Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Garlic Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    123 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 123

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2003

      Exactly like the green beans I get at our chinese buffet! what a happy surprise to find this recipe and be able to have them at home, I steamed the green beans instead of boiling them, and in the future since I am cutting fat I am going to try and just omit the butter, it HAS to still be wonderful! Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I totally LOVED these green beans, never made them fresh before, and the garlic/butter combo make them to die for! I could live on these alone! Thanks so much, I just realized 3 of the recipes I made tonight were from you! lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      this is really good Inez....I tried it with garlic salt and omitted the plain salt and it was great.....another good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was very good, eliminating the butter might take out all the fun, but I do believe that it could be cut in half without notice. I also steamed the green beans and then added them to the garlic butter going very lightly on the salt (just a dash). Fresh veggies just can't be beat! So many other veggies could be done exactly the same way - mushrooms, onions, snap peas, etc. etc. Thanks for another great simple one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      I have been making these beans for years, and everyone always loves them. I often add a tablespoon or two of lemon juice to the mix. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      This is a fabulous recipe. I did make a few changes. I placed the green beans in my woke and added about 1/4 cup of water to crisp steam them. I removed them and sauted the garlic and butter until light golden brown. I added the green beans to the garlic butter to reheat. Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      These were excellent! A perfect combination of garlicy flavor and tender green beans. I normally always use fresh green beans, but had a giant bag of frozen cut green beans I needed to use up - so, I decided to try them in this recipe and hoped for the best. Even the frozen beans worked out beautifully in this. Thanks for sharing this delicious and very versatile recipe that I will turn to again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      Another pure winner MizzNezz! I would have never guessed that something so simple could turn out so absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing -- except to double the recipe so I could get more! :) Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I really wanted to roast my green beans but it's June and sooooo hot that I couldn't bear turning on the oven, so I picked this recipe because it had the least calories AND was the most simple of the 5star green bean recipes. I, too, thought it sounded plain, but I was so wrong. THIS IS DELICIOUS! Of course made a few changes that I really recommend. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil. I added shallots to the butter 1st, then added 3 LARGE cloves of garlic. I also cooked the beans in Chicken Stock. You could use broth or just add bouillon cubes to the water. Turned out great. I took it to work and my boss thought I was eating steak because it smelled so good. Thank you for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This was really good. I used a package of frozen cut green beans, thawed, rather than fresh and added 1 t. sugar to "glaze" the beans and it was delicious! I always used thawed frozen beans to save time and money and it works great with any skillet green beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I make these all the time... They are sooooo delicious... I use frozen green beans, and just put them in some hot water for a few minutes to thaw them, then drain well, and put them in a frying pan and saute them with the garlic and butter. When they are done, I salt and pepper them, and sometimes I add a little bit of apple cider vinegar to give them even extra flavor! YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      this is how i make my beans, i love them. Sometimes if i want a more oriental feel i add a little soy sauce while i sautee them in butter and garlic. Gives it just a little something extra

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      I loved these. They were exactly what I was wanting when I searched for garlic green beans The taste was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      This is a fabulous easy delicious recipe! I have made green beans this way for years, but always used olive oil. The butter gives it an added dimension of flavor that my family went crazy for. Thanks, Inez, I will definitely use this recipe often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      I steamed the green beans instead of boiling but otherwise followed the directions as stated and had wonderful results!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2003

      10 STARS PLUS!!!!! These are the best green beans I've ever tasted in my life!!! At first I thought they would be O.K but after I tasted it I am hooked for life. I will always make them this way. I wish my mom had this recipe while I was growing up. MizzNezz must be a fabulous cook b/cause every recipe I've made of hers is to die for!! She's making my life a lot happier. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      These beans were really good! I love the flavor the garlic added to the beans! I'm on a diet, so I used 1 1/2 tablespoons of lite margarine in place of the butter. I also used lite salt instead of regular salt and I couldn't even tell I had made these "diet friendly"! I will definitely be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I'm a big fan of green beans and garlic. Put the two together and you have a combo that can't be beat. I made this dish exactly as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Excellent flavour! I agree that the butter could be cut in half, though. I'm going to try this with as many veggies as I can. Thanks MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2014

      ok. Let's guild the lily. I followed the recipe, but then sprinkled toasted sesame seeds on top for texture and it really added to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    69%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 22.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 377.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites