the meal was done. So, if I do it again, I'll do a 3 pound roast for 2 hours at 350, or a 4 pound roast for 2.5 hours at 350.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      OMG.. This was AMAZING !! My family RAVED over this ! Easy to make and just totally moist and juicy !! Gravy was awesome as well :) Thanks for sharing !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Made this last week for dinner...it was fabulous! I cut the recipe down for just two of us and sliced up carrots and red potatoes to go along with the onion in the bottom of the pan. We ate the whole thing. Thank you for a moist and wonderful flavored dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was really good. I had thought that putting the galic slivers in the roast would be more tedious than it turned out to be. We didn't care for all the slivers of garlic while we were eating it, though; they were easy to take out but every once in a while we got a bite of pure garlic. Loved the horseradish sauce on the top, though! Overall, very delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Very easy and so delicious. Makes a very rich gravy. I didn't strain mine as we liked the onions in it. Here in NZ I used a small topside roast and cooked for 3hrs as it is a less tender cut of meat. Worked well. :) Another 'keeper'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Prepared this last night for dinner. My home smelt so good while the roast was baking. The crust was wonderful. My husband doesn't like horseradish (what he doesn't know won't hurt him) and he loved it! Thank you Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This is easy and so delicious. We have it several times a month. My 13 year old daugher made it tonight. Use a meat thermometer and you'll be all set. Enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Absolutely perfect beef. Mid rare is the only way to serve beef, and anyone who disagrees should become a vegitarian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Made this last week. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I cooked it a little too long (cuz I'm still a rookie) but it still came out with such wonderful flavors. And my kids loved it too. Thank you for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      I passed this recipe along to a young lady in my office who bravely used it for her first try at a roast beef dinner for her visiting family. I say "brave" because sometimes beef roasts can be tricky. She absolutely loved it as did her guests who raved about it for the rest of the evening. As for me? I'm a blue rare fan and believe meat over cooked isn't worth the money spent! I'm looking forward to making this recipe this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Horseradish Sirloin Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 57.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    40%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 334.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    top sirloin roast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites